E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Water damaged amp, going to dealer for the first time... (video)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-14-2009, 10:32 AM   #1
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,006
iTrader: (4)

Exclamation Water damaged amp, going to dealer for the first time... (video)

Long story short... I had some body work done (driver side, rear quarter). The shop did some wrong wrench turnin' and created a leak... when it rains water gets down to where the OEM amp is in the trunk. They tried to fix the problem 3 times to no avail so the shop is sending my car to the BMW dealer to replace the amp and fix the problem for good.

After 30k miles this will be my first time to the dealer. Fully modded, didn't bother taking anything off the car because I don't really care about the warranty.

So my question is... after replacing the amp and fixing the problem, do you think they'll update the software? I'm still pre-29.2, and although I don't really care if they update it, i am curious.


And now, for your entertainment... this is what happens when your amp has water damage:



the craziest thing is that it happens even when the car is completely off:



the videos don't do it justice, it's EXTREMELY loud and i think has blown the rear speakers. One day I was sitting in my house and hurt the popping sound coming from the car all the way outside doors shut....
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 10:36 AM   #2
1clean335i
Perf BMW mag issue 147, 159
 
1clean335i's Avatar
 
Drives: Project Estoril
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 6,752
iTrader: (30)

Garage List
cant see the pics or vid since im at work, but if they replace the amp, the car is getting programmed
__________________
'13 Estoril Blue 335i M-sport
*Don't PM me!* Message me here- http://www.facebook.com/ProjectEstoril
1clean335i is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 10:38 AM   #3
luca335i
Major
 
luca335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 335I Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Unknown

Posts: 1,193
iTrader: (3)

Why would they update it because of the stereo? Why wouldn't u care about warranty? You know how much it is to fix these cars right? I'd ask the body shop for a discount after that crap.
__________________
luca335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 10:45 AM   #4
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,006
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by luca335i View Post
Why would they update it because of the stereo? Why wouldn't u care about warranty? You know how much it is to fix these cars right? I'd ask the body shop for a discount after that crap.
The shop is paying for the new amp and everything, including a rental for me. There isn't really a discount to give at this point.

Having the warranty is fine, but I'm not going to revert my car to stock to "save it". If the fuel pump goes, we'll replace it here at my house. If the turbos go, I'll upgrade.
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 10:53 AM   #5
scheherazade
Major
 
Drives: 09 GTR (& 93' accord!)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: DC metro area

Posts: 1,467
iTrader: (8)

Or you could just tell them to not do any software upgrades.

-scheherazade
scheherazade is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 11:05 AM   #6
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,006
iTrader: (4)

perhaps, i already called the service manager and left a message. Waiting to hear back
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 11:40 AM   #7
Humtek
Vishnu Powered
 
Humtek's Avatar
 
Drives: 335xi, S1000RR
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Proceding

Posts: 2,205
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsimon View Post
The shop is paying for the new amp and everything, including a rental for me. There isn't really a discount to give at this point.

Having the warranty is fine, but I'm not going to revert my car to stock to "save it". If the fuel pump goes, we'll replace it here at my house. If the turbos go, I'll upgrade.
I think of it the same way. I can upgrade the turbos and I can replace the pump on my own time. Who wants to go through all the pain to take off every mod to save a warranty for an amp? The downpipes are a PITA to begin with for the XI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scheherazade View Post
Or you could just tell them to not do any software upgrades.

-scheherazade
When I took my car in for the 15k interval I told them I didn't want any software upgrades and if they did have to do them I want to be notified before the software was upgraded and why it was being performed. It's my car not theirs.
__________________
2008 335xi Sedan | Titanium Silver | Black Dakota
PROcede v5 | Vishnu Exhaust | BMS DCI | AR Catless DPs | Helix FMIC | Stett Charge w/ Tial BOV | MORR VS8s | KWv3
Humtek is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 11:51 AM   #8
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,764
iTrader: (11)

to code the new amp, the car will have to be programed.
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 12:00 PM   #9
XPO186
Colonel
 
XPO186's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoCal

Posts: 2,737
iTrader: (19)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Humtek View Post
I think of it the same way. I can upgrade the turbos and I can replace the pump on my own time. Who wants to go through all the pain to take off every mod to save a warranty for an amp? The downpipes are a PITA to begin with for the XI.



When I took my car in for the 15k interval I told them I didn't want any software upgrades and if they did have to do them I want to be notified before the software was upgraded and why it was being performed. It's my car not theirs.
+1

I've taken it in twice now... Once for my 15k free oil change and again for my 30k last weekend. I specifically asked them to not upgrade the software unless absolutely necessary, and so far so good. Still rockin pre29.2

In anycase, your dealership SHOULD comply with your request because an amp replacement should NOT require it. And if they insist... Raise a stink.
__________________
XPO186 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 12:03 PM   #10
Humtek
Vishnu Powered
 
Humtek's Avatar
 
Drives: 335xi, S1000RR
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Proceding

Posts: 2,205
iTrader: (7)

It's good to be pre 29.2 .

It will be sad if you leave the team JP.
__________________
2008 335xi Sedan | Titanium Silver | Black Dakota
PROcede v5 | Vishnu Exhaust | BMS DCI | AR Catless DPs | Helix FMIC | Stett Charge w/ Tial BOV | MORR VS8s | KWv3
Humtek is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 12:06 PM   #11
chinoxs203
Major
 
chinoxs203's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E92 335xi AW
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CT

Posts: 1,352
iTrader: (7)

i think it still happens when the car is off because power is still going to them. But this has to be the most annoying thing to drive to!!

what dealer you take it to? did you not even take out the proceede, thats a quick easy job.
__________________

FOR SALE:
Dropbox - please
chinoxs203 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 12:52 PM   #12
oddjob2021
ASR Turbos+LSD+Meth= :D
 
oddjob2021's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 1,517
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humtek View Post
It's good to be pre 29.2 .

It will be sad if you leave the team JP.
+1, pre 29.2 is for the lucky few of us.

to jp: sucks you have to go to the dealer, I feel the same way you did, I have 22k on the clock and not one dealer visit (i do 5k oil changes), not even for the 15k change... I went to active auto instead (its great to have them local )

but I would unfortunatly do the same, an electrical problem likes yours needs to be fixed. if they do update you i hope they use that crazy new one is-whatever... not like 33.1 right?

please do let us know how the transition from pre 29 goes to the newest update. i would like to have peace of mind if the time comes where i too have to visit the dealer.
__________________

2007 335i Coupe
Mods: Check the Garage
oddjob2021 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 01:14 PM   #13
Mr. 5
Modder Raider
 
Mr. 5's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Surf City, HB

Posts: 8,626
iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [4.00]
Yes, they will update the software more than likely.
On the good side, it's not that bad but your exhaust will be louder.
This is guaranteed!
The 33.3 is pretty good, but the throttle response isn't as good as the pre 29.2.
__________________
e36 M3 Coupe, e36 325i Sedan
e90 335i--SOLD

Best 60-130-------------9.15 Seconds------------------WWW.MR5RACING.COM
Mr. 5 is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 01:21 PM   #14
Humtek
Vishnu Powered
 
Humtek's Avatar
 
Drives: 335xi, S1000RR
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Proceding

Posts: 2,205
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by oddjob2021 View Post
+1, pre 29.2 is for the lucky few of us.

to jp: sucks you have to go to the dealer, I feel the same way you did, I have 22k on the clock and not one dealer visit (i do 5k oil changes), not even for the 15k change... I went to active auto instead (its great to have them local )

but I would unfortunatly do the same, an electrical problem likes yours needs to be fixed. if they do update you i hope they use that crazy new one is-whatever... not like 33.1 right?

please do let us know how the transition from pre 29 goes to the newest update. i would like to have peace of mind if the time comes where i too have to visit the dealer.
I change mine every 5k also, I just like the free 15k service.

Please do keep us updated.
__________________
2008 335xi Sedan | Titanium Silver | Black Dakota
PROcede v5 | Vishnu Exhaust | BMS DCI | AR Catless DPs | Helix FMIC | Stett Charge w/ Tial BOV | MORR VS8s | KWv3
Humtek is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 01:34 PM   #15
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,006
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. 5 View Post
Yes, they will update the software more than likely.
On the good side, it's not that bad but your exhaust will be louder.
This is guaranteed!
The 33.3 is pretty good, but the throttle response isn't as good as the pre 29.2.
i'll write up a review of the new software compared to my many miles driven on pre-29.2... if they do have to update the software.
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 02:21 PM   #16
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMR View Post
to code the new amp, the car will have to be programed.
That's not necessarily true. Coding =/= programming.
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 03:13 PM   #17
jonm42
Captain
 
Drives: too fast for conditions.
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 615
iTrader: (2)

I had this exact same problem with a body shop -- they were doing some wet sanding and missed part of the shield, I guess -- net result was an amp sitting in a couple of inches of water and exactly the sounds you describe, and yes, with the car off. They took care of it all through my dealership. Anyone want a fried 335i professional series amp ? Will sell cheap and ship for free.
jonm42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 03:56 PM   #18
shifterboy45
Major
 
shifterboy45's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North by Northwest

Posts: 1,180
iTrader: (0)

coding

the amp will likely come uncoded -- no vin or car identification related to it -- which require a test plan >> unit software #s >> software numbers of each of the existing units >> and update will be indicated by the system.

since the cars are "networked" together its highly unlikely the individual component can be coded seperatly -- like to old days -- coding a instrument cluster didnt require programming (or coding any other units). but now all the software components "talk" to each other on the network and if one is not recognized -- guess what -- it is not recognized -- my i-pod adaptor, satellite radio, and alarm all required a full cycle of software updates.

if you are familiar with unix type systems some have dependency requirements, this is a sort of unix system (the early DIS testers ran on SCO UNIX) so there are dependency requirement on the cars also .. ever wonder why? have computer at home that has an application that misbehaves ? crashes, start slow, wont print? well thats why the software is packaged into versions, having tested the specific compatibilities of each package installed. so good chance youll wind up with (if their jetstream is working and ISIS is updated) 2.34.0 or otherwise known as E89x-09-06-510
shifterboy45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2009, 04:21 PM   #19
shifterboy45
Major
 
shifterboy45's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North by Northwest

Posts: 1,180
iTrader: (0)

my mistake -- 2.33.3 is online JS
>>>>>>>>>>>2.34.0 is DVD based
shifterboy45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-15-2009, 11:55 AM   #20
BavarianBullet
Lieutenant
 
BavarianBullet's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Audi S5
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Connecticut

Posts: 429
iTrader: (1)

Would it make sense to just order a new amp and try that or are you just letting the body shop handle it and that's the course they're taking? (or is there some other body damage the you'd rather BMW fix?)
__________________
2014 Audi S5 DSG
2011 335xi Sedan (retired)
2008 335xi Sedan (retired)
BavarianBullet is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-15-2009, 11:56 AM   #21
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,006
iTrader: (4)

the shop is paying for the new amp (since it is their fault). the car is at BMW right now getting the amp put in
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-15-2009, 05:42 PM   #22
Bubbles
Green Bastard
 
Bubbles's Avatar
 
Drives: ZCP-Powered
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bishop Bend

Posts: 3,550
iTrader: (3)

Of all things...a freaking amp puts your car into the shop. The irony.
__________________
Bubbles is offline   Cayman Islands
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST