E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > BMW MOST Ipod Adapter (redux)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-31-2009, 06:52 PM   #67
tahoerdr
Private First Class
tahoerdr's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: E92 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (3)

Is there anyone on this forum that has upgraded from the factory 6fl ipod adapter to the MOST interface?

I'm reading that the sound quality is improved but I'm worried about much slower performance in scrolling down artists/songs. I don't use playlists very much. My current setup sounds pretty good already (mp3 320kbps) but I realize the aux port is lower quality than direct ipod connection and I want the best.

Feb, 2008 335xi
factory installed 6fl ipod interface
idrive
Logic 7
160gb ipod w/50gb music
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2010, 02:28 AM   #68
kurizma
Private First Class
5
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: alpine white 335i coupe 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: santa clara

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 DD Honda CRZ  [0.00]
2007 e92 335i  [4.25]
Will the ipod adapter work if i have satellite radio installed?


thanks

Last edited by kurizma; 01-04-2010 at 03:54 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2010, 02:30 AM   #69
kurizma
Private First Class
5
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: alpine white 335i coupe 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: santa clara

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 DD Honda CRZ  [0.00]
2007 e92 335i  [4.25]
Quote:
Originally Posted by WangTa View Post
Huh. I thought you made a typo! That is odd - I don't understand why it wouldn't?
the iphones and ipod touches charge differently from regular ipods. most factory ipod adpaters will only read music from the iphones and itouches.

you can get an adapter like the scosche passport to convert the pins to charge the iphone. i'm not sure if it will work with the BMW interface but it did work in my girl's benz.

-j
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2010, 09:59 AM   #70
juice13
Private
1
Rep
89
Posts

Drives: '07 335 E90
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankoQ View Post
It’s time to put all this back together…

Attachment 202066

Take a break before you start.

Actually, I'm gonna leave it like this and take it to the dealer this way.
In case something goes bad in programming, they can easily check the
hardware install.

31) Now take the car back to the dealer for coding and programming and hope that all goes well.
Thanks for putting this picture up. It convinced me to have the dealer install my MOST iPod interface. And they only charged me an hour! Best $120 I ever spent.

They did not have to program the car, but only "make the radio look for a CD changer". I have recently had the HPP replaced and the entire car software updated, so that may have had something to do with it.

And double thanks to Tischer for sending the correct part for my VIN. Excellent customer service AND cheaper than any other dealership.

Thanks again!
__________________

-Jonathan
'07 335i E90 blue/brown/stock/stick/sport/stuff
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2010, 07:32 PM   #71
CT
GODXSPD
CT's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: SSII E90M
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (1)

Hey guys, I just installed this on my 12/06 build E92 (no nav) and I'm not able to get the radio to turn on at all. I've triple-checked all the connections using both this DIY and the official installation TSB...they're all done properly.

What could I be missing?
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2010, 05:43 PM   #72
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
152
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT View Post
Hey guys, I just installed this on my 12/06 build E92 (no nav) and I'm not able to get the radio to turn on at all. I've triple-checked all the connections using both this DIY and the official installation TSB...they're all done properly.

What could I be missing?
blown fuse?
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      01-24-2010, 07:14 PM   #73
i2iSTUDIOS
Captain
i2iSTUDIOS's Avatar
36
Rep
870
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH

iTrader: (1)

OMG, thats a ton of work, nice writeup, i was considering doing this but i'll pass.
__________________
2007 E92 335i / 6MT / Monaco Blue Metallic / Gray Dakota Leather / Comfort Assist / Premium / Sport / Heated Seats / Navi / Active Steering / Active Cruise Control / Park Distance Control / Rear Sunshade / Sirius MODS PicoTray / M3 Steering Wheel / Front OEM Aero Lip / Bimmian Aluminum Pedals / CDV / Ram Air Scoops / Painted Reflectors / HID 5000k / LED Angels / M Perf. Shifter / Euro Light Switch / 8500 x50 / Center Armrest Pouch / JB4 / BT
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2010, 08:11 PM   #74
CT
GODXSPD
CT's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: SSII E90M
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankoQ View Post
blown fuse?
Checked that as well and couldn't find anything suspicious.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2010, 10:41 PM   #75
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
152
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT View Post
Checked that as well and couldn't find anything suspicious.
MMM...
Is it only the radio not working or you have something else not working?
check wires again. check all connections to the main unit.
Make sure the are connected properly to the main unit.

is the main unit getting power? or is it just dead?

Hope you did not put all the trim back together.

Worse case, you might have to take the car to the dealer for diagnostics.

My guess is a bad connection or an incorrect wire connection somewhere.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      01-24-2010, 11:05 PM   #76
CT
GODXSPD
CT's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: SSII E90M
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankoQ View Post
MMM...
Is it only the radio not working or you have something else not working?
check wires again. check all connections to the main unit.
Make sure the are connected properly to the main unit.

is the main unit getting power? or is it just dead?

Hope you did not put all the trim back together.

Worse case, you might have to take the car to the dealer for diagnostics.

My guess is a bad connection or an incorrect wire connection somewhere.
Only the radio is affected. I've checked, double-checked and triple-checked the connections. Only thing left to do is return it to 'stock' to see if I've triggered the radio theft security.
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2010, 04:45 PM   #77
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
152
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT View Post
Only the radio is affected. I've checked, double-checked and triple-checked the connections. Only thing left to do is return it to 'stock' to see if I've triggered the radio theft security.
Good luck. Let me know the outcome.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      01-27-2010, 10:31 PM   #78
CT
GODXSPD
CT's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: SSII E90M
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (1)

Conclusion: I blew a $280 fuse (aka, I'm an idiot and got charged for two hours of labor on top of the reflash fee).
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2010, 10:01 AM   #79
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
152
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT View Post
Conclusion: I blew a $280 fuse (aka, I'm an idiot and got charged for two hours of labor on top of the reflash fee).
Sorry to hear.
Could you elaborate on what the problem was?
Serves as a lesson learned for others doing this mod.

Which fuse?
Did you disconnect the battery when doing this mod?

Thanks!
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      01-28-2010, 05:48 PM   #80
CT
GODXSPD
CT's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: SSII E90M
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankoQ View Post
Sorry to hear.
Could you elaborate on what the problem was?
Serves as a lesson learned for others doing this mod.

Which fuse?
Did you disconnect the battery when doing this mod?

Thanks!
I didn't inquire as to which fuse it was nor was I able to tell if anything other than simply the radio unit was affected. I'd imagine there's a dedicated fuse for in-car entertainment (now that I think of it, I don't recall if the door chime / warning chime functioned during the down-time...).

I did disconnect the battery. Chances are my wiring wasn't as proper as it needed to be the first time I powered it back up to test.

Other than that, this was particularly easy. The primary difficulty was clearances with the harness / adapter for the radio while re-wiring things.
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2010, 11:00 AM   #81
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
152
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT View Post
I didn't inquire as to which fuse it was nor was I able to tell if anything other than simply the radio unit was affected. I'd imagine there's a dedicated fuse for in-car entertainment (now that I think of it, I don't recall if the door chime / warning chime functioned during the down-time...).

I did disconnect the battery. Chances are my wiring wasn't as proper as it needed to be the first time I powered it back up to test.

Other than that, this was particularly easy. The primary difficulty was clearances with the harness / adapter for the radio while re-wiring things.
Thanks for your comments.
I'd say this mod could be tricky. there is a lot to do in terms of removing stuff and doing wiring. But like you said, it's not hard.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      02-03-2010, 01:31 PM   #82
juice13
Private
1
Rep
89
Posts

Drives: '07 335 E90
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurizma View Post
the iphones and ipod touches charge differently from regular ipods. most factory ipod adpaters will only read music from the iphones and itouches.

you can get an adapter like the scosche passport to convert the pins to charge the iphone. i'm not sure if it will work with the BMW interface but it did work in my girl's benz.

-j
To add a confusing data point, the recently dealer installed MOST IPOD interface on my '07 335 DOES IN FACT charge the iPhone 3G.

It also plays music and sends/receives calls while hooked up. It did give the "device not designed, blah blah, do you want to put it in airplane mode?" I answered No.
__________________

-Jonathan
'07 335i E90 blue/brown/stock/stick/sport/stuff
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2010, 07:57 PM   #83
ktmsmr12
Private
ktmsmr12's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i E93
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to ktmsmr12
This is my first post. First, I would like to thank EvanL and FrankoQ. The screen shots and DIY write up(s) for this were fantastic.

I bought my CPO 2007 335i a week ago. I could not stand having my iPod plugged into the aux port. It took me a little over 3 hours to complete from start to finish. I bought the MOST adapter new from a guy that works at Columbia, SC BMW.

I thought I would write a quick note and make mention of a much easier way to get the HVAC control panel off. Once the glove box is completely removed, I was able to weave my hand in behind the HVAC controls and push them out with my fingers. It popped right out with hardly any pressure and no PITA from trying to pry it from the front side. Hope this helps some of the guys that are going to do this mod in the future. Next up... Alpine PDX amp and type-R 10" subs.
__________________
"Stock"
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2010, 04:35 PM   #84
nogard13
Second Lieutenant
nogard13's Avatar
9
Rep
220
Posts

Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Durham

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankoQ View Post
BTW, I did buy the extension cable (female on one end and male on the other) for the ipod. So, I was able to move the ipod from the glove box to the center console.
Frank,

You mentioned having the extension cable and moving your ipod to the center console. Do you have any pics of how the cable penetrates the console? Did you have to drill a wide hole?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2010, 06:33 PM   #85
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
152
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogard13 View Post
Frank,

You mentioned having the extension cable and moving your ipod to the center console. Do you have any pics of how the cable penetrates the console? Did you have to drill a wide hole?

Thanks!
I'll post pics.
If you remove the rubber mat inside the console, you will see openings where you can run the cable without making holes.
I did make a hole in the rubber mat. But I'll post a pic so you can see.
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      03-05-2010, 10:06 AM   #86
ktmsmr12
Private
ktmsmr12's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i E93
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to ktmsmr12
Wanted to give an update on my iPod MOST interface kit install. As noted in my earlier post, I installed the kit myself last weekend and had my dealer program/code the software/firmware update yesterday. My SA said it took the BMW tech 3 hours to complete. I paid $149.95 for the programming/coding update. The MOST interface works perfect and sounds very clear.

I got my new audio equipment via UPS in yesterday as well. For the sake of trunk space and weight, I went with a JL Audio 500/1v2 amplifier and a JL Audio CS112RG-W3 12" single sub enclosure. I will be installing this tonight. I hope this amp/sub meets my expectations.
__________________
"Stock"
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2010, 07:47 AM   #87
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
152
Rep
11,311
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogard13 View Post
Frank,

You mentioned having the extension cable and moving your ipod to the center console. Do you have any pics of how the cable penetrates the console? Did you have to drill a wide hole?

Thanks!
Here are the pics of the final set up.
I have 3 cables going into the console:
1- MOST interface. connected to the white ipod for music
2- headrest screen cable. connected to black ipod (not shown) for movies
3- audio cable. connected to the AUX for the audio for the headrest screens.

As you see here, there is no need to cut or make holes.
Just pass the wires thru the slots
Name:  DSC09536 (Medium).JPG
Views: 984
Size:  37.3 KB

this is what it looks like.
Name:  DSC04677 (Medium).JPG
Views: 974
Size:  48.7 KB

I did make a hole in the rubber mat and I used a rubber grommet from Home Depot to make it look clean.
Name:  DSC04678 (Medium).JPG
Views: 1007
Size:  62.7 KB

Rear screens.
Name:  DSC04683 (Medium).JPG
Views: 970
Size:  47.9 KB
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      04-25-2010, 07:15 AM   #88
contractor
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: e63 m6, e93 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: london

iTrader: (0)

Many thanks for this one. It really helped me out. The hardest part was getting the wires out of the big CCC plug. As has already been said, after removing the blue clip put a flat blade/terminal driver into the plug end and then push/pull on the cable to remove.

For those with an auto box, put the car in D before disconnecting the battery otherwise you'll not be able to get the CCC out. I found this out the hard way.

///C
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST