E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Proceede keeps going Valet - help!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-11-2009, 02:30 AM   #1
Dr.phuOnger?
*BluRp*
Dr.phuOnger?'s Avatar
United_States
179
Rep
10,394
Posts

 
Drives: Blurple
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *NorCal Mobile Installer*

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Dr.phuOnger?
Exclamation Proceede keeps going Valet - help!

Proceede v3 Rev 1 using the 7-3 maps and 123 firmware and new software.

I know these maps were more for the Rev 2 but as Shiv posted we can use them but just some functions will not work.


Anyways... i noticed that as soon as i turn on the car, everythings great. As soon as i begin driving, i can feel the proceede kick in and the car feels strong, and this is after car is at normal operating temp, but it goes into valet mode right away and i can tell by looking at my boost gauge and it shows it only at 7lbs and car feels stock.


I turn off car, turn back on.. get on it, i can see my boost gauge get up to about 10-11psi and then drops back to 7lbs and valet again.

I have Proceede V3 Rev 1, DCI, HKS Exhaust, UR HKS SSQV.

I just drove down south to LA and supposed to put in DownPipes tomorrow(today actually as its past 12am)

I'm going to clean the air filters as its been a while but not sure if that's what causing my problem of the proceede going into valet mode.


Also the maps is left default upon upload so i didnt change any user torque settings.


Any input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
__________________
Blurple has her own Facebook page! Follow her for updates and photos!
www.facebook.com/SEBlurple
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 02:48 AM   #2
Dr.phuOnger?
*BluRp*
Dr.phuOnger?'s Avatar
United_States
179
Rep
10,394
Posts

 
Drives: Blurple
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *NorCal Mobile Installer*

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Dr.phuOnger?
could it be wastegate dc limit?

i left it default at the 74.902 or whatever is map default. It says the proceede will induce a valet mode if triggered.
__________________
Blurple has her own Facebook page! Follow her for updates and photos!
www.facebook.com/SEBlurple
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 02:59 AM   #3
Antwerp
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
29
Posts

 
Drives: 05 Shit
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Yes

iTrader: (0)

I thought one had to invoke Valet mode..
Self chosen Valet mode huh?
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 03:04 AM   #4
adrian@vishnu
Captain
Australia
12
Rep
672
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.phuOnger? View Post
could it be wastegate dc limit?

i left it default at the 74.902 or whatever is map default. It says the proceede will induce a valet mode if triggered.
When it is in limp mode, connect the software (do not stop the engine or it will clear), and read debug word 7. This is the Procede limp mode. Code 1 is lean mixtures. Code 2 is overboost. Code 3 is too much wastegate duty. Code 4 is low fuel pressure. If you are in limp mode you will get one of these numbers. If not it will be 0.

I had a similar problem with my car that ended up being a boost leak. I found and fixed it and now runs perfectly.

-- Adrian
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 03:23 AM   #5
Dr.phuOnger?
*BluRp*
Dr.phuOnger?'s Avatar
United_States
179
Rep
10,394
Posts

 
Drives: Blurple
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *NorCal Mobile Installer*

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Dr.phuOnger?
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian@vishnu View Post
When it is in limp mode, connect the software (do not stop the engine or it will clear), and read debug word 7. This is the Procede limp mode. Code 1 is lean mixtures. Code 2 is overboost. Code 3 is too much wastegate duty. Code 4 is low fuel pressure. If you are in limp mode you will get one of these numbers. If not it will be 0.

I had a similar problem with my car that ended up being a boost leak. I found and fixed it and now runs perfectly.

-- Adrian
Thanks Adrian but where do i read this code at?

Is this a feature for the rev2 with CANbus? i'm a v3 rev 1 proceede.

Thanks for the info!
__________________
Blurple has her own Facebook page! Follow her for updates and photos!
www.facebook.com/SEBlurple
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 03:41 AM   #6
adrian@vishnu
Captain
Australia
12
Rep
672
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.phuOnger? View Post
Thanks Adrian but where do i read this code at?

Is this a feature for the rev2 with CANbus? i'm a v3 rev 1 proceede.

Thanks for the info!
This feature has nothing to do with CANBus. Connect the user software to your procede (the same software you used to load firmware and maps). Then go to the datalog setup menu and set it to read debug word 7. Then look at the top right of the screen and it will list the datalog parameters and their value. Invoke the limp mode, and then see what the number is and decode as above.

-- Adrian
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 03:49 AM   #7
Dr.phuOnger?
*BluRp*
Dr.phuOnger?'s Avatar
United_States
179
Rep
10,394
Posts

 
Drives: Blurple
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *NorCal Mobile Installer*

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Dr.phuOnger?
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian@vishnu View Post
This feature has nothing to do with CANBus. Connect the user software to your procede (the same software you used to load firmware and maps). Then go to the datalog setup menu and set it to read debug word 7. Then look at the top right of the screen and it will list the datalog parameters and their value. Invoke the limp mode, and then see what the number is and decode as above.

-- Adrian
Thanks Adrian i'll try it out asap

Cheers!
__________________
Blurple has her own Facebook page! Follow her for updates and photos!
www.facebook.com/SEBlurple
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 04:09 AM   #8
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

+1 on what Adrian said about the boost like probability. If that turns out to the culprit (overDC), I'd remove and inspect that aftermarket bov/pipe immediately. Better yet, but the factory pipe/bypass valves back in.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 04:25 AM   #9
Dr.phuOnger?
*BluRp*
Dr.phuOnger?'s Avatar
United_States
179
Rep
10,394
Posts

 
Drives: Blurple
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *NorCal Mobile Installer*

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Dr.phuOnger?
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
+1 on what Adrian said about the boost like probability. If that turns out to the culprit (overDC), I'd remove and inspect that aftermarket bov/pipe immediately. Better yet, but the factory pipe/bypass valves back in.

Shiv
man u guys are up late...

go out to the track lately?
__________________
Blurple has her own Facebook page! Follow her for updates and photos!
www.facebook.com/SEBlurple
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 04:30 AM   #10
adrian@vishnu
Captain
Australia
12
Rep
672
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.phuOnger? View Post
man u guys are up late...

go out to the track lately?
It's 7:30pm where I am!!

-- Adrian
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 04:31 AM   #11
Dr.phuOnger?
*BluRp*
Dr.phuOnger?'s Avatar
United_States
179
Rep
10,394
Posts

 
Drives: Blurple
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *NorCal Mobile Installer*

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Dr.phuOnger?
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian@vishnu View Post
It's 7:30pm where I am!!

-- Adrian
LOL unless Shivs not in livermoore its 2:30am here lol

man the drove down to la sucked tonight driving in valet mode and having a honda fit supercharged keeping up with me on the freeway LOL
__________________
Blurple has her own Facebook page! Follow her for updates and photos!
www.facebook.com/SEBlurple
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 08:39 AM   #12
goesquik
New Member
goesquik's Avatar
0
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 335i 6AT
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian@vishnu View Post
When it is in limp mode, connect the software (do not stop the engine or it will clear), and read debug word 7. This is the Procede limp mode. Code 1 is lean mixtures. Code 2 is overboost. Code 3 is too much wastegate duty. Code 4 is low fuel pressure. If you are in limp mode you will get one of these numbers. If not it will be 0.

I had a similar problem with my car that ended up being a boost leak. I found and fixed it and now runs perfectly.

-- Adrian
Thanks for the info. I finally tried the 7-3 maps and the new firmware last night, but ended up in limp mode at half throttle all the time. I thought the new maps were pretty much the same as the 5-29 ones, so I left all the settings the same. Not sure what was going on but I ended up loading the old firmware and 5-29 maps and now I'm back to normal.
__________________
2007 e90 335i 6AT...

Disclaimer: Anything posted above has to do with hypothetical situations only.
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 05:23 PM   #13
Dr.phuOnger?
*BluRp*
Dr.phuOnger?'s Avatar
United_States
179
Rep
10,394
Posts

 
Drives: Blurple
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *NorCal Mobile Installer*

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Dr.phuOnger?
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian@vishnu View Post
This feature has nothing to do with CANBus. Connect the user software to your procede (the same software you used to load firmware and maps). Then go to the datalog setup menu and set it to read debug word 7. Then look at the top right of the screen and it will list the datalog parameters and their value. Invoke the limp mode, and then see what the number is and decode as above.

-- Adrian
Hey Adrian,

My datalog for debug word 7 returns with a code 0.

I ran the car for about 3 miles and I was making only 7lbs of boost so i did what you said.. I got to my garage, hooked up laptop, turned on software and datalogged for the debug 7 and checked the data log and i got code 0

Name:  datalog.JPG
Views: 348
Size:  142.5 KB
__________________
Blurple has her own Facebook page! Follow her for updates and photos!
www.facebook.com/SEBlurple
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 06:25 PM   #14
lpphreakx06
Professional Moose Racer
lpphreakx06's Avatar
Vietnam
101
Rep
7,225
Posts

 
Drives: SG 335i E92
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bellevue, Wa

iTrader: (25)

Did you install the like rf box that sends signals to the FOB? That solved my problem.
__________________

BMW Dream Team PNW Chapter, member #1
|HP Autowerks | AR DESIGN | BMW PERFORMANCE | STOP TECH | Volk Racing| AMS | ARKYM
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2009, 06:44 PM   #15
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.phuOnger? View Post
Hey Adrian,

My datalog for debug word 7 returns with a code 0.

I ran the car for about 3 miles and I was making only 7lbs of boost so i did what you said.. I got to my garage, hooked up laptop, turned on software and datalogged for the debug 7 and checked the data log and i got code 0

Attachment 285209
Then you aren't in valet mode. Did you, by any chance, update to a newer firmware file without updating your map? If you did, that would explain your stock boost level. Others have done it before by accident. It wouldn't anything new.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2009, 12:20 PM   #16
Dr.phuOnger?
*BluRp*
Dr.phuOnger?'s Avatar
United_States
179
Rep
10,394
Posts

 
Drives: Blurple
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *NorCal Mobile Installer*

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Dr.phuOnger?
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Then you aren't in valet mode. Did you, by any chance, update to a newer firmware file without updating your map? If you did, that would explain your stock boost level. Others have done it before by accident. It wouldn't anything new.

Shiv
soooo... i installed downpipes last night.. it toookme 8 hrs to get those fker's in. God damn what a bitch install when installing it with just jacks on the ground.

anyways.. after i installed it i checked my bov and lines and what not. Seems like something or someone broke my vacuum line on my bov and boost gauge.

Loading back 7-03 maps and going to change 02 sim to 80% for catless dps

i'll update later today.

Thanks Shiv and Thanks Adrian the everyone else for their inputs.

This may be a load of my chest if everything works
__________________
Blurple has her own Facebook page! Follow her for updates and photos!
www.facebook.com/SEBlurple
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2009, 12:58 PM   #17
TurboSid
Colonel
TurboSid's Avatar
33
Rep
2,248
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 MW/SO DCT
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 335i  [0.00]
good luck with it.
__________________


2015 MW/SO M4 M-DCT [CURRENT]
2011 AW/CR 335is DCT FBO [SOLD]
2008 AW/CR 335i 6MT FBO [SOLD]
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2009, 12:00 AM   #18
Dr.phuOnger?
*BluRp*
Dr.phuOnger?'s Avatar
United_States
179
Rep
10,394
Posts

 
Drives: Blurple
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: *NorCal Mobile Installer*

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Dr.phuOnger?
Drove the car home today with downpipes installed and everythign is great!! that darn vacuum crack leak did great deal of woes and problems but everything is running great!!!

stage 2 map wooo!
__________________
Blurple has her own Facebook page! Follow her for updates and photos!
www.facebook.com/SEBlurple
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2009, 12:09 AM   #19
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.phuOnger? View Post
Drove the car home today with downpipes installed and everythign is great!! that darn vacuum crack leak did great deal of woes and problems but everything is running great!!!

stage 2 map wooo!
Good to hear
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST