E90Post
 


Scorpp Design
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > JB3 1.4 installed; Now what?--help needed



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-10-2009, 02:22 PM   #1
YARDMAN
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queens, NY

Posts: 278
iTrader: (4)

JB3 1.4 installed; Now what?--help needed

Now that I've installed the JB3 1.4 beta version, what should i be aware of or look out for in terms of updates. I do know that i may have to to get a chip burner and a scan tool? Still new to the jb tune so trying to understand what i will have to do to keep up with the most current updates. tell me what you know or what i should need to know. By the way the JB3 1.4 is incred. Any word on when it's finally going to be released and how often will they be updating the 1.4 beta version or is this final what i have? thanks.
YARDMAN is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
NRG
Lieutenant Colonel
 
NRG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5 35d
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal QC

Posts: 1,659
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by YARDMAN View Post
Now that I've installed the JB3 1.4 beta version, what should i be aware of or look out for in terms of updates. I do know that i may have to to get a chip burner and a scan tool? Still new to the jb tune so trying to understand what i will have to do to keep up with the most current updates. tell me what you know or what i should need to know. By the way the JB3 1.4 is incred. Any word on when it's finally going to be released and how often will they be updating the 1.4 beta version or is this final what i have? thanks.
You'll need the chip burner if you wanna keep up with upgrades and try all the new revisions. BT tool is highly recommended with ANY tune IMO. 1.4 is approaching it's final stages but no ETA yet, more improvements being made. You can find the latest 1.4 beta on n54tuning.com or purchase from burgertuning.com and n54tuning.com
__________________

Retired: 2005 N52 E90 330i Sport 6AT
Retired: 2007 N54 E92 335i Sport 6AT

Current: 2012 M57 E70 X5 xDrive35D
NRG is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2009, 03:55 PM   #3
JDLM
Banned
 
JDLM's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas

Posts: 3,278
iTrader: (4)

check your other thread for answers
JDLM is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2009, 04:00 PM   #4
roadkillrob
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2008 335Cic, 2011 X5 35i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

Posts: 3,688
iTrader: (14)

check out the n54tech.com forum - there are stickies on the chip burner, how to get it and use it along with the software downloads and version updates are all posted there - pretty easy info to get through and get working. I never set a single code with 1.3, but you never know, you can set some stuff just installing it if you make any mistakes, so the BT is nice to ensure no codes when you visit the dealer!
__________________

2008 E93 335i, GIAC Stage 2, HPF IC, Injen Intake, Defective AR Design DP's with useless cats
2014 X3 35i JB Stage 1
roadkillrob is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2009, 05:21 PM   #5
bmrm396
Major
 
Drives: '14 F30 335i MSport
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: sD, CA

Posts: 1,329
iTrader: (2)

i know JB3 can be continuously updated to keep up with BMW's antics - but does anyone know if it will be adaptable to a 2010 335? im about to order one next summer so dont wanna waste the time/effort/money for less than a yr of fun which = big tease = not cool
__________________
Formerly addicted to e46fanatics
bmrm396 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2009, 05:25 PM   #6
Terrance28
Brigadier General
 
Terrance28's Avatar
 
Drives: Crimson Red E92
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Killeen, TX

Posts: 3,336
iTrader: (17)

Send a message via Yahoo to Terrance28
Get on N54tech and follow the 1.4 thread.
__________________
Mods list got too long, lets just say more than enough.
Terrance28 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2009, 09:49 PM   #7
5soko
Brigadier General
 
5soko's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 4,182
iTrader: (4)

Dont run past map5, or you run the risk of throwing codes.
5soko is online now   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2009, 10:01 PM   #8
Craig@SupremePower
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Craig@SupremePower's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Dodge Durango R/T
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 75,000
iTrader: (14)

Map 7 FTW!!
__________________
Craig@SupremePower is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2009, 10:03 PM   #9
JDLM
Banned
 
JDLM's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas

Posts: 3,278
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadkillrob View Post
check out the n54tech.com forum - there are stickies on the chip burner, how to get it and use it along with the software downloads and version updates are all posted there - pretty easy info to get through and get working. I never set a single code with 1.3, but you never know, you can set some stuff just installing it if you make any mistakes, so the BT is nice to ensure no codes when you visit the dealer!
You will have to get a BT scan tool and just go from there

I was worring on the 09's and things seem fine
JDLM is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2009, 07:30 AM   #10
YARDMAN
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queens, NY

Posts: 278
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig@SupremePower View Post
Map 7 FTW!!
It seems like most folks are scared to run above map 5 stock or with minimal mods. I've been running Map 5 and it seems pretty fast. Maybe I'll test out Map 7 but if I throw a code it's ur ass Craig.. lol.
YARDMAN is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2009, 07:32 AM   #11
YARDMAN
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queens, NY

Posts: 278
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLM View Post
You will have to get a BT scan tool and just go from there

I was worring on the 09's and things seem fine
Yeah, i'm monitoring the for sale forum for one of those. I wish there was an easy way to get to the module for updates as opposed to taking out all that crap to get to the ecu.
YARDMAN is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST