E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Help, annoying "Hiss" after amp upgrade



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-04-2008, 01:59 PM   #23
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

I followed Dr. Phuonger's method but instead of using Amp Interface Adapter I used the speaker level inputs that comes with the amp, oem sub wires by tapping into the oem amp, grounded to the bolt in the trunk just beneath the rear mirror, gain is about 1/4, bass eq is 0, LP filter is at 100, i have alpine mrp-m500
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 02:07 PM   #24
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofm View Post
I followed Dr. Phuonger's method but instead of using Amp Interface Adapter I used the speaker level inputs that comes with the amp, oem sub wires by tapping into the oem amp, grounded to the bolt in the trunk just beneath the rear mirror, gain is about 1/4, bass eq is 0, LP filter is at 100, i have alpine mrp-m500
Have you tried setting the mrp-m500 gain to minimum and adjusting the bass EQ to taste? That could work...
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 02:13 PM   #25
jonywalker
Private First Class
3
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E91 325d
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofm View Post
after subs and amp installed, there is hiss w/ about 1/4 volume turn up, i really do not know if it's coming from sub or amp
Hiss is such noise signal comprising high frequency components, your subs normally are not able to play that noise. I assume you made a wrong grounding. This is the case e.g. the amp is grounded onto the (-) bolt of the battery, thus inducing the low frequency noise from the electric generator into your amp.
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 02:24 PM   #26
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Have you tried setting the mrp-m500 gain to minimum and adjusting the bass EQ to taste? That could work...
i'll try that, thank you
the line driver is delivered to my house today, will install it later to see if it reduces the nose
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 02:32 PM   #27
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonywalker View Post
Hiss is such noise signal comprising high frequency components, your subs normally are not able to play that noise. I assume you made a wrong grounding. This is the case e.g. the amp is grounded onto the (-) bolt of the battery, thus inducing the low frequency noise from the electric generator into your amp.
i used to ground it here (1st pic), new ground location (2nd pic) to shorten the ground cable because i placed my amp on top of the oem amp
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 03:10 PM   #28
jonywalker
Private First Class
3
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E91 325d
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich

iTrader: (0)

ultimate solution to the hiss issues

I made a long discussion yesterday with my carhifi dealer for possible solutions to hiss problem and further improvement of sound, finally we found replacing the HU is the best choice. He has already installed several Alpine PXE-H650 into system. I have to say I had misconception about that the volume control have to be taken over by the H650 after the sound calibration. It is because the BMW HU has a variable EQ to volume, and the calibration can just act on only one volume stage. I can still adjust the volume of HU but the EQ is no more optimal at any other volume. Even if I add a line driver and DQXS it is the same. The question why I don't replace the HU with alpine CDA-9887 for just 350$ instead spending 800 $ to add line driver + EQ for a moderate sound improvement.
The CDA-9887 has imprint processor fully integrated, has iPod control, USB-Audio, bluetooth telephony, PDC and MF-wheel are all included. Most important is calibration, EQ, XOver all happen at one place, no sonic degrading due to A/D and D/A converting, and no hiss problem any more. With 4x60w of integrated amp I may even just need one 2 channel amp to drive subs. I think I have no reason not to use the CDA-9887. Only one drawback I have to sell both my amps and buy one amp with RCA inputs, because CDA-9887 has only 4V RCA lineouts. Does anyone has a CDA-9887 HU already installed?
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 03:23 PM   #29
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

just check the specs of the alpine amp, it requires 2 gauge power/ground wires, im using the 4 gauge, would that causes the hiss?
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 03:24 PM   #30
jonywalker
Private First Class
3
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E91 325d
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofm View Post
i used to ground it here (1st pic), new ground location (2nd pic) to shorten the ground cable because i placed my amp on top of the oem amp
you should ground it there
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 03:27 PM   #31
jonywalker
Private First Class
3
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E91 325d
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofm View Post
just check the specs of the alpine amp, it requires 2 gauge power/ground wires, im using the 4 gauge, would that causes the hiss?
no.
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 03:31 PM   #32
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonywalker View Post
you should ground it there
is it a good idea to ground 2 amps (aftermarket and oem) at the same location?
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 03:38 PM   #33
jonywalker
Private First Class
3
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E91 325d
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofm View Post
is it a good idea to ground 2 amps (aftermarket and oem) at the same location?
there are several common grounding points distributed at different location physically, electrically they are the same. In the picture you see one gounding point where lots of brawn wires are connected together. On the other side of the same postion there is another one, they are the same. You could even use this one for grounding or use the another one on the other side.
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 03:46 PM   #34
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

thanks J
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 04:03 PM   #35
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonywalker View Post
Hiss is such noise signal comprising high frequency components, your subs normally are not able to play that noise. I assume you made a wrong grounding. This is the case e.g. the amp is grounded onto the (-) bolt of the battery, thus inducing the low frequency noise from the electric generator into your amp.
I was wondering the same thing thus my original question...
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 10:40 PM   #36
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonywalker View Post
you should ground it there
so i grounded it there but the hiss does not reduce, it might be worse than before, i recieved the line driver but didnt have the enough RCA cables handy so haven't try it yet
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2008, 05:15 AM   #37
jonywalker
Private First Class
3
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E91 325d
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich

iTrader: (0)

let me make sure how you installed the amp. You taped the speaker level signal from the wires running from oem amp speaker output to subs. Since your alpine mrp-m500 provides with speaker level input therefor you don't need hi-low adpater. If all that are correct, then
1. did you cut down the oem speaker wires where you taped the signal from for your mrp? These speaker wires should be connected to your mrp amp output.
----------- ----- pos.1 --------- -----------
| oem amp | -- speaker wires --> | mrp amp | -- speaker wires --> speakers
----------- --------------------- -----------
2. If your installation was correct as described above, disconnect the speaker wires of pos.1 to test whether you still have the noise. If you still have the noise then your mrp amp is bad.

good luck
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2008, 11:08 AM   #38
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

i cut the oem sub wires from oem amp to subs, soldered the short part from oem amp to speaker level inputs, soldered the long part running to the subs to spades and connected it to the outputs on mrp amp
it's exactly like you described above, thank you for taking time to go thru this with me
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2008, 12:44 PM   #39
sageashton
Second Lieutenant
sageashton's Avatar
6
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325i, Manual
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Santa Clarita, CA

iTrader: (0)

From everything I can tell this is an install error. If you have minor hiss with the PDX you need a line driver/pre amp, that is pretty self explanatory. But what you are talking about is flat out weird because from what I can tell your subs are the only ones being driven by the amp...???

Post specific pics showing what wires were tapped into, the connections, your ground etc. That would probably help more than anything.

There is also a possibility that you fried somethign in HU from a short, in which case the CDA may be your best bet.
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2008, 06:57 PM   #40
jonywalker
Private First Class
3
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E91 325d
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich

iTrader: (0)

my installation

I don't think there was any fault in the installation.
If I disconnect the inputs, there is no hiss any more. See my installation

Last edited by jonywalker; 09-07-2008 at 04:35 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2008, 07:58 PM   #41
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonywalker View Post
I don't think there was any fault in the installation.
If I disconnect the inputs, there is no hiss any more.
if there is no more noise after the input is disconnected, then what is bad?
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2008, 12:07 AM   #42
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

there is still hiss after the speaker inputs wire is disconnected from the alpine amp, so the amp is bad? my question is, if the input is disconnected, then there is no signal going to the alpine amp, then why is it bad?
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2008, 03:38 AM   #43
jonywalker
Private First Class
3
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E91 325d
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofm View Post
there is still hiss after the speaker inputs wire is disconnected from the alpine amp, so the amp is bad? my question is, if the input is disconnected, then there is no signal going to the alpine amp, then why is it bad?
Then it is the noise of its own. Normally such aftermarket amps have S/N rate higher than 90dB, even my PDX with 76dB doesn't have any noise if input is disconnected. Above 90dB should be noisefree absolutely. I assume your car engine was off during the test otherwise the electric magnetic interruption could also be a possible noise origin.
So you could send back you amp.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2008, 08:03 AM   #44
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofm View Post
there is still hiss after the speaker inputs wire is disconnected from the alpine amp, so the amp is bad? my question is, if the input is disconnected, then there is no signal going to the alpine amp, then why is it bad?
And this is after setting the amp gain to the absolute minimum, correct?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST