E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > What does this Shadow Fault Code mean?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-01-2009, 07:22 AM   #1
beta17
Private First Class
 
beta17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i Coupé M-Tech
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Zurich

Posts: 169
iTrader: (1)

What does this Shadow Fault Code mean?

Hi @ all

i've attached my BT for the first time and checked the fault code!

Found this one in the "Shadow" Fault Code table:

2DC5
Torque requirement via CAN controller are network, plausibility
Error will not cause a warning light
Error is not currently present
Test conditions have been completed

Event 1
Odometer 12680km 7878mile
Engine speed 704.00 rpm
torque interference via CAN 128.00
voltage KI. 87 12.19 V
status motor control 2.00

Event 2
Odometer 12768km 7933mile
Engine speed 1024.00 rpm
torque interference via CAN 128.00
voltage KI. 87 11.58 V
status motor control 2.00

Event 3
Odometer 13152km 8172mile
Engine speed 1440.00 rpm
torque interference via CAN 128.00
voltage KI. 87 11.88 V
status motor control 2.00


i've checked also the list from Shiv, but this code is not on that list...
check also on n54tech.com but found nothing about that code

can somebody help me??

thanks in advance
beta17
__________________
STOCK
beta17 is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2009, 07:29 AM   #2
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

Posts: 5,180
iTrader: (15)

Looks like a tune indicator shadow code. I think it is the "exceeding torque level" code.
Former_Boosted_IS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2009, 07:38 AM   #3
beta17
Private First Class
 
beta17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i Coupé M-Tech
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Zurich

Posts: 169
iTrader: (1)

ok, i will clear them and check it after a run again!
thank you
__________________
STOCK
beta17 is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2009, 07:47 AM   #4
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

Posts: 5,180
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by beta17 View Post
ok, i will clear them and check it after a run again!
thank you
It should come back though because you are still running the tune. Just leave it there and clear it before you go to the dealer.
Former_Boosted_IS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2009, 07:49 AM   #5
beta17
Private First Class
 
beta17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i Coupé M-Tech
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Zurich

Posts: 169
iTrader: (1)

i had a tune, but the car is stock now, only the simota intake is installed!
__________________
STOCK
beta17 is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2009, 08:03 AM   #6
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

Posts: 5,180
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by beta17 View Post
i had a tune, but the car is stock now, only the simota intake is installed!
Then it should never make a re-appearance.
Former_Boosted_IS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2009, 08:58 AM   #7
beta17
Private First Class
 
beta17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i Coupé M-Tech
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Zurich

Posts: 169
iTrader: (1)

i will check the codes again and post the results here!
__________________
STOCK
beta17 is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2009, 12:01 PM   #8
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

It's unlikely related to engine torque since it triggered at idle-like engine speeds. Just clear it and see if it comes back again.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2009, 04:31 PM   #9
beta17
Private First Class
 
beta17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i Coupé M-Tech
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Zurich

Posts: 169
iTrader: (1)

i have talked to a bmw guy and he told me the same thing!! i've cleared now the code and will check it soon again!!
thanks to Former Boosted Is and Shiv

Shiv, i was in contact with Robert, because of a problem... he is realy a nice guy! fast response time... i'am realy satisfied with the support from Vishnu!!
__________________
STOCK
beta17 is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      07-02-2009, 04:35 AM   #10
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

Posts: 5,180
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
It's unlikely related to engine torque since it triggered at idle-like engine speeds. Just clear it and see if it comes back again.

Shiv
Didn't see that. Good call Shiv.
Former_Boosted_IS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2009, 01:17 AM   #11
HACKULO
Captain
 
HACKULO's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Socal

Posts: 642
iTrader: (10)

Garage List
2012 BMW 335i coupe  [0.00]
2008 135i  [3.00]
i got this code also~

i was took off all the modification like 1 month ago.

but i got this code in these couple days

and i cant find any infor about this code.
HACKULO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2009, 08:07 AM   #12
Soni
Major General
 
Soni's Avatar
 
Drives: Just a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA eh!

Posts: 8,378
iTrader: (35)

Garage List
2007 335i Coupe  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by samleeyy View Post
i got this code also~

i was took off all the modification like 1 month ago.

but i got this code in these couple days

and i cant find any infor about this code.
why not just bring the car in and have the dealer deal with it since you running stock?
Soni is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2009, 09:20 AM   #13
HACKULO
Captain
 
HACKULO's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Socal

Posts: 642
iTrader: (10)

Garage List
2012 BMW 335i coupe  [0.00]
2008 135i  [3.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soni View Post
why not just bring the car in and have the dealer deal with it since you running stock?
i no

but no time~and didnt feel anything wrong about car~
HACKULO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2009, 10:40 AM   #14
RambleJ
Colonel
 
RambleJ's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 535i M-sport
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Back in teh so cal

Posts: 2,013
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by samleeyy View Post
i no

but no time~and didnt feel anything wrong about car~
Is your car an 09? If not have you recently had a software upgrade?
RambleJ is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST