E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Hardwired radar detector/concealed display.. post if you have one!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-12-2010, 11:36 PM   #1
TurboSpecC
Bavarian Wolverine
United_States
18
Rep
500
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 428 Gran Coupe
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

iTrader: (4)

Hardwired radar detector/concealed display.. post if you have one!

I've read all the previous threads/posts on concealed displays but was hoping to start a new thread where anyone who has a V1 or Passport hardwired could post their setup for their E90/E92. Unfortunately there is no good spot for a concealed display (it fits nicely in the ashtray area, however I don't want to be looking down when I hear it beeping).

So post your hardwired and/or concealed display up!
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2010, 11:54 PM   #2
Spoolin335
Justin Herass
Spoolin335's Avatar
Canada
58
Rep
1,155
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [4.50]
old photo, but it shows my V1 hardwire..

__________________

Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 12:59 AM   #3
bsamoul
Major General
bsamoul's Avatar
No_Country
78
Rep
7,425
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Walnut Creek, California

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to bsamoul
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoolin335 View Post
old photo, but it shows my V1 hardwire..

LOL is your car in limp mode in that pic??
__________________
-Brian
2X 2006 BMW 325i [Electric Red & Mystic Blue] | ZPP | V1 | Rear Fogs | M3 Lip Spoiler | EAS RemoteKey | BMS Powerbox | Projector90 Headlights w/ LED AE | LED plate lights | OEM Blacklines
http://www.tech-shine.com
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 01:10 AM   #4
aitsu
Mmmmm.. torque....
aitsu's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
315
Posts

 
Drives: LeMans Blue E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas Area, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoolin335 View Post
old photo, but it shows my V1 hardwire..
How exactly is that attached?
__________________
2011 Le Mans Blue E92 M3
2010 Le Mans Blue E92 335i
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 01:17 AM   #5
JayKay335i
Banned
Egypt
77
Rep
5,047
Posts

 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

iTrader: (1)

I have mine on my visor. Its just about in my line of sight. I dont see the point of a concealed display in our application.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 01:17 AM   #6
Craig@SupremePower
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Craig@SupremePower's Avatar
United_States
841
Rep
75,000
Posts


 
Drives: '12 Dodge Durango R/T
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (14)

no pics handy but hardwired and mounted up top off center by drivers side visor...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 01:26 AM   #7
TurboSpecC
Bavarian Wolverine
United_States
18
Rep
500
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 428 Gran Coupe
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig@SupremePower View Post
no pics handy but hardwired and mounted up top off center by drivers side visor...
Is it an awkward reach when you need to mute it and there is a passenger sitting next to you (ie your elbow hitting them in the face?)?
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 01:29 AM   #8
Craig@SupremePower
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Craig@SupremePower's Avatar
United_States
841
Rep
75,000
Posts


 
Drives: '12 Dodge Durango R/T
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (14)

i've never heard a problem in that respect...
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboSpecC View Post
Is it an awkward reach when you need to mute it and there is a passenger sitting next to you (ie your elbow hitting them in the face?)?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 01:31 AM   #9
TurboSpecC
Bavarian Wolverine
United_States
18
Rep
500
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 428 Gran Coupe
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig@SupremePower View Post
i've never heard a problem in that respect...
of all the setups ive seen something like this seems like it makes the most sense. do you have a visor clip or is it just suctioned at the top of the windshield?
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 01:33 AM   #10
X1 Trojan
Go Dodgers?
X1 Trojan's Avatar
36
Rep
1,561
Posts

 
Drives: '13 BSM X1 xdrive35i Msport
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (13)

mine is hardwired to the left of the mirror, attached by suction cups still.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 02:23 AM   #11
JayKay335i
Banned
Egypt
77
Rep
5,047
Posts

 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

iTrader: (1)

Visor clip. I actually have the suction cup piece tucked in between the visor and the headliner so the visor sits at 90 degrees and faces straight forwards/back. Front tints = no suction cups
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 08:45 AM   #12
ianthegreat
Colonel
ianthegreat's Avatar
30
Rep
2,314
Posts

 
Drives: n54
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh/Houston

iTrader: (1)

limp mode must be caused by at least 1 of your 300 gauges.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 09:47 AM   #13
David9962000
Lieutenant
David9962000's Avatar
France
8
Rep
548
Posts

 
Drives: Bayerische Motoren Werke
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Here's mine clipped on the sun-visor, it's pointing down a bit but the V1 has a wide angle.

Last edited by David9962000; 03-18-2010 at 12:08 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 09:22 PM   #14
Spoolin335
Justin Herass
Spoolin335's Avatar
Canada
58
Rep
1,155
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsamoul View Post
LOL is your car in limp mode in that pic??
yah i blew my charge pipe off and i was just about to fix it that day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aitsu View Post
How exactly is that attached?
suction cup mount directly below the rear view mirror.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianthegreat View Post
limp mode must be caused by at least 1 of your 300 gauges.
gauges are gone, this is an old pic.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      01-14-2010, 11:15 AM   #15
claykin
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
25
Rep
1,910
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by David9962000 View Post
Here's mine clipped on the sun-visor, it's pointing down a bit but the V1 has a wide angle.
wide angle doesn't really apply to laser detection. And, your radar detection is definitely diminished somewhat when the antennas are not properly forward facing. Try to place something under the visor so the V1 will sit straight and forward. heck, you bought top notch, so give it its best chance to save your butt.

Also, resize that pic, its HUGE.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2010, 11:02 AM   #16
ukchris
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

 
Drives: Various
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mass

iTrader: (0)

I think the location of the V1 is the key factor, if you have it in easy reach and where it is easy to see then you're all set, if you have it mounted elsewhere for convenience or stealth then the conceale display becomes more critical.

In terms of where to put it there are lots of options, it is quite easy to slim down the display so it is less than half an inch deep, this can open up more creative mounting options. In a cubby or the ashtray is also popular and pretty straightforward.

Beyond that things get more sophisticate, I have seen the display embedded in the gauge cluster (literally in it, mounted fromm behind), mounted in to part of the console (although very model/spec dependent) or embedded within the rear view mirror.

It all depends on your particular car, no solution suits everyone, do you have a flat trim area it could be embedded in? Would you be willing to pull the cluster out and start cutting? Would putting it in the rear view mirror suit you?

The first question is always where you have yoru V1 an dwhere you plan to have it if you use the concealed display to control it.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2010, 12:26 AM   #17
Quisp
Does not play well with others
United_States
32
Rep
1,789
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (4)

I hardwired mine and mounted just under the rearwiew. Passport has a hard wire kit with a small box about .75"x1"x1" on the wire that has the power onlight and a mute button and that can be mounted someplace convenient so you dont have to reach up to mute.
Sorry dont have any pics.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
concealed, display, hardwire, radar, valentine v1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST