E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > PROcede Rev. II CANbus Mapswitching via steering wheel



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-12-2009, 03:45 PM   #1
AltecBX
0
Colonel
 
AltecBX's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 2,636
iTrader: (0)

Question PROcede Rev. II CANbus Mapswitching via steering wheel

Will the new Procede v4 bring Mapswitching via factory button on steering wheel? Can the CANbus integration make this possible? Can we use the diamond or star on the right hand side of steering wheel to be at a thumbs reach?
Attached Images
 
__________________
335xi Sedan 6AT | Weather(70-85°F) | N54 Tune Comparison Chart || N54 Turbo Upgrade Comparison Chart
-PROcede Rev. 2.5 ~ v5 (3/17 maps) / JB4 (8/21 maps) / COBB (Stg2+FMIC LT Aggressive maps)
†Procede Map2(UT 45 - IGN 40) Aggression Target 2.0 | 0-60 in 4.0sec || †Cobb E30 LT (35% Ethanol/65% 93 Octane) | 0-60 in 3.9sec
AR Design Catless DP | BMS DCI + OCC | ETS 5 FMIC | Alpina B3 Trans Flash |235/265 19" Michelin PSS
AltecBX is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
goesquik
0
New Member
 
goesquik's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 6AT
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

?

This has been discussed in previous threads. It's definitely possible, but not likely to happen. I'm sure Shiv is hard at work on more important features.
__________________
2007 e90 335i 6AT...

Disclaimer: Anything posted above has to do with hypothetical situations only.
goesquik is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 03:52 PM   #3
cn555ic
0
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
not happening...its a done deal with the DTC button..
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 03:53 PM   #4
TMR
0
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,871
iTrader: (11)

I actually like it at the DTC location with the double click effect.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 03:54 PM   #5
AltecBX
0
Colonel
 
AltecBX's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 2,636
iTrader: (0)

With simple programming it can be single or double click as well on the wheel; And it keeps your hand on steering wheel at all times; Passenger won't know nothing; Valet parking won't know your switching through maps when you arrive, Faster switching as you demand. It should be a setting that should be a option on the software.
Map Switching
- DTC Button
- Steering Wheel
__________________
335xi Sedan 6AT | Weather(70-85°F) | N54 Tune Comparison Chart || N54 Turbo Upgrade Comparison Chart
-PROcede Rev. 2.5 ~ v5 (3/17 maps) / JB4 (8/21 maps) / COBB (Stg2+FMIC LT Aggressive maps)
†Procede Map2(UT 45 - IGN 40) Aggression Target 2.0 | 0-60 in 4.0sec || †Cobb E30 LT (35% Ethanol/65% 93 Octane) | 0-60 in 3.9sec
AR Design Catless DP | BMS DCI + OCC | ETS 5 FMIC | Alpina B3 Trans Flash |235/265 19" Michelin PSS
AltecBX is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 04:01 PM   #6
RiXst3r
0
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,505
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by AltecBX View Post
With simple programming it can be single or double click as well on the wheel.
Not all cars have those buttons... mine doesn't. Also, it needs to be a signal on the PT-Can, as the PROcede is only on the powertrain canbus (engine and powertrain related modules)... the steering wheel is on the K-Can I beleive.

-Rick
RiXst3r is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 04:03 PM   #7
AltecBX
0
Colonel
 
AltecBX's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 2,636
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Not all cars have those buttons... mine doesn't.
Not every car uses the rev2 canbus integration. It should at least be an option to us users.
__________________
335xi Sedan 6AT | Weather(70-85°F) | N54 Tune Comparison Chart || N54 Turbo Upgrade Comparison Chart
-PROcede Rev. 2.5 ~ v5 (3/17 maps) / JB4 (8/21 maps) / COBB (Stg2+FMIC LT Aggressive maps)
†Procede Map2(UT 45 - IGN 40) Aggression Target 2.0 | 0-60 in 4.0sec || †Cobb E30 LT (35% Ethanol/65% 93 Octane) | 0-60 in 3.9sec
AR Design Catless DP | BMS DCI + OCC | ETS 5 FMIC | Alpina B3 Trans Flash |235/265 19" Michelin PSS
AltecBX is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 04:08 PM   #8
shochu75
0
Private First Class
 
shochu75's Avatar
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: honolulu

Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)

lol how lazy can you get? I'm not entirely sure on why you like map switching so much, but if you're stock then I would assume that it's because you have one stock map and the other stage 1. Plus if you're running 11-2 maps, then you wouldn't want to use map 2 anyway, seeing as it's for meth and 100 octane... So then the only reason you'd want it on the steering wheel is for quick valet map access - just in case those valet guys sprint up to your car right?
shochu75 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 04:11 PM   #9
AltecBX
0
Colonel
 
AltecBX's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 2,636
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shochu75 View Post
lol how lazy can you get? I'm not entirely sure on why you like map switching so much, but if you're stock then I would assume that it's because you have one stock map and the other stage 1. Plus if you're running 11-2 maps, then you wouldn't want to use map 2 anyway, seeing as it's for meth and 100 octane... So then the only reason you'd want it on the steering wheel is for quick valet map access - just in case those valet guys sprint up to your car right?
Not about being lazy. If it was lazy, why have it at a arms reach to the DTC button. It's about function; user options. I'm asking the question for the future version, Procede version 4, which will be a a major overhaul. We will have more than 2 maps available. Try 4 or 5 maps. The software is still in Alpha so is an option that can just be integrated at programming or be release in Beta.
on the valet guys
__________________
335xi Sedan 6AT | Weather(70-85°F) | N54 Tune Comparison Chart || N54 Turbo Upgrade Comparison Chart
-PROcede Rev. 2.5 ~ v5 (3/17 maps) / JB4 (8/21 maps) / COBB (Stg2+FMIC LT Aggressive maps)
†Procede Map2(UT 45 - IGN 40) Aggression Target 2.0 | 0-60 in 4.0sec || †Cobb E30 LT (35% Ethanol/65% 93 Octane) | 0-60 in 3.9sec
AR Design Catless DP | BMS DCI + OCC | ETS 5 FMIC | Alpina B3 Trans Flash |235/265 19" Michelin PSS
AltecBX is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 04:33 PM   #10
shochu75
0
Private First Class
 
shochu75's Avatar
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: honolulu

Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)

lol ya I thought the valet thing was clever, I'm just as excited as the next guy for the V4 maps and firmware, I check everyday waiting for the magic shiv thread w/links
shochu75 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 05:27 PM   #11
scottp999
0
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,666
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by AltecBX View Post
Not about being lazy. If it was lazy, why have it at a arms reach to the DTC button. It's about function; user options. I'm asking the question for the future version, Procede version 4, which will be a a major overhaul. We will have more than 2 maps available. Try 4 or 5 maps. The software is still in Alpha so is an option that can just be integrated at programming or be release in Beta.
on the valet guys
There are so many more important things Vishnu could be doing, like propery documenting everything they have done to date, or explaining to customers who paid for meth kits a month ago, what is the hold up on shipping, or getting the development done on V4, or getting their web site to be more helpful to customers, and the additional map availability that has been discussed for months.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is online now  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 05:31 PM   #12
cn555ic
0
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottp999 View Post
There are so many more important things Vishnu could be doing, like propery documenting everything they have done to date, or explaining to customers who paid for meth kits a month ago, what is the hold up on shipping, or getting the development done on V4, or getting their web site to be more helpful to customers, and the additional map availability that has been discussed for months.
+1...
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 05:43 PM   #13
AltecBX
0
Colonel
 
AltecBX's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 2,636
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottp999 View Post
There are so many more important things Vishnu could be doing, like propery documenting everything they have done to date, or explaining to customers who paid for meth kits a month ago, what is the hold up on shipping, or getting the development done on V4, or getting their web site to be more helpful to customers, and the additional map availability that has been discussed for months.
I agree with that 100%...
But I'm sure he has a programmer for the program side of it.
__________________
335xi Sedan 6AT | Weather(70-85°F) | N54 Tune Comparison Chart || N54 Turbo Upgrade Comparison Chart
-PROcede Rev. 2.5 ~ v5 (3/17 maps) / JB4 (8/21 maps) / COBB (Stg2+FMIC LT Aggressive maps)
†Procede Map2(UT 45 - IGN 40) Aggression Target 2.0 | 0-60 in 4.0sec || †Cobb E30 LT (35% Ethanol/65% 93 Octane) | 0-60 in 3.9sec
AR Design Catless DP | BMS DCI + OCC | ETS 5 FMIC | Alpina B3 Trans Flash |235/265 19" Michelin PSS
AltecBX is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 06:46 PM   #14
RiXst3r
0
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,505
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Its not about simple programming...

As I said above, the button to switch maps needs to be a signal on the PT-Can, The DTC button presses send signals to modules on the PT-Can... as the PROcede is only on the powertrain canbus (engine and powertrain related modules)... the steering wheel is on the K-Can I believe. The steering wheel button signals most likely DO NOT make it to the PT-can.

what you are asking for is not possible with just simple programming...

-Rick
RiXst3r is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 08:09 PM   #15
dmurray14
0
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,232
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottp999 View Post
There are so many more important things Vishnu could be doing, like propery documenting everything they have done to date, or explaining to customers who paid for meth kits a month ago, what is the hold up on shipping, or getting the development done on V4, or getting their web site to be more helpful to customers, and the additional map availability that has been discussed for months.
Do you guys have any idea how much coding, testing, and more coding is required to bring these features out? Do you know how much learning and creativity is required in adding all these new features? As someone who does programming myself, I'm amazed at the amount of features they're churning out.

Sometimes I feel like you can't win - he spends his time banging out new features and there are complaints that he's not doing documentation, or meth kits, or whatever else someone wants. He spends his time on that and everyone bitches about getting new features out faster.

I think everyone should be happy that they bought a tune that "keeps on giving." Every one of these updates gives you new features that you don't have to pay for. How many tunes are out there that are one-time things, with no ongoing updates or no features? It's pretty cool we get all these goodies, for free no less, and as often as we do.

That's just my opinion...
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 08:16 PM   #16
vase330
0
Colonel
 
vase330's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i ; 14 RangeRover SSC
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arlington, Va

Posts: 2,676
iTrader: (1)

My car has the buttons but I don't care, I actually think DTC was the best option for map-switch. Just saying.
__________________
E92 335 | Space Gray | Saddle Brown Dakota | Dark Burl Trim | ZPP | ZSP | AT | Idrive | 6FL | FBO | Dinan CAI | Quaife LSD | STG3 PROCede.
vase330 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2009, 08:25 PM   #17
scheherazade
0
Major
 
Drives: 09 GTR (& 93' accord!)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: DC metro area

Posts: 1,467
iTrader: (8)

Consider :
- having an LSD
- wanting to start in valet mode by default
- wanting to run map 1

So :

starts in valet
click
click
(wait for the dash to flash 2x)
map2
click
click
(wait for the dash to flash one long cel)
valet again
click
click
(wait for the dash to flash 1x)
map1
click & hold
traction nanny off

And the kicker
Traction has to be full-on if you want to hold and disable traction completely
You can't double-click too fast while you're going through the maps, or else you'll turn off the traction one-level.
(DTC ignores the second click if it's too fast, so it only registers the first - disabling traction one level)


So if you hurry, at the end you have to click 2x.
1) turn traction all-on again
2) click and hold to turn traction off completely

AND you have to do that last part nice and slooooooowww, or else procede will think of it as a double click, and you have to start everything ALL OVER AGAIN.

That's a crap load of clicking and waiting when you start the car...



NOT using the DTC button for procede would ROCK for people with an LSD.

And being able to arrow up and down maps instead of double clicking would rock too... (like the volume control buttons on wheel).

-scheherazade
scheherazade is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2009, 01:20 AM   #18
scottp999
0
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,666
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
Do you guys have any idea how much coding, testing, and more coding is required to bring these features out? Do you know how much learning and creativity is required in adding all these new features? As someone who does programming myself, I'm amazed at the amount of features they're churning out.

Sometimes I feel like you can't win - he spends his time banging out new features and there are complaints that he's not doing documentation, or meth kits, or whatever else someone wants. He spends his time on that and everyone bitches about getting new features out faster.

I think everyone should be happy that they bought a tune that "keeps on giving." Every one of these updates gives you new features that you don't have to pay for. How many tunes are out there that are one-time things, with no ongoing updates or no features? It's pretty cool we get all these goodies, for free no less, and as often as we do.

That's just my opinion...
Sending customers an update on orders they paid for weeks ago (a proactive, not a reactive email) does not take that long. Believe me, I know it's a good product. If there were any real competition I would have tried it a while ago.

I can appreciate the creative and technical sides of the house, but hire and administrative assistant or something.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is online now  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2009, 05:23 AM   #19
grnrg
0
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Athens

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scheherazade View Post
Consider :
- having an LSD
- wanting to start in valet mode by default
- wanting to run map 1

So :

starts in valet
click
click
(wait for the dash to flash 2x)
map2
click
click
(wait for the dash to flash one long cel)
valet again
click
click
(wait for the dash to flash 1x)
map1
click & hold
traction nanny off

And the kicker
Traction has to be full-on if you want to hold and disable traction completely
You can't double-click too fast while you're going through the maps, or else you'll turn off the traction one-level.
(DTC ignores the second click if it's too fast, so it only registers the first - disabling traction one level)


So if you hurry, at the end you have to click 2x.
1) turn traction all-on again
2) click and hold to turn traction off completely

AND you have to do that last part nice and slooooooowww, or else procede will think of it as a double click, and you have to start everything ALL OVER AGAIN.

That's a crap load of clicking and waiting when you start the car...

NOT using the DTC button for procede would ROCK for people with an LSD.

And being able to arrow up and down maps instead of double clicking would rock too... (like the volume control buttons on wheel).

-scheherazade
If you need valet mode (as I do) and want to avoid all these clicks (as I did) and you don't use map 2 (as I don't) just do what I (and most users) do:

Enter the user adjustable parameters in the ProCede software and set:
- "on" button map - 1 and
- "off" button map - 2 so,

as you start your engine you'll be in valet mode (as you need to) and when you need map 1, with your first two clicks you'll have the map 1 and not map 2... end of story!
grnrg is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2009, 05:59 AM   #20
cocoturkey
0
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 08' e92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Taipei

Posts: 441
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Not all cars have those buttons... mine doesn't. Also, it needs to be a signal on the PT-Can, as the PROcede is only on the powertrain canbus (engine and powertrain related modules)... the steering wheel is on the K-Can I beleive.

-Rick
Not every car has SES light as well.... I'm just hoping the map switch indicator light could change to another light that both US spec and European spec have on their dashboard.
cocoturkey is offline   Taiwan
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2009, 01:23 PM   #21
Gen_E92
0
Brigadier General
 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 3,387
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.90]
maybe the OP knows how to program it since he said it's simple
Gen_E92 is offline   Japan
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2009, 07:15 PM   #22
AltecBX
0
Colonel
 
AltecBX's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 2,636
iTrader: (0)

Don't know the logistical of the cars computer, but I can program the actual Procede software.
Only reason I mention this, was because Shiv stated that it will be coming in the future a couple of months ago. I'm I wrong?
__________________
335xi Sedan 6AT | Weather(70-85°F) | N54 Tune Comparison Chart || N54 Turbo Upgrade Comparison Chart
-PROcede Rev. 2.5 ~ v5 (3/17 maps) / JB4 (8/21 maps) / COBB (Stg2+FMIC LT Aggressive maps)
†Procede Map2(UT 45 - IGN 40) Aggression Target 2.0 | 0-60 in 4.0sec || †Cobb E30 LT (35% Ethanol/65% 93 Octane) | 0-60 in 3.9sec
AR Design Catless DP | BMS DCI + OCC | ETS 5 FMIC | Alpina B3 Trans Flash |235/265 19" Michelin PSS
AltecBX is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST