E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > BMW MOST Ipod Adapter (redux)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-11-2009, 03:51 PM   #45
baltik
Lieutenant
8
Rep
419
Posts

Drives: porsche 944 turbo
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (0)

I am still completely torn between this and mobridge - I have roughly 16gigs of music on my iphone - would this be slow to load using the BMW MOST adapter? any advantages of one vs the other?
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2009, 06:04 PM   #46
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
151
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by baltik View Post
I am still completely torn between this and mobridge - I have roughly 16gigs of music on my iphone - would this be slow to load using the BMW MOST adapter? any advantages of one vs the other?
Sorry I can't help you much with the comparison.
I'll tell you a couple of things about the MOST adapter and maybe you can
ask the other guys if their product does the same.
Note I'm talking about a 4gen ipod with 14gigs of music.

- Every time you try to view the content of a playlist, the interface takes a while to read it before displaying it. it takes say about 5-8 seconds.

- whenever you are in the middle of a song and you turn off the car...
when you start the car again, the song starts playing at the beginning instead of at the point it was cut off. No biggie but that is not how the ipod work.

- scrolling thru a playlist is a bit slow and not smooth with the idrive knob.

- the display shows you the length of the song in minutes/seconds ascending
but you cannot make it go descending.

hope that helps.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      02-11-2009, 06:39 PM   #47
baltik
Lieutenant
8
Rep
419
Posts

Drives: porsche 944 turbo
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (0)

Thanks - very helpful, i rarely use playlists and usually navigate to a specific album - is that signifiantly faster then loading a large playlist?

Also do you know if I can code my car before installing the interface?
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2009, 07:50 PM   #48
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
151
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by baltik View Post
Thanks - very helpful, i rarely use playlists and usually navigate to a specific album - is that signifiantly faster then loading a large playlist?
It depends on the amount of albums the ipod has.
I suspect it will take longer to load all the albums first and then scroll to select the one you want.

I prefer playlists. I have about 200 in my ipod and they load in a few seconds.
Each playlist has about 50 songs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by baltik View Post
Also do you know if I can code my car before installing the interface?
My guess is No.
As I understand, when the car gets coded for a new component, the components needs to be there.
You can install the hardware first and then take it in for coding.
The original instructions call for a flash then hardware, then software update.
But you don't have to do that anymore.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 02:50 AM   #49
sun
Private
1
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 2015 428i Gran Coupe
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bellevue, WA

iTrader: (3)

I just got done installing the adapter on my 2008 e92 M3, 6MT, Premium Pkg. Here are a few things that would probably help some people.

1. To take out the wires on the main radio harness, take out the blue thing in the guide and then use a small screwdriver on the other opposite side of the harness press in the small tab on the pin to get it loose. You can see how this works on the harness that comes with the kit.

2. Remove the cup holders before removing the bottom part of the glove box.

3. With the MOST interface zip tied, I found that it was still hard to put on the upper part of the glove box. The tabs don't hit the zip ties, but they do it the box itself. I had to put some pressure on the box in order to screw it in.

4. My car did not need any coding. It worked right away. I don't have a CD changer either.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 10:14 AM   #50
Rob@RBTurbo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Rob@RBTurbo's Avatar
90
Rep
1,314
Posts


Drives: 335I
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sun View Post
I just got done installing the adapter on my 2008 e92 M3, 6MT, Premium Pkg. Here are a few things that would probably help some people.

4. My car did not need any coding. It worked right away. I don't have a CD changer either.
I wonder if this would mean its safe to say that the BMW Ipod "coding" or Navigation software upgrade can be done before the adapter is installed?
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 12:40 PM   #51
sun
Private
1
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 2015 428i Gran Coupe
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bellevue, WA

iTrader: (3)

Its possible. I'm just reporting what I found.

I have a January 2008 build if that helps.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2009, 06:46 AM   #52
kayanat
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: NONE
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

I am thinking about getting a USA Spec iPodŽ Interface Ipod adapter for my 2005 Toyota Corolla. I still have the factory stereo unit. Will I still be able to use my 6 disc cd changer? I would like to use both.
_______________
keyword research ~ keyword tool ~ keyword tracking ~ affiliate elite
__________________
I need help

Last edited by kayanat; 03-16-2009 at 01:29 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 01:29 AM   #53
skibbs
First Lieutenant
7
Rep
340
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Gotham City

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [0.00]
Just a warning, be sure to double-check that you've reconnected all the cables on the back of the CCC when putting everything back together - I missed the GPS antennae and had to take it apart again to find out why my nav stopped working. This is a great tutorial and I highly recommend taking it on yourselves, it's very easy to follow, just take your time
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2009, 09:43 PM   #54
Dom335
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2008 335I
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Mexico

iTrader: (1)

Ipod Installation for 2008

Just another confirmation, I didn't have to upgrade my software on my 2008 335i. Ipod adapter worked after plugging in.

I did have to trim the glove compartment tab shown with the red arrow in step 20. I took about 1/8 inch off the tab because the lower portion of the glove compartment wouldn't seat correctly.
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2009, 09:26 AM   #55
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
151
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
BTW, I did buy the extension cable (female on one end and male on the other) for the ipod. So, I was able to move the ipod from the glove box to the center console.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      05-08-2009, 07:36 PM   #56
vig
Private
1
Rep
63
Posts

Drives: Black E90 325i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankoQ View Post
It depends on the amount of albums the ipod has.
I suspect it will take longer to load all the albums first and then scroll to select the one you want.

I prefer playlists. I have about 200 in my ipod and they load in a few seconds.
Each playlist has about 50 songs.



My guess is No.
As I understand, when the car gets coded for a new component, the components needs to be there.
You can install the hardware first and then take it in for coding.
The original instructions call for a flash then hardware, then software update.
But you don't have to do that anymore.
I have the ipod integration but when I go to look at my playlists I can only see five and cant scroll past the fifth because if you click the fifth (which would normally load two more) it just opens up that playlist. Can anyone tell me how to see more playlists??

Also what does the Scan feature mean?

Thanks for any help guys.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 05:04 PM   #57
scooby9
Major
scooby9's Avatar
Canada
21
Rep
1,120
Posts

Drives: 2007 E90 BMW 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

iTrader: (6)

Just did the install last night. Was a bit of a biz-natch... You have to mount the MOST iPod unit way higher than illustrated in BMW's instructions otherwise the glove box doesn't go back on. The reason is that the hooks that use the support bar make contact with the iPod unit and also the bottom connectors interfere with the back of the glove box. It's a pretty crappy design using zip ties for support along with the crap BMW instructions.

Activation on Friday... hope it works out!

EDIT: Forgot to add thanks to FrankoQ for the tips on the molex connectors... They are all like little Rubik's cubes...
__________________
2007 BMW 335xi 6MT TiAg

Last edited by scooby9; 05-26-2009 at 05:19 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2009, 12:15 PM   #58
hmah
Driver
hmah's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

What iPhone mount is that?
__________________
E90 2006 BMW 325i / Sparkling Graphite
-Sport Package
-Cold weather Package
-Premium Package
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2009, 04:21 PM   #59
WangTa
First Lieutenant
WangTa's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
308
Posts

Drives: '08 SSII E90 M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to WangTa Send a message via MSN to WangTa
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankoQ View Post
BTW, someone asked me... Does this adapter work with an Iphone?
The answer is YES!
Idrive will treat it like any ipod but it will not charge the iphone.

Wait, did you say it DOES NOT charge the iPhone? Why?
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2009, 09:28 PM   #60
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
151
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by WangTa View Post
Wait, did you say it DOES NOT charge the iPhone? Why?
Nope. It does not charge it.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      08-24-2009, 09:30 PM   #61
WangTa
First Lieutenant
WangTa's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
308
Posts

Drives: '08 SSII E90 M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to WangTa Send a message via MSN to WangTa
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankoQ View Post
Nope. It does not charge it.
Huh. I thought you made a typo! That is odd - I don't understand why it wouldn't?
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 02:00 AM   #62
froalskiner
Private
United_States
1
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Camarillo, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankoQ View Post
What mount is that for your iphone?
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 12:35 PM   #63
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
151
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by froalskiner View Post
What mount is that for your iphone?
Argh. Forgot... I'll get back to you on that.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 12:42 PM   #64
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
mkPOTO's Avatar
286
Rep
16,320
Posts

Drives: 2002 Lexus GS300
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

iTrader: (24)

Garage List
where did you mount that mount for your iphone? I have one and couldnt find a place
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 05:06 AM   #65
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
151
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkPOTO View Post
where did you mount that mount for your iphone? I have one and couldnt find a place
The one I have is mounted to the bolt that holds the seat.
You have to remove the bolt, put the base of the iphone mount between
the floor of the car and the "leg" of the seat then bolt the seat again.
It's a Torx bolt btw and you will need a socket wrench for this one.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      11-20-2009, 02:44 PM   #66
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
151
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkPOTO View Post
where did you mount that mount for your iphone? I have one and couldnt find a place
made by: Arkon.com
Model: SM225-S - Flexible Steel Gooseneck Cell Phone Mount
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST