E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Does one NEED a gauge?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-19-2009, 09:50 AM   #23
Sniz
Lieutenant General
378

 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD


Posts: 10,569
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whn View Post
I think digital vent gauge looks too much ricey for bimmer
then the whole car looks ricey, I think the vent gauge looks practically OEM.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 09:52 AM   #24
McMuffin
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
36

 
McMuffin's Avatar
 
Drives: A Widebody 92
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Califas


Posts: 1,550
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Yes, BMS has a separate firmware file for the jb3 which enables this feature, and then I include a wire that goes between the gauge and the jb3.

The gauge has four on-screen map selections, bc.1, bc.2, bc.3, and bc.4

That is 4 slots for REALTIME map switching, on the fly, selected on screen.

bc.1 = JB3 map 0
bc.2 = gas pedal selected map (put the gauge in this mode, and it will always remember what you had selected using the gas pedal jb3 method, so you can put whatever map you want into this slot)
bc.3 = JB3 map 3
bc.4 = JB3 map 7

When you hold the button down on the front face for 2 seconds, it will display your currently selected map, just tap to cycle between all 4, and then wait for 3 seconds and it will be selected. Super easy. You can check out some videos on my site under the install guides section.
Thank you sir I will definately be buying one soon!
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 10:05 AM   #25
CubanJJ09
Banned
United_States
146

 
Drives: like an asshole
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs


Posts: 12,692
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.09]
Send a message via AIM to CubanJJ09
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Its the difference between a mass market off the shelf gauge that was made in china, or a custom hand built product made in USA and JUST for the 335.

Its not for everyone... but those who get it never regret it... the quality, OEM look, fit and finish are all unmatched. Don't take my word for it... Just ask anyone who owns this gauge.

thanks for the info
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 10:11 AM   #26
luca335i
Major
60

 
luca335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 335I Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Unknown


Posts: 1,193
iTrader: (3)

Get the rix gauge. You'll love it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 11:08 AM   #27
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
314


 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York


Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by whn View Post
I think digital vent gauge looks too much ricey for bimmer
Then you have no idea what your speaking off...What other boost guage would not make it look ricey? I think its the best looking guage out there that doesn't make it ricey...I originally had a guage on the dash and thats ricey if anything, but I couldn't agree with you as for your accessment of the vent gauge, in fact I think you are the ONE and ONLY person that has ever stated something like that!
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 11:19 AM   #28
persian54
Lieutenant General
United_States
642

 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal


Posts: 15,806
iTrader: (291)

i don't think it's ricey, but tbh, I'd prefer one not in the vent because:
1) I like using the left vent to blow full AC
2) I'd like a non-digital one (just a matter of opinion)
3) yes, my car costs 62k, but for 400, I could get a set of DPs
But, if I liked the digital look, i would definitely get it heh
Maybe in the future

I was looking at STRI one since the gauge's color matches the rest of the car
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 11:19 AM   #29
Craig@SupremePower
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
920


 
Craig@SupremePower's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Dodge Durango R/T
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey


Posts: 74,999
iTrader: (14)

i think its a wise investment...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 11:27 AM   #30
e.n335
Moderator
Austria
204

 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH


Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

[u2b][/u2b]
Quote:
Originally Posted by luca335i View Post
Get the rix gauge. You'll love it.
+1
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 11:29 AM   #31
TigerDejan
Captain
Sweden
41

 
TigerDejan's Avatar
 
Drives: Bmw 335i Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sweden


Posts: 919
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to TigerDejan
so the BMS one , u actually choose which maps u want on bc 1 , bc 2 , bc 3 and bc 4 right ?

so i can have:
bc1= map 0
bc2=map 3
bc3=map 5
bc4=map 7

right ?
__________________
Current:Bmw 325D E90 LCI Edition Sport | BSM | M-Tech | Comfort-Pkg | 6MT | OEM 18" 193M | Alcantara Seats | ESS Tuning Custom Stage 2 | OEM Performance Grill | FK Street Coilovers | CF Emblems |
Sold: Bmw 335i E92 - Fully Loaded - Stage 3+
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 11:46 AM   #32
McMuffin
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
36

 
McMuffin's Avatar
 
Drives: A Widebody 92
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Califas


Posts: 1,550
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerDejan View Post
so the BMS one , u actually choose which maps u want on bc 1 , bc 2 , bc 3 and bc 4 right ?

so i can have:
bc1= map 0
bc2=map 3
bc3=map 5
bc4=map 7

right ?
No, I think it's in this order. bc.2 = gas pedal selected map (put the gauge in this mode, and it will always remember what you had selected using the gas pedal jb3 method, so you can put whatever map you want into this slot)
bc1= map 0
bc2=map 5
bc3=map 3
bc4=map 7
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 12:36 PM   #33
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
825


 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth


Posts: 14,845
iTrader: (88)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
I'm going to upgrade from a Jb+ to a Jb3 soon

since I don't plan on running more than map 3, MAYBE map 5 if i find 93+ octane, do i need a gauge?

or would it be purely cosmetic?

Also, typically, how much does it cost for a boast gauge install?

Thanks in advance.
I usually tell my customers thats its a good idea to have a gauge. With the JB3 you can get the Tuning Gauge or you can get Rix's vent gauge which is sweet, or there are a few other solutions out there.

Mike
__________________
LOWEST PRICE GURANTEE ON ALL PRODUCTS - www.n54tuning.com - Email; Mike@n54tuning.com
NEW PERFORMANCE LINE N54 DOWNPIPES & M3/M4 & F30 ER DOWNPIPES NOW IN STOCK - ER N54 CHARPE PIPE SPECIALS - NEW JB4 G5 ISO for N54 and F30 N55 ON SALE - NEW S55 M3/M4 JB4 NOW SHIPPING
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 01:52 PM   #34
Porschefile
Major
32

 
Porschefile's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tennessee


Posts: 1,233
iTrader: (6)

Now you all have talked me into spending another $400 on the 335. Stupid E90post haha
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 01:54 PM   #35
Prowess Symphony
Major General
United_States
207

 
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV


Posts: 5,860
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Im happy with my $50 prosport premium gauge. Fits perfectly in the ashtray and is completely hidden. I would have liked to have bought one with map switching capabilities but thats too expensive for me right now.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:02 PM   #36
Sniz
Lieutenant General
378

 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD


Posts: 10,569
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
i don't think it's ricey, but tbh, I'd prefer one not in the vent because:
1) I like using the left vent to blow full AC
2) I'd like a non-digital one (just a matter of opinion)
3) yes, my car costs 62k, but for 400, I could get a set of DPs
But, if I liked the digital look, i would definitely get it heh
Maybe in the future

I was looking at STRI one since the gauge's color matches the rest of the car
dont get the STRI one, I've had that one too and its simply inaccurate and does not have peak recall

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prowess Symphony View Post
Im happy with my $50 prosport premium gauge. Fits perfectly in the ashtray and is completely hidden. I would have liked to have bought one with map switching capabilities but thats too expensive for me right now.
being in the ashtray i'm hoping it has a peak recall function?? There is no way your are driving aggressive and keeping your eye on the ashtray while also wathching the road.

Maybe its just me but I think having a quick moving gauge in the ashtray/shifter area is not ideal. Only gauges that dont move much (oil temp, oil pressure, water temp, voltage) should be in that location. Even a boost gauge with peak recall shoudlnt be there as peak numbers are not all you should be paying attention to on your boost gauge. You need to watch dips, boost spikes, bleeding boost, vac numbers off throttle, etc all the time to really help diagnose the health of your setup. You simply can not do that effectively and keep your eye safely on the road with a 400hp+ vehicle w/ a gauge that is by your knee.

my 2 cents.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:06 PM   #37
Prowess Symphony
Major General
United_States
207

 
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV


Posts: 5,860
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
being in the ashtray i'm hoping it has a peak recall function?? There is no way your are driving aggressive and keeping your eye on the ashtray while also wathching the road.

Maybe its just me but I think having a quick moving gauge in the ashtray/shifter area is not ideal. Only gauges that dont move much (oil temp, oil pressure, water temp, voltage) should be in that location. Even a boost gauge with peak recall shoudlnt be there as peak numbers are not all you should be paying attention to on your boost gauge. You need to watch dips, boost spikes, bleeding boost, vac numbers off throttle, etc all the time to really help diagnose the health of your setup. You simply can not do that effectively and keep your eye safely on the road with a 400hp+ vehicle w/ a gauge that is by your knee.

my 2 cents.
Yup it has peak recall which is all I use it for. If I ever need serious diagnostic info, then I would hook up the laptop with the bt tool and run logs. I like having the gauge hidden from outside view and the dealership view.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:10 PM   #38
Sniz
Lieutenant General
378

 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD


Posts: 10,569
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prowess Symphony View Post
Yup it has peak recall which is all I use it for. If I ever need serious diagnostic info, then I would hook up the laptop with the bt tool and run logs. I like having the gauge hidden from outside view and the dealership view.
if I'm not mistaken the JB+ wont log correctly like most piggybacks, thats why you need a good gauge. I'm referring to boost of course.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:33 PM   #39
Prowess Symphony
Major General
United_States
207

 
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV


Posts: 5,860
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
if I'm not mistaken the JB+ wont log correctly like most piggybacks, thats why you need a good gauge. I'm referring to boost of course.
I didnt know that. However ill be upgrading to jb3 anyday now!!
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 03:15 PM   #40
RiXst3r
217

 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio


Posts: 6,505
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prowess Symphony View Post
I didnt know that. However ill be upgrading to jb3 anyday now!!
Same problem, you cannot use the BT tool to log boost with ANY piggyback, you will always just see stock boost.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 07:28 PM   #41
Mooreski
Lieutenant
22

 
Mooreski's Avatar
 
Drives: AW '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portland, OR


Posts: 473
iTrader: (1)

Just to throw in my $0.02: I have the Rix gauge and love it. It's out of the way enough that you don't notice it unless you're looking. Install is easy, Rix's instructions are very comprehensive. Take a look through them and take it to a shop if you're not comfortable.

The air is directed at your hand, which isn't ideal in all situations, but it could be worse. I usually just leave the vent half open and it works for me.

I just leave mine in for service. I can't imagine they'd give you warranty trouble regarding a boost gauge. It's not going to mess with your engine. The guys at the dealership love it, some of the service guys asked if it was a BMW Perfomance option.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 08:50 PM   #42
RiXst3r
217

 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio


Posts: 6,505
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooreski View Post
The guys at the dealership love it, some of the service guys asked if it was a BMW Perfomance option.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 11:20 PM   #43
Daya
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
72

 
Daya's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 space gray/coral red
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago


Posts: 1,678
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 E92 335  [4.83]
The guys at my shop told me my Rix gauge was by far the coolest mod I have, and I have a lot of mods!
__________________

GIAC S2 | Brembo GT BBK 355/345 | BBS CH-R | Michelin Pilot Super Sports | AR Design: DP, S1 Oil Cooler, OCC | AMS FMIC | Bastuck Quad Exhaust | Borla MP | KW V1 | Stett: CAI, CP | Forge DV | P3 Boost Gauge | Arkym: Front Lip, Rear Quad Diffuser | Vorsteiner CSL Trunk | LUX H8 | ModMyNav | MFD M3 Sideskirts | BMW M-Tech Front/Rear Bumpers, Edition Grills
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST