E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Next GEN I-DRIVE Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-11-2008, 01:29 PM   #23
apw2607
Major
45
Rep
1,428
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSpira View Post
The overall architecture is not being changed but I still donīt see the possibility of retrofitting a CIC into a CCC car as being something that is even for the advanced amateur.

One reason is because cars are coded according to VIN which corresponds to how the car is equipped at the factory. That makes it difficult if not impossible to code a CCC car for functionality that the CIC would have.
Yes, I agree. The coding does present a problem.
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2008, 01:16 AM   #24
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Whose gonna guinea-pig this?!?!... cause I really want to see it work!
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2008, 02:11 AM   #25
Saigon
Brigadier General
Saigon's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
3,528
Posts

 
Drives: BSM E92 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (47)

Send a message via AIM to Saigon Send a message via MSN to Saigon
i thought it was just a DVD you can pop in, the 08 nav in my car sucks
__________________
07' Alpine White E93 335i

M-Sport | BMW Performance | Beige l Piano Black l Sport l Premium l Heated l Navi | Steptronic l Comfort Access l Logic7 l iPod & USB |
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 04:56 PM   #26
BMW!
Captain
10
Rep
654
Posts

 
Drives: e92
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarian19 View Post
I really don't understand the idrive retrofit. You really might as well trade in for an '09 model. Save up a few bucks and buy a new car if it is that important.
haha +1
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2008, 05:10 PM   #27
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,178
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Not really, it would cost around $15-20k to swap from an 08 model to an 09 model in the UK.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2008, 01:42 PM   #28
purplewidow
Lieutenant Colonel
purplewidow's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,928
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (2)

sure it would cost a lot to trade in your car.. but once you put in a new system like this forget about having your warranty. then your going to lose more on resale.. who wants a car that has a new idrive in a year that it isn't supposed to be on.. think about all the different sensors and so on. i am sure the tpms system is different also many others as this new idrive is supposed to be a beast.. i know i am looking to trade in my car in a year year and a half to get an m3 if i don't get another 335 or jump the gun and get a 911 carrera S.
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2008, 03:07 PM   #29
Raja Ventureshield
Banned
Raja Ventureshield's Avatar
United_States
83
Rep
5,694
Posts

 
Drives: BMW M3 coupe
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern VA

iTrader: (6)

80k for 335i ouch. that hoooorts.
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2008, 09:47 PM   #30
FastLane
Live life in this lane....
FastLane's Avatar
7
Rep
327
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335xi
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chi-Town, USA

iTrader: (0)

NGH

NOT GONNA HAPPEN

Sorry folks, you have a better chance of having digital boost gauges show up on the idrive screen then a retrofit.
__________________
'08 E92 335xi: the girlfriend
'04 Yamaha R6: the mistress
'99 Mustang Cobra: the wife
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2008, 03:11 AM   #31
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Who's gonna bite the bullet?!?!

Is this the NEW Hard Drive-based system...already on ebay?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Hard-drive-80G...742.m153.l1262

...and does anyone actually know for sure that the new monitor/display is different than the older one?
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2008, 03:59 AM   #32
ShadeZeRO
Private
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: E90 328i 4D 6MT
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami Beach

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to ShadeZeRO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Booster4075 View Post
Who's gonna bite the bullet?!?!

Is this the NEW Hard Drive-based system...already on ebay?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Hard-drive-80G...742.m153.l1262

...and does anyone actually know for sure that the new monitor/display is different than the older one?
Yeah, I saw that.
Looks like a mix of current gen and the Canadian idrive with google maps.
__________________
'07 328i Sedan | Montego Blue | Black Leather | Sport | Cold |
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2008, 02:12 PM   #33
garyhgaryh
Major
garyhgaryh's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
1,208
Posts

 
Drives: Supercharged e30 M3
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: santa cruz

iTrader: (4)

Just buy a nice after market nav for about $400. Yeah, it's silly having two navigation systems in your car, but the one in our cars are so bad (yeah it's that bad) I might resort to it. I use my iphone to get the address and punch it in to my sophisticated $2k+ system. When people see this they get a good laugh cuz it's no better than the $99 ones I see for sale from time to time (probably still better than the one in my car).. Yeah yeah, we get the cool integration with the car for setting our preferences, music selection, etc... but a bad nav is still a bad navigation system.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2008, 05:44 PM   #34
nukezero
Major
United_States
65
Rep
1,205
Posts

 
Drives: '09 335I Cpe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunny Socal

iTrader: (4)

IT can be done! I had a Acura TSX without navi and many people and dealers say it could never be done as the existing harness, connectors are not the same.

Well, what happened?? One guy started building his own connectors, harness, and bought a service manual. He spent 2 weeks and posted his work on acurazine.com. Thats when 10 of us including me, did the same thing! we bought a insurance salvage/pulled navi system, radio, dvd drive, etc. and retrofitted it. Everything, wiring had to be custom made and hand wired and built! Took me 1 week!

for example, there were multiple wires you had to run throughout the car to key components in my Acura TSX. These include: VSS (vehicle speed sensor) to the ECU, Can-H, Can-L bus differential (to the dash gauge cluster), other ECU parts, A/C and HVAC tapping, and other stuff like ignition, ACC (accessory),etc. You just have to go find where they are located!

Looking at bimmers, the change will be more significant including completely replacing the dashboard plastics, custom building a harness cable , tens of connectors (just like the acura) and custom pins to tap into various parts of the electrical system.

Hence, two things will be needed! the complete bible service manual to the car and the electrical manual!

I believe it can be done! just need time to research and study the parts and money to buy the parts...

but i learnt my lesson! i won't go through that hassle again! so i made sure to GET the damn NAVI this time!
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2008, 02:04 PM   #35
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Booster4075 View Post
Who's gonna bite the bullet?!?!

Is this the NEW Hard Drive-based system...already on ebay?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Hard-drive-80G...742.m153.l1262

...and does anyone actually know for sure that the new monitor/display is different than the older one?
That doesn't look like the CIC, and the new iDrive display is different as it has a higher definition LCD panel than the current one.
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2008, 01:53 AM   #36
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
The screen sizes stays the same at 8.8" for the 3er, screen resolution is up to 1280x480 however.
Yea, this is double the resolution of the i-drive of the past (which was 640x240.) Also, there's no longer a huge multi-pin LVDS cable - its just a 2 wire (multi-core) shielded cable.

It also looks as if the controller, even though its different, is still on the K-Can bus, despite the added buttons. In addition, the IBOC (for HD radio) is built into the CIC now.

The more I look at this, the more it seems feasible from a hardware standpoint. The main connector on the back even looks the same. Its that damn programming again. Getting Progman to program this might be impossible....but Autologic? Since the software is out there, it should be do-able. I might have to upgrade my FTM to TPMS to keep up with the times on these cars...this would involve additional programming...

Also interesting, is that there is an ethernet capability on the back of the CIC. (not a standard computer-type port...but think of the possibilities!)

I can't wait for this next generation of i-drive hardware to hit Ebay...!! (Maybe I'll be doing a next-gen retrofit also!)
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2008, 11:41 AM   #37
Hunter399
Major General
Hunter399's Avatar
111
Rep
7,757
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (30)

Im very interested in doing this

I have access to a bme computer as well here at the shop
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2008, 05:15 PM   #38
youyou
Banned
youyou's Avatar
Canada
38
Rep
2,453
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche 997 C4S
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

I would easily drop a few G's to get this done...
When there's a will there's always a way...
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2008, 06:13 AM   #39
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by youyou View Post
I would easily drop a few G's to get this done...
When there's a will there's always a way...
We're waiting for you to get started...
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2008, 09:36 AM   #40
kennethpetro
Lieutenant
United_States
6
Rep
419
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 328i JB/Black Dakota
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Booster4075 View Post
We're waiting for you to get started...
^^+1
__________________
2011 Jet Black 328i, 6-Speed Manual, Black Dakota Leather, Brushed Aluminum, Harmon Kardon w/ Surround Sound, Navi, BMW Apps, iPod & USB Adapter, BMW Assist w/ Bluetooth, Full LED Interior, 6000k HID Fogs, Matte Black Kidney Grills, M3 Lip Spoiler, ACS Roof Spoiler, 19" Beyern Black Mesh *19x8.5 front(ET40)* *19x9.5 rear(ET30)*
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2008, 10:27 AM   #41
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Have anybody checked if at least the current iDrive OEM connectors for the LCD screen, CCC and controller knob are the same as the new iDrive higher resolution LCD screen, CIC and new controller/buttons assembly?
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2008, 09:45 PM   #42
hudaman
Noob
United_States
1
Rep
99
Posts

 
Drives: AW E90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyhgaryh View Post
Just buy a nice after market nav for about $400. Yeah, it's silly having two navigation systems in your car, but the one in our cars are so bad (yeah it's that bad) I might resort to it. I use my iphone to get the address and punch it in to my sophisticated $2k+ system. When people see this they get a good laugh cuz it's no better than the $99 ones I see for sale from time to time (probably still better than the one in my car).. Yeah yeah, we get the cool integration with the car for setting our preferences, music selection, etc... but a bad nav is still a bad navigation system.
I'm so fed up with the idrive nav that I'm looking to buy a nuvi no matter how embarrassing it looks. My wife's 4 year old nuvi blows mine away.
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2008, 01:37 AM   #43
youyou
Banned
youyou's Avatar
Canada
38
Rep
2,453
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche 997 C4S
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Booster4075 View Post
We're waiting for you to get started...
Lolol
I know nothing about getting this done.
But i was thinking of maybe starting some sort of fund and getting someone here to get the project going.
I'm sure there would be huge interest in this if it was doable...
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2008, 01:09 PM   #44
youyou
Banned
youyou's Avatar
Canada
38
Rep
2,453
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche 997 C4S
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Common people there must be some folks here that would like to get this done??
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST