E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > About those underseat Subs



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-19-2007, 04:02 PM   #1
Supr7
New Member
 
Drives: 07 328i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

About those underseat Subs

I'd like to work with the basic (not Logic 7) underseat 6-inch subs, or mid-subs or whatever you want to call them, not only for cost reasons but to keep the system clean. I notice that with a well produced, bass-heavy source tune, they sound better and go deeper than I might have expected. I'm not into rap or massive bass thump but I like to hear the bass fill.

So my options would seem to be: 1) amp the existing subs a bit; 2) replace them with logic 7 subs, maybe amped; 3) see if the 5-series 8-inch underseaters (or so I'm told) might fit. Has anyone tried any of these options? Or something else? I don't know what the cost of a swap might be, but if it means buying parts from the dealer, I'd expect to get dinged pretty good- maybe more than a mainstream subwoofer + amp install. It would be nice to keep the upgrade under $500. If this stratgegy isn't an option, I'm thinking about a free air 10-incher mounted on the plastic panel between the back seat and the trunk. Those can sound really good if done right.
Supr7 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2007, 10:11 PM   #2
s4iscool
Major
 
Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Neccos

Posts: 1,128
iTrader: (2)

stick an infinity basslink in the trunk
they work great, are cheap, and easy to install
s4iscool is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2007, 09:25 PM   #3
cychan
Hong Kong
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

I totally agree with you. I change all my speakers to Morel but leave the 2 sub stock. I power the 4 Morel with 2 Helix A2 amp and the 2 stock sub with a Apline 160w amp. With this setup, the audio system in my 330i just become so good now.
__________________
: E90 330i, Porsche 997s
cychan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2007, 09:28 PM   #4
cychan
Hong Kong
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Further more on my setup. I power the Morel high with one A2 bridge mono, The mid with One A2 bridge mono and the Sub with the Apline mono with no cross-over. Balance it yourself with gain and you get the best sound
__________________
: E90 330i, Porsche 997s
cychan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2007, 09:36 PM   #5
cychan
Hong Kong
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

One thing. The factory HU have no sub output but the factory amp have sub filiter. I have try 2 setup with the sub setup and its what I have find out

From the HU, I use a Audio Control LC6 to link high power out from HU to RCA my Helix and Apline amp. On doing this. I found that if you just bridge the sub from your HU source. It will give you Mid- low all the time and its no good for what I want to do. I use the Apline for the sub is the Apline has low pass filiter and it will filiter anything above 25 H. However, if you don't have an amp with low pass filiter. Use the factory Amp and get the sub output from the factory amp not the HU. then pass it to the Audio Control LC6 and it will do the work. The factory amp do have low pass filiter.
__________________
: E90 330i, Porsche 997s
cychan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2007, 03:58 AM   #6
marcm
Second Lieutenant
 
marcm's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325d
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK

Posts: 286
iTrader: (1)

I'm looking to do the same with an Infinity Basslink. It fits perfectly in the well under the boot floor in my E61. The problem is here in the UK I dont have the HiFi setup, just standard sound with Navigation Professional.

I have been looking all over the car for an amp to hook up to, the same way I did in my E46 touring (that was dead easy as the amp was under the floor in the boot), but I cant find an amp.

I guess I'm going to have to tap off the back of the headunit.

Does anyone know the pinout of the back of the headunit or is there another place the amp could be located ?

Thanks
MarcM
marcm is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2007, 04:18 AM   #7
RaptorKTM
Colonel
 
RaptorKTM's Avatar
 
Drives: 1 M Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego

Posts: 2,366
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1 M  [0.00]
the amp is in the trunk of the car on the left side under a panel
RaptorKTM is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2007, 04:47 AM   #8
marcm
Second Lieutenant
 
marcm's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325d
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK

Posts: 286
iTrader: (1)

Not in the UK its not, I've had all the panels out in the back of the car.

From what I understand the stock UK system the amplification is done in the head unit
The HiFi system which is stock in the US there is an amp in the rear of the car.
The ProLogic also has an amp in the rear of the car.

Next dilema now is how to remove the head unit to access the wires at the back.

Does anyone know how ?
marcm is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2007, 06:47 AM   #9
boggysv
Private First Class
 
Drives: A4, but riding the bus for now
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, KL

Posts: 188
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cychan View Post
Further more on my setup. I power the Morel high with one A2 bridge mono, The mid with One A2 bridge mono and the Sub with the Apline mono with no cross-over. Balance it yourself with gain and you get the best sound
You power your highs with a A2?
wow....I used to have a A4 for all front components (spx177r), and a A2 amp (bridged mono) for the sub.

I dont understand, how do you power your speakers bridged mono? does it mean you dont get left/right?
boggysv is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2007, 11:04 AM   #10
cychan
Hong Kong
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Hi Boggysv,
My mistake, I don't bridged mono with the 2 A2. Just cut the cross over from the Mid and high and use one A2 to power the mid and one to high. Only bridged mono on the Apline for the sub.
__________________
: E90 330i, Porsche 997s
cychan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2007, 11:11 AM   #11
cychan
Hong Kong
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Concerning take the HU out. You need to use a small screw drivers to get into the Air-cond unit and found the little lock that hold the air-cond unit in place. Do it very careful and if this is the first time you are doing it. You might need to apply some force to unlock it. Once you get the lock open. Take the air-cond unit out and there are two screw to unlock the HU.
__________________
: E90 330i, Porsche 997s
cychan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2007, 11:14 AM   #12
cychan
Hong Kong
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

However, I don't need to take out the HU for the setup of my audio mod. Find the factory Amp and and jump the speakers wire from there. The only time I take the Unit out is because I need to install the Parrot Blue Tools with the mute wire to the HU.
__________________
: E90 330i, Porsche 997s
cychan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2007, 03:06 PM   #13
marcm
Second Lieutenant
 
marcm's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325d
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK

Posts: 286
iTrader: (1)

Great, managed to get the head unit out and as you say I was careful as I didnt want to snap any plastics.

I have routed some line level signals to the back of the car where I am going to put the sub. Just need to get the power to the basslink now.

Ive seen in another post that it is possible to tap power from the block that is on top of the battery. I would love to know what the part number is for one of the crimps that goes inside the plug.

I will post how I did it when its all working.

Thanks for the help.
marcm is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2007, 11:23 PM   #14
cychan
Hong Kong
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcm View Post
Great, managed to get the head unit out and as you say I was careful as I didnt want to snap any plastics.

I have routed some line level signals to the back of the car where I am going to put the sub. Just need to get the power to the basslink now.

Ive seen in another post that it is possible to tap power from the block that is on top of the battery. I would love to know what the part number is for one of the crimps that goes inside the plug.

I will post how I did it when its all working.

Thanks for the help.
Do tell us the outcome. I am very interested on your setup. Might copy what you have done.
__________________
: E90 330i, Porsche 997s
cychan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST