E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Next GEN I-DRIVE Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-06-2009, 08:09 AM   #221
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUltimateDrivingManiac View Post
As far as I know - not yet, at least commercially. It's quite possible that they tried it on their own cars.

I am still looking for my own '07 335i, I will talk with them more precisely when I will get it. I am planning to buy hardware form them and get their help on installing the set. Let's see : )
Thanks...
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2009, 09:28 AM   #222
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Almost bought an used '09 HD screen and the CIC from a wrecked M3... until I checked each P/N. This CIC P/N has been superseded 4 times and the screen P/N twice.

Back to searching.
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2009, 10:24 PM   #223
ingmv
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

 
Drives: BMW F10 M550dxdrive
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Retrofitting CIC

Hello,

Are there more news on the retrofitting?

Has someone done it already?

Regards
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2009, 06:45 PM   #224
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ingmv View Post
Hello,

Are there more news on the retrofitting?

Has someone done it already?

Regards
As soon as I can get some inexpensive used iDrive parts I'm trying this retrofit... got local dealer support for the programming/FSC codes.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2009, 01:49 PM   #225
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Got HD Screen cable this week... looks exactly as the photo posted before.

No news about USB cable P/N; USB jack ordered.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2009, 05:33 PM   #226
Bols
Lieutenant
Belgium
15
Rep
508
Posts

 
Drives: E90d SG
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Antwerp

iTrader: (0)

definitely following this !
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 02:39 PM   #227
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
this thread is too confusing. i just picked up the monitor and headunit. i am awaiting on the cable that need to go from the unit to the monitor. also i will be checking the vin number to see what this car had. will be getting this by next week. the cable will be here in 2 weeks. here's some pics of the back. we'll see how it goes.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 03:08 PM   #228
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
this thread is too confusing. i just picked up the monitor and headunit. i am awaiting on the cable that need to go from the unit to the monitor. also i will be checking the vin number to see what this car had. will be getting this by next week. the cable will be here in 2 weeks. here's some pics of the back. we'll see how it goes.
Long... you bought the wrong parts, bro. That CIC P/N is from Korea, is not even from the USA so forget about HD radio and Assist -and that is if it even works in the USA at all. The monitor could be good, but it has been superseded already and it is not an USA version neither.

Those are the exact superceded parts that I mentioned in my post before... eBay written all over them. The seller never mentioned that these parts came from a car outside the USA, but P/N never lie.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 03:13 PM   #229
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Long... you bought the wrong parts, bro. That CIC P/N is from Korea, is not even from the USA so forget about HD radio and Assist -and that is if it even works in the USA at all. The monitor could be good, but it has been superseded already and it is not an USA version neither.

Those are the exact superceded parts that I mentioned in my post before... eBay written all over them. The seller never mentioned that these parts came from a car outside the USA, but P/N never lie.
it came off US spec m3. we will see. i've learn my lesson once. never again i will buy anything without my cc.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 03:20 PM   #230
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
it came off US spec m3. we will see. i've learn my lesson once. never again i will buy anything without my cc.
Check the P/N... the CIC is at least 4 versions old (I think that its P/N is 65839202830), the monitor is 2 versions old.

But hey... if you can make them work just post how you did it.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 03:22 PM   #231
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Check the P/N... the CIC is at least 4 versions old (I think that its P/N is 65839202830), the monitor is 2 versions old.

But hey... if you can make them work just post how you did it.
is this good?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 04:03 PM   #232
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
just got the vin number from the donor car, it came off an 09 e92 m3. only difference is that the donor car is dct and mine is manual. hopefully it will work. fingers cross.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 04:07 PM   #233
Park828
Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
550
Posts

 
Drives: f10 535i msprt e60 550i msprt
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Jose CA

iTrader: (3)

LT let me know if you can get the nav portion to work.. shooot i'd love my system to read korean!
__________________
2011 F10 535i
07 e90 AW Terra Manual, Brushed Aluminium, ZCW, ZPP, ZSP, comfort access, power rear shades, manual side windows shades, PDC, NAV, HD radio, Sirius, 6FL Ipod, 6UH RTTI
97 e36 techno v M3 coupe manual
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 04:12 PM   #234
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Park828 View Post
LT let me know if you can get the nav portion to work.. shooot i'd love my system to read korean!
its not korean. i already looked up the vin.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 04:30 PM   #235
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
just got the vin number from the donor car, it came off an 09 e92 m3. only difference is that the donor car is dct and mine is manual. hopefully it will work. fingers cross.
Yes, that's the same CIC that I was looking at last month... it is a USA P/N 65129198828 (extremely early production, by 03/09 it was substituted 4 times already), it is the monitor P/N 65829193745 that it is from Korea/China, not from the USA.

My bad.

If anything, it should turn on and some screens should show up. I see that this came from a M3 with the HiFi system, so if your M3 do not have the Enhanced Audio then you should have audio. You can even test the audio without the screen cable by plugging the CIC in and playing a CD.

Check your current CCC screen power connector (12-pin with 6 wires) pin assignments against that CIC screen power connector pin assignments: according to BMWTIS.com somewhow the pins colors and functions are common but the pin assignments are different. So double check before plugging the sucker up... you can burn it.

Nav and Voice Activation will require the FSC codes.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 04:49 PM   #236
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Yes, that's the same CIC that I was looking at last month... it is a USA P/N 65129198828 (extremely early production, by 03/09 it was substituted 4 times already), it is the monitor P/N 65829193745 that it is from Korea/China, not from the USA.

My bad.

If anything, it should turn on and some screens should show up. I see that this came from a M3 with the HiFi system, so if your M3 do not have the Enhanced Audio then you should have audio. You can even test the audio without the screen cable by plugging the CIC in and playing a CD.

Check your current CCC screen power connector (12-pin with 6 wires) pin assignments against that CIC screen power connector pin assignments: according to BMWTIS.com somewhow the pins colors and functions are common but the pin assignments are different. So double check before plugging the sucker up... you can burn it.

Nav and Voice Activation will require the FSC codes.
i'm lost all over again. what is the FSC codes and how do i get it?


also you mention the knob will only work for 4/08 and on? my car is 3/08 and the knob works. so we can add another month to that.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 04:59 PM   #237
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
i'm lost all over again.


also you mention the knob will only work for 4/08 and on? my car is 3/08 and the knob works. so we can add another month to that.
Nice... what type of Assist TCU (GSM or CDMA) is installed in your car -if any?

- Does your M3 has the standard or the optional sound system?

- the iDrive screen has two connections: the power/ground/bus 12-pin connector with 6-wires (or 5 wires, I'm not sure now), and the video cable. Before you simply connect the existing 12-pin connector already in your car -which should look exactly like the one in the HD screen- to that screen that you bought, just take a look at where each pin is located in each connector. They should be inserted in the exact same slots (they are numbered).

According to the OEM schematics they are not in the same slots, but the wires are the same colors and functions. So it looks like it is a matter of removing some wires from the connector in your car and inserting them in the correct slots to match the HD screen connector.

- the FSC codes are only available thru your dealer... and only if they want to help you.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 05:12 PM   #238
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Nice... what type of Assist TCU (GSM or CDMA) is installed in your car -if any?
- Does your M3 has the standard or the optional sound system?

- the iDrive screen has two connections: the power/ground/bus 12-pin connector with 6-wires (or 5 wires, I'm not sure now), and the video cable. Before you simply connect the existing 12-pin connector already in your car -which should look exactly like the one in the HD screen- to that screen that you bought, just take a look at where each pin is located in each connector. They should be inserted in the exact same slots (they are numbered).

According to the OEM schematics they are not in the same slots, but the wires are the same colors and functions. So it looks like it is a matter of removing some wires from the connector in your car and inserting them in the correct slots to match the HD screen connector.

- the FSC codes are only available thru your dealer... and only if they want to help you.
how do i know?

how would we know what slot they belong to? as far as the fsc, my friend at the dealer will take care of that.

also, we tried the knob on a e92 335 build date is 02/08 and that worked too.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 05:33 PM   #239
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
heres the donor's specs

609 NAVIGATION SYSTEM PROFESSIONAL

620 VOICE INPUT SYSTEM

676 HIFI LOUDSPEAKER SYSTEM

and mine

609 NAVIGATION SYSTEM PROFESSIONAL

620 VOICE INPUT SYSTEM

752 INDIVIDUAL AUDIO SYSTEM


how would we know what slot they belong to? as far as the fsc, my friend at the dealer will take care of that.
There will be no audio out once you connect this CIC to your car, as it is coded for 676 (analog) and not 752 (digital), so your digital amp will not receive any signals from this CIC. Most probably it will turn on, though... but no sound.

I think that once you get the FSC codes -hopefully your friend will be able to convince BMWNA to generate a set for your VIN- you will have audio and the rest of the functions without the need of changing your VO.

Your dealer friend also could help in printing the schematics of both screens and match the wires in the screen connector in your M3 if there is any difference.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 05:39 PM   #240
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
There will be no audio out once you connect this CIC to your car, as it is coded for 676 (analog) and not 752 (digital), so your digital amp will not receive any signals from this CIC. Most probably it will turn on, though... but no sound.

I think that once you get the FSC codes -hopefully your friend will be able to convince BMWNA to generate a set for your VIN- you will have audio and the rest of the functions without the need of changing your VO.

Your dealer friend also could help in printing the schematics of both screens and match the wires in the screen connector in your M3 if there is any difference.
my as in my rear amp in the trunk? what if i change it out to an aftermarket amp?
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 05:39 PM   #241
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
For the TCU type, just take a look at the label printed on top of it. Somewhere it should say "GSM"; if there is no GSM anywhere then it is a CDMA.

I think that the M3 code is different from the regular 3 Series code from the point of view of the iDrive/Assist relationship, because so far nobody with a pre-03/08 M3 has been able to retrofit this knob and got it working -at least in this forum.

My theory was that at 04/08 the TCU changed from CDMA to GSM and that was the only major hardware and software mid-production change in the M3 in 2008. But now your are saying that the new controller works fully in your 03/08 M3, my theory is out the window unless your M3 has a GSM TCU (a very late 03/08/almost 04/08 production)...
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2009, 05:42 PM   #242
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
For the TCU type, just take a look at the label printed on top of it. Somewhere it should say "GSM"; if there is no GSM anywhere then it is a CDMA.

I think that the M3 code is different from the regular 3 Series code from the point of view of the iDrive/Assist relationship, because so far nobody with a pre-03/08 M3 has been able to retrofit this knob and got it working -at least in this forum.

My theory was that at 04/08 the TCU changed from CDMA to GSM and that was the only major hardware and software mid-production change in the M3 in 2008. But now your are saying that the new controller works fully in your 03/08 M3, my theory is out the window unless your M3 has a GSM TCU (a very late 03/08/almost 04/08 production)...
i will look when i get home. i'm really really hoping this works. even if i lose some stuff like voice command and bmw assist. lol.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST