E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > sos, bluetooth, serius malfunction after unplugging radio



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-09-2008, 04:05 AM   #1
rusty53
New Member
 
Drives: 325 XI e 90 sedan
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: princeton nj

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

sos, bluetooth, serius malfunction after unplugging radio

I took my radio out to clean, unplugged it for 1 hour, battery remained connected. when I plugged back in, sos light came on, and blue tooth and serius didnt work. The radio works for am and fm. If I wait will it reinitialize on own, or do I have to go in to dealer? If I disconnect then reconnect battery will this help? I really dont look forward to giving bmw a few more hundred dollars. Any help appreciated. e90 Alpine white, 2006. sedan



Life is like a giant sh t sandwich.
The more bread you got,
the less sh t you have to eat.
rusty53 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2008, 04:34 AM   #2
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,092
iTrader: (2)

Have you got comfort access??

If so did you unplug it all with the key on you??

You need your car to be asleep ideally, not plugging it all in and out with stuff powered up.

Also check the fibre optic connector has not come loose or worse, snapped. This is how sirrus and bluetooth communicte.

I would diconnect the negative battery terminal, take the radio out and check connectors, hook everything back up and and hook the battery terminal back up. Do all this with the key as far away as possible.

See how you get on, that should clear it.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-10-2008, 10:39 PM   #3
rusty53
New Member
 
Drives: 325 XI e 90 sedan
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: princeton nj

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

many thanks

I did just as you suggested and everything is fine. I really appreciate your help. I also am a weimaraner fan.
rusty53 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2008, 05:23 AM   #4
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,092
iTrader: (2)

Coolio!!

I was messing around the other day with mine and I got Serious Electrical Malfunction come up on the screen, my heart sank for a while. Thought my luck had run out and a big bill was coming my way!!
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2008, 01:36 PM   #5
becker800
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 435i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: PA

Posts: 250
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to becker800
I have a similiar problem but i have no sound at all.
but get the SOS error also.

I tried taking off battery terminals overnight and it was no help.

Im taking mine to dealer tomorrow, i got no other options.

Where is this fiber optic connector at?

FYI, I have a 335i coupe
becker800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2008, 02:02 PM   #6
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,092
iTrader: (2)

I take it you have logic7??

If you do then I would guess it is the optical cable.

Can you see the phone in your system??



This is the optical input going into the radio harness...



The green and black cable.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2008, 02:11 PM   #7
becker800
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 435i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: PA

Posts: 250
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to becker800
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
I take it you have logic7??

If you do then I would guess it is the optical cable.

Can you see the phone in your system??



This is the optical input going into the radio harness...



The green and black cable.
Yeah I have logic 7, my bluetooth phone is no longer in my system either.

When checking bluetooth through I-drive, it says Bluetooth is not able to be turned on or something like that.

Also when going to BMW assist, it says, no mobile phone installed.

So possibly the green/black fiber cable is broke?

Sorry for the noob question.
Which radio harness connection are we looking at here?
In the trunk or behind the radio?

I was behind the radio doing the tvnav2go install but dont recall seeing this cable.
Never touched anything at trunk

After the install is when my problem started happening.
becker800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2008, 03:00 PM   #8
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,092
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by becker800 View Post
Yeah I have logic 7, my bluetooth phone is no longer in my system either.

When checking bluetooth through I-drive, it says Bluetooth is not able to be turned on or something like that.

Also when going to BMW assist, it says, no mobile phone installed.

So possibly the green/black fiber cable is broke?

Sorry for the noob question.
Which radio harness connection are we looking at here?
In the trunk or behind the radio?

I was behind the radio doing the tvnav2go install but dont recall seeing this cable.
Never touched anything at trunk

After the install is when my problem started happening.

The tvnav2go??
did that come with a harness that daisy chains into yoru existing harness??

If so you need to take the optical cable out of the factory harness and put that into you new harness.
The pic above shows there is a small leaver that needs to be pressed down so the optical connector slides out easily.

It is the same for Parrot phone kits and Blaupunkt plug and play amps. None of them mention the optical connector for some reason.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2008, 03:00 PM   #9
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,092
iTrader: (2)

And yeah, we are talking about the harness that plugs into the nav/radio in the dash.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2008, 03:07 PM   #10
becker800
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 435i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: PA

Posts: 250
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to becker800
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
The tvnav2go??
did that come with a harness that daisy chains into yoru existing harness??

If so you need to take the optical cable out of the factory harness and put that into you new harness.
The pic above shows there is a small leaver that needs to be pressed down so the optical connector slides out easily.

It is the same for Parrot phone kits and Blaupunkt plug and play amps. None of them mention the optical connector for some reason.
Well, I doubt thats the case with the tvnav2go system, there is multiple DIY and threads about this product and not one mentions about taking fiber cable out. Plus, I have taken the tvnav2go system out and went back to factory and still have same problem

There are 2 plugs going into nav screen.
You take one out, plug it into tvnav2go, then take a plug from that into the original spot on the nav

And the plug it uses is the silver L shaped plug, not the black harness, that stays into the nav screen (I think thats the one you have pictured)
Something may have happened with the fiber cable in that plug though cause it does get taken out and moved around a lot.
becker800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2008, 03:19 PM   #11
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,092
iTrader: (2)

OK, if you are using the LDVS cable for the nav and go then that will not have been the cause.

The connector I have shown you is the one going into the back of the nav drive. There is no unit in the back of these cars.

The other thing, I take it you have checked your fuses?? It could be something as simple as that.

Actually, have you got a link to the install instructions for the tvnav2go? I would like to see what bit of trim are removed.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2008, 07:12 AM   #12
becker800
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 435i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: PA

Posts: 250
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to becker800
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
OK, if you are using the LDVS cable for the nav and go then that will not have been the cause.

The connector I have shown you is the one going into the back of the nav drive. There is no unit in the back of these cars.

The other thing, I take it you have checked your fuses?? It could be something as simple as that.

Actually, have you got a link to the install instructions for the tvnav2go? I would like to see what bit of trim are removed.
Well the instructions dont have you remove ANY trim.
But you pretty much need to in order reroute the LDVS cable towards the glove box (the tvnav2go system is mounted there)


I attached the instructions along with this post. (they say e60 but its same for e90 bascially) The instructions they give you with the product do need redone, the unit picture isnt even the same unit they send you, its an updated one.

There is also a DIY on this site that shows a member removing all the trim.

and yes, ive checked quite a few fuses.
The car is in the shop now, ill know by the end of the day.

things ive seen online for this problem are, bad fuse, blown amp, software update/reset, bad TCU unit



I had dvd playing from my portable dvd player and sound going into my AUX and it was pretty good.

Until I put back all the trim of course.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf E60 installation guide.pdf (317.0 KB, 135 views)
becker800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2008, 07:18 AM   #13
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,092
iTrader: (2)

I know on the RHD cars the most bus diagnosis port is attached to that trim, when you pull it off you can pull the most connector out of its socket, this then breaks the network loop and anything most will stop working.

I would guess this is what has happened, unless they have moved it on LHD cars to sit under the glove box on the passenger side.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2008, 07:50 AM   #14
becker800
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 435i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: PA

Posts: 250
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to becker800
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
I know on the RHD cars the most bus diagnosis port is attached to that trim, when you pull it off you can pull the most connector out of its socket, this then breaks the network loop and anything most will stop working.

I would guess this is what has happened, unless they have moved it on LHD cars to sit under the glove box on the passenger side.
Yeah I triplechecked all the connections but who knows.
Thanks for your help so far, I'll update the thread when I know what the fix was.
becker800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2008, 08:02 AM   #15
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,092
iTrader: (2)

Here you can see the most bust dignostic connector attached to the bottom of that trim.



If you pull it off the trim the network loop is broken and everything most bus stops working.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2008, 08:21 AM   #16
becker800
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 435i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: PA

Posts: 250
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to becker800
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
Here you can see the most bust dignostic connector attached to the bottom of that trim.



If you pull it off the trim the network loop is broken and everything most bus stops working.
AHH, I wasnt aware it was under that trim
You know, it could be as simple as that. I didnt triple-check many connections under there

Kinda hope its not that as that kinda says I was messing with things then.
Ah well, I should be ok.
becker800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2008, 08:39 AM   #17
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,092
iTrader: (2)

You can say it started playing up before you put the tv module in.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2008, 07:11 AM   #18
becker800
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 435i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: PA

Posts: 250
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to becker800
Didnt get to talk with SA before picking up car but everything is working now.
They never questioned anything

Gonna call to find out what the problem was today

Last edited by becker800; 08-13-2008 at 07:32 AM.
becker800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-07-2008, 02:15 PM   #19
glamprecht
Private First Class
 
glamprecht's Avatar
 
Drives: June 2006 330i manual
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Africa

Posts: 167
iTrader: (0)

I have installed DVDNavTogo as well and now bluetooth is broken.

I checked the connectors - all fine. I was quite careful not to bend any wires. I did take off the centre console. Where does the bluetooth unit sit?

While working in the car the optical connector in the passenger panel did come close to the 100W lamp I was using to see what I was doing. This surely would not damage anything?

How can I fault-find MOST?
__________________
Jun 2006 330i Manual, Active Cruise, Comfort Access, Nav prof, Voice, Bluetooth
glamprecht is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2008, 01:08 PM   #20
glamprecht
Private First Class
 
glamprecht's Avatar
 
Drives: June 2006 330i manual
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Africa

Posts: 167
iTrader: (0)

OK I've got it working again.

While putting the connector behind the JBE back with the power cables newly fitted a fuse fell out which I put back in the wrong place :-(

So put the fuse in the right spot - I am very relieved.
__________________
Jun 2006 330i Manual, Active Cruise, Comfort Access, Nav prof, Voice, Bluetooth
glamprecht is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST