E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > JB3 1.3 versus Procede CANbus (Rematch Review)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-22-2009, 09:02 AM   #89
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (5)

my XI was limited to ~135
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 09:20 AM   #90
Digital.James
Colonel
Digital.James's Avatar
39
Rep
2,610
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NC

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1000 View Post
155 MPH is enough for me...
its not a speed on streets thing. i run into the speed limiter on the dyno which sucks
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 10:14 AM   #91
nupe05
Private
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i black/coral red
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clinton, MD

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1000 View Post
155 MPH is enough for me...
its never enough.. if limiter was able to be removed.. lives maybe lost.. mine included but for the sake of everything thats fast its a cause i willing to accept
__________________

335i Jet Black/Coral Red JB3 1.3/BMS DCI
64 Lincoln Continental
08 Range Rover Sport
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 10:31 AM   #92
Septro
Banned
28
Rep
1,649
Posts

 
Drives: '08 e90 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: C-Bus, OH

iTrader: (1)

If I'm the highway in my Vanagon and see one of you guys fly by me at 155+, I'm calling the cops (after I snap a cool cell phone pic)
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 10:52 AM   #93
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by nupe05 View Post
its never enough.. if limiter was able to be removed.. lives maybe lost.. mine included but for the sake of everything thats fast its a cause i willing to accept
Going speed over 135 for non sport and 155 for sport, getting into an accident at that speed going 10 to 15 miles over the speed limiter would allow, it wouldn't really matter because regardless anything over 130+ you most certainly a goner!
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 11:29 AM   #94
WhiteSled
Banned
1
Rep
142
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 BMW 135i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: East Coast

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Septro View Post
If I'm the highway in my Vanagon and see one of you guys fly by me at 155+, I'm calling the cops (after I snap a cool cell phone pic)
good luck getting it in focus lol
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 11:29 AM   #95
roozie2001
Just some guy
roozie2001's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
1,529
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 White 335i sedan
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Going speed over 135 for non sport and 155 for sport, getting into an accident at that speed going 10 to 15 miles over the speed limiter would allow, it wouldn't really matter because regardless anything over 130+ you most certainly a goner!
+1 dead for sure. Body parts. Whole 9 yards
__________________
2008 BMW 335i/Sedan/Alpine White/Terra/Steptronic/Premium Package/Sports package/Comfort Access/USB/Sirius
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 11:45 AM   #96
Digital.James
Colonel
Digital.James's Avatar
39
Rep
2,610
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NC

iTrader: (7)

Wow all you guys must be from another country or some shit, because you obviously cant read English.

So I'll say it again, the speed limiter kicks in on the dyno for us non-sport guys. It starts cutting out at about 6200 RPM for me in 4th gear, which gets annoying when youre making 398whp and youre about to break 400 and the speed limiter stops you...

sheesh. Engrish guys, ENGRISH!
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 11:49 AM   #97
Zeph
Major
United_States
16
Rep
1,410
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 335i 6MT SGM CR/BD
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southeast USA

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to Zeph Send a message via Yahoo to Zeph
Quote:
Originally Posted by Septro View Post
If I'm the highway in my Vanagon and see one of you guys fly by me at 155+, I'm calling the cops (after I snap a cool cell phone pic)
R O F L

First you would have to ask your mom to borrow her cell phone, but she might be busy driving you to soccer practice and you wouldn't want her digging through her purse!
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 11:51 AM   #98
Zeph
Major
United_States
16
Rep
1,410
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 335i 6MT SGM CR/BD
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southeast USA

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to Zeph Send a message via Yahoo to Zeph
I would want the speed delimiter removed just because it is there. I hate how companies try to control how you drive your own car. Seat belt alarms, top speed governers, etc. etc. are all too big brother for me. Even if I do wear my seatbelt and never go over 120, it is just the point that irritates me. Just like when people tell other people on this forum how they should drive their car (OMG don't race, you could take out an innocent tree) etc.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 12:14 PM   #99
Septro
Banned
28
Rep
1,649
Posts

 
Drives: '08 e90 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: C-Bus, OH

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital.James View Post
Wow all you guys must be from another country or some shit, because you obviously cant read English.

So I'll say it again, the speed limiter kicks in on the dyno for us non-sport guys. It starts cutting out at about 6200 RPM for me in 4th gear, which gets annoying when youre making 398whp and youre about to break 400 and the speed limiter stops you...

sheesh. Engrish guys, ENGRISH!
3rd gear pulls? I didn't have any marked difference between 4th and 3rd pulls for power output for every dyno I've done (I do a 3rd/4th gear run everytime)

Last edited by Septro; 05-22-2009 at 05:35 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 04:29 PM   #100
brianhn1
Slow Mo
5
Rep
524
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital.James View Post
Wow all you guys must be from another country or some shit, because you obviously cant read English.

So I'll say it again, the speed limiter kicks in on the dyno for us non-sport guys. It starts cutting out at about 6200 RPM for me in 4th gear, which gets annoying when youre making 398whp and youre about to break 400 and the speed limiter stops you...

sheesh. Engrish guys, ENGRISH!
Huh? I want to see a dyno graph with 398whp at 6200rpm. That's some insane boost up high.
__________________
'15 M4 AW/SO, ED 7/1/14, US 8/4/14, PU 8/18/14
'13 X5 35i, '08 335i
Motorcycles: '12 R1200GS, '10 F800GS, '74 R90S, 09' Ducati Monster 696, '10 HD V-Rod

Appreciate 0
      05-22-2009, 05:00 PM   #101
Lotus99
Lieutenant Colonel
Lotus99's Avatar
Canada
27
Rep
1,705
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by A418t81 View Post
A bunch of you guys are drama queens, plain and simple. You live for this kind of stuff.

I don't care to get into another timing control battle, and frankly, I don't even care that my JB3 doesn't actively pull timing. Why? Because if you think .5-2 deg of ignition retard on top of double the factory boost pressure is doing anything worth mentioning to quench knock other than giving people a false sense of security, you're either ignorant to how engines work, or delusional...or both.
Yeah, that makes a lot of sense... Slightly OT, but can you tell me what were your reasons why you ended up picking the JB3 over the Procede?
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2009, 11:38 PM   #102
ridin135
Colonel
34
Rep
2,264
Posts

 
Drives: 991 C2S & E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Greenville

iTrader: (7)

rematch for newer maps
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2009, 09:03 AM   #103
Kelvin1000
Major
United_States
29
Rep
1,190
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 335i Space Gray
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (4)

Coming up... just waiting to get back home tomorrow to do further testing.

I also have to play with the Procede settings a lot more than just running map7 on the JB3... I have to datalog to find out how much UT and IC can be pushed without pulling timing.

My piece of crap Windows Vista is not helping me as even uploading firmware is difficult. Data logging works 1/2 the time before it disconnects...
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2009, 12:35 PM   #104
335iheLLraiseR
اوليسيس
335iheLLraiseR's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
4,660
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: sfl

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 e92 335  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by oddjob2021 View Post
nice ur in miami? wanna race?
took the words out of my mouth.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Where'd you get $500? Website says $875.
there are two currently for sale in the classified section, one was as low as $420 last time i checked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotus99 View Post
Yeah, that makes a lot of sense... Slightly OT, but can you tell me what were your reasons why you ended up picking the JB3 over the Procede?
i cant believe you've done this.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Anyone who can transition seamlessly from defending one vendor and bashing another vendor to bashing the one he formally defended and defending the one he formally bashed has a instant credibility problem.
<---Sign up Now for Bonus Storage! Up to 10gb!
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2009, 12:59 PM   #105
Gen_E92
Brigadier General
No_Country
51
Rep
3,390
Posts

 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.90]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1000 View Post
Coming up... just waiting to get back home tomorrow to do further testing.

I also have to play with the Procede settings a lot more than just running map7 on the JB3... I have to datalog to find out how much UT and IC can be pushed without pulling timing.

My piece of crap Windows Vista is not helping me as even uploading firmware is difficult. Data logging works 1/2 the time before it disconnects...
I think you need to set the power plan to high performance so it doesn't disconnect.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2009, 09:22 PM   #106
supracg
Banned
5
Rep
321
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: potomac

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1000 View Post
Coming up... just waiting to get back home tomorrow to do further testing.

I also have to play with the Procede settings a lot more than just running map7 on the JB3... I have to datalog to find out how much UT and IC can be pushed without pulling timing.

My piece of crap Windows Vista is not helping me as even uploading firmware is difficult. Data logging works 1/2 the time before it disconnects...

Looking forward to this..
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST