E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Next GEN I-DRIVE Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-04-2009, 11:42 PM   #265
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
It looks like I may get an used set by early next week, sorry... I'll let you know if I can get extra cables sooner than you.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:14 PM   #266
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
eta is tomorrow.


hey technic, you think if i got this it would work with the new idrive with hifi? http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...94&hg=65&fg=95
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:33 PM   #267
dmurray14
The Stig
dmurray14's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,232
Posts

 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

iTrader: (1)

Don't do that! You'd be downgrading your audio system.

Recode the CIC to output digitally!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:41 PM   #268
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
Don't do that! You'd be downgrading your audio system.

Recode the CIC to output digitally!
the problem is, we are not sure if we can recode the system. i rather have nice idrive than nice sound.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:42 PM   #269
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
eta is tomorrow.


hey technic, you think if i got this it would work with the new idrive with hifi? http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...94&hg=65&fg=95
No, that's the Alpine upgrade for the OEM Stereo system (yes, that's the name) not the HiFi. And even if you want to use it, it can only drive 2 Logic7 components sets (2 ohms each) and two 6.5" woofers and not the 7 Premium speakers (4 ohms each) and two 8" woofers that we have.

Again, if you get the FSC codes (based on your VIN) it will command that CIC to switch ouputs to digital. The issue is getting the codes... that's the reason I'm buying now the CIC new and the screen used instead of both used as I planned so I would have a better leverage with BMW when I request the FSC codes... the codes are supposed to be included when you buy the CIC at the dealer.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:45 PM   #270
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
the problem is, we are not sure if we can recode the system. i rather have nice idrive than nice sound.
Tell your tech friend to call somebody at BMW... just ask for the codes and see what happens. That's exactly what Booster4075 did, and he got the codes for his used CCC... and the CCC has the same FSC requirement as the CIC.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:47 PM   #271
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Tell your tech friend to call somebody at BMW... just ask for the codes and see what happens. That's exactly what Booster4075 did, and he got the codes for his used CCC... and the CCC has the same FSC requirement as the CIC.
he asked last week and they said no end of discussion.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:48 PM   #272
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
No, that's the Alpine upgrade for the OEM Stereo system (yes, that's the name) not the HiFi. And even if you want to use it, it can only drive 2 Logic7 components sets (2 ohms each) and two 6.5" woofers and not the 7 Premium speakers (4 ohms each) and two 8" woofers that we have.

Again, if you get the FSC codes (based on your VIN) it will command that CIC to switch ouputs to digital. The issue is getting the codes... that's the reason I'm buying now the CIC new and the screen used instead of both used as I planned so I would have a better leverage with BMW when I request the FSC codes... the codes are supposed to be included when you buy the CIC at the dealer.
the new cic will be coded to my car? if so, i'll go that route.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:48 PM   #273
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
he asked last week and they said no end of discussion.
Damn... I'm telling you, this retrofit works plug and play with those codes, and BMW knows it.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:51 PM   #274
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
this hsit is driving me nuts. i'm getting my units tomorrow and have no cable. F*CK
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 04:52 PM   #275
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
the new cic will be coded to my car? if so, i'll go that route.
That's the last resort... at least you have a core to exchange ($500) so you are not losing what you paid for the CIC. You should be able to get a new CIC for $800 then...
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 12:20 PM   #276
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
the unit is not coming in today. it is tomorrow. i erno why i thought today was 9/10. but i recieved my cable
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 12:39 PM   #277
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
the unit is not coming in today. it is tomorrow. i erno why i thought today was 9/10. but i recieved my cable
Nice, at least you should see most of the screens (radio, AC, CD, iPod, Assist, Service) if the hardware is fine.

I double checked the pin assignments of the HD screen power connector schematic and they match pin to pin between the MY2008 and the MY2009 M3, so it should be pretty much a plug 'n let's see connection of both the CIC and the HD screen in your M3... good luck!
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 12:42 PM   #278
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Nice, at least you should see most of the screens (radio, AC, CD, iPod, Assist, Service) if the hardware is fine.

I double checked the pin assignments of the HD screen power connector schematic and they match pin to pin between the MY2008 and the MY2009 M3, so it should be pretty much a plug 'n let's see connection of both the CIC and the HD screen in your M3... good luck!
is this the right cable 61 126 928 606?
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 12:57 PM   #279
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
is this the right cable 61 126 928 606?
Nooooo.... it is 61 11 9 185 171, screen cable for Professional Nav with no CCC, which means Professional Nav with CIC.

P/N 61 126 928 606 is the screen cable for the Business Navigation which we do not have in the USA.

You should get the -171 cable fast, as BMW got 100+ of them in stock last week in Germany. Ask for expedite delivery...
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 12:59 PM   #280
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Nooooo.... it is 61 11 9 185 171, screen cable for Professional Nav with no CCC, which means Professional Nav with CIC.

P/N 61 126 928 606 is the screen cable for the Business Navigation which we do not have in the USA.

You should get the -171 cable fast, as BMW got 100+ of them in stock last week in Germany. Ask for expedite delivery...
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 01:07 PM   #281
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
What surprised me is that your dealer ordered a cable that it is only applicable outside the USA and did not notice...
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 01:14 PM   #282
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
What surprised me is that your dealer ordered a cable that it is only applicable outside the USA and did not notice...
we looked up e90 m3 lci and that was the only cable that was different from the pre lci m3.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 01:22 PM   #283
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
we looked up e90 m3 lci and that was the only cable that was different from the pre lci m3.
The trick is that the -171 cable applies to 09/08-on production only... that's LCI. That it states CCC = NO is the clincher.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 01:24 PM   #284
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The trick is that the -171 cable applies to 09/08-on production only... that's LCI. That it states CCC = NO is the clincher.
you think i can rewire this cable to the plugs they cut off?
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 01:29 PM   #285
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by longtran View Post
you think i can rewire this cable to the plugs they cut off?
No, the screen cable is a new 4 wire design with the grounds interlaced with the two data wires for better noise suppression. Even if you come up with a Frankenstein cable -made up of parts from different cables stiched together- you really want to use a new one and avoid any short circuit or bad contact that can fry/damage your screen.

I think that the dealer can overnight -or at least 2-day air- this part from Germany now that they have plenty of stock.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2009, 02:25 PM   #286
longtran
Moderator
longtran's Avatar
443
Rep
16,617
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA

iTrader: (105)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
No, the screen cable is a new 4 wire design with the grounds interlaced with the two data wires for better noise suppression. Even if you come up with a Frankenstein cable -made up of parts from different cables stiched together- you really want to use a new one and avoid any short circuit or bad contact that can fry/damage your screen.

I think that the dealer can overnight -or at least 2-day air- this part from Germany now that they have plenty of stock.
they said 2 weeks. even if i did VOR, speedy shipping, the cable there is no eta on it.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST