E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Next GEN I-DRIVE Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-04-2010, 08:08 AM   #837
lesliew
Private
 
Drives: E92 328i Sports+Premium
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
I did state all that information already, including the link to the person that do the FSC loading.
So basically its still a secret !
__________________
2007 328i Coupe Auto | Monaco Blue | Cream Dakota | Premium | Sports | CIC retrofit | 6FL Retrofit | Logic 7 Retrofit
lesliew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 09:13 AM   #838
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,938
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesliew View Post
So basically its still a secret !
If it was a secret I should not have a working swap, isn't it?

Spoon feeding is not my thing, dude. I post what I know as a guide to those interested to do similar retrofits/mods, and plenty of members -not only me- have posted more than enough of information and findings to accomplish this when 6 months ago there were no information or findings at all. And anybody that has done retrofits, any retrofits, know that it takes a lot of research and walking the talk, and that cost time and money; free never is. Links and photos go only so far.

It seems to me that you do not want to do any research or reading at all, just point and click...
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 09:17 AM   #839
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
If it was a secret I should not have a working swap, isn't it?

Spoon feeding is not my thing, dude. I post what I know as a guide to those interested to do similar retrofits/mods, and plenty of members -not only me- have posted more than enough of information and findings to accomplish this when 6 months ago there were no information or findings at all. And anybody that has done retrofits, any retrofits, know that it takes a lot of research and walking the talk, and that cost time and money; free never is. Links and photos go only so far.

It seems to me that you do not want to do any research or reading at all, just point and click...
Normally I'm all for helping anyone out, but seriously lesliew - go a few pages back and all the info is posted. The fact that you didn't even try that means there is no reason for Technic to rewrite all the info he already gave out.

Asking for help is one thing, but come on...
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 10:45 AM   #840
lesliew
Private
 
Drives: E92 328i Sports+Premium
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Guys, guys

I'm not trying to upset the applecart I thought my original question was very straightforward.

I've read through the entire thread multiple times since the beginning of the year and back over sections when I have been researching things that I need to do. Quite often as in this case people tried lots of different things, and suggested different tools more often that not they didn't lead to a solution.

I searched this thread for an answer to my question and didn't find the answer to 'what worked' so I asked. The question was which tool/cable was used to load the FSC. No different to the question I saw many people ask of fluffyb when he was involved in the conversation, yet that didn't result in a go find it yourself response, just because you dared to ask.

I'm far from trying to be a leech I've been on the forum for only a short time but I believe I have contributed fairly across several threads when I have been able to make an input.

I've completed a few retrofits so know how to research and know that asking and helping others is part and parcel of spreading the knowledge.

If the link in post 729 is the only known method that is currently available then fine, I just needed clarification, I have already contacted that forum member and we have already exchanged a few emails.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
If it was a secret I should not have a working swap, isn't it?

Spoon feeding is not my thing, dude. I post what I know as a guide to those interested to do similar retrofits/mods, and plenty of members -not only me- have posted more than enough of information and findings to accomplish this when 6 months ago there were no information or findings at all. And anybody that has done retrofits, any retrofits, know that it takes a lot of research and walking the talk, and that cost time and money; free never is. Links and photos go only so far.

It seems to me that you do not want to do any research or reading at all, just point and click...
__________________
2007 328i Coupe Auto | Monaco Blue | Cream Dakota | Premium | Sports | CIC retrofit | 6FL Retrofit | Logic 7 Retrofit

Last edited by lesliew; 06-04-2010 at 10:58 AM.
lesliew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 11:43 AM   #841
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 417
iTrader: (0)

Technic,

After you did your CIC and coding, do you still have the steering wheel diamond button settings in the Idrive to select its desired function, say next source or mute etc..?
If so how do you access that menu?
I'm still using the old controller.
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 11:54 AM   #842
MEN@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
MEN@BimmerTech's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW F10 550iX
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Country Belarus, City Minsk

Posts: 42
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to MEN@BimmerTech Send a message via Skype™ to MEN@BimmerTech
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Item #23: 51169155970
Item #24: 51169155987

+1 !!!!!

For E60

p/n
9155970
9155987





Last edited by MEN@BimmerTech; 06-04-2010 at 12:28 PM.
MEN@BimmerTech is offline   Belarus
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 12:42 PM   #843
nelson29
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2005 E60
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 290
iTrader: (5)

@ MEN, did you do the E60 retrofit? Got any pics of your install?

I just came from my local dealer and they were not able to find the USA p/n. Gotta order from Europe.
nelson29 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 01:20 PM   #844
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesliew View Post
Guys, guys

I'm not trying to upset the applecart I thought my original question was very straightforward.

I've read through the entire thread multiple times since the beginning of the year and back over sections when I have been researching things that I need to do. Quite often as in this case people tried lots of different things, and suggested different tools more often that not they didn't lead to a solution.

I searched this thread for an answer to my question and didn't find the answer to 'what worked' so I asked. The question was which tool/cable was used to load the FSC. No different to the question I saw many people ask of fluffyb when he was involved in the conversation, yet that didn't result in a go find it yourself response, just because you dared to ask.

I'm far from trying to be a leech I've been on the forum for only a short time but I believe I have contributed fairly across several threads when I have been able to make an input.

I've completed a few retrofits so know how to research and know that asking and helping others is part and parcel of spreading the knowledge.

If the link in post 729 is the only known method that is currently available then fine, I just needed clarification, I have already contacted that forum member and we have already exchanged a few emails.


OK - now you're asking direct questions which is a lot better. You will need a DCAN cable which you can get off ebay. Search "BMW DCAN" and you should be able to find what you need.

Patrys, on this board, offers the remote retrofit.

Beyond that, all the info is in this thread....good luck!
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 03:15 PM   #845
lesliew
Private
 
Drives: E92 328i Sports+Premium
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

The video and USB cable for my CIC arrived a couple of hours ago so I plugged everything together and just took some picks of the menus. Nothing particularly special apart from the fact that all functions are enabled.

From what I have seen so far, this CIC was coded perfectly for my car. 6FL is working, Logic 7 works, Navigation & Voice control are currently working, I did a quick recording of the voice control with my iphone. I didn't even have to pair the iphone, all of my contacts were immediately available. Photo's are taken outside with an iphone so the contrast isn't too good.

Haven't tried any interactive/online stuff yet, have time for that later.

Yes I HAVE READ that quite often the navigation greys out after a few attempts but at the moment everything is working.

__________________
2007 328i Coupe Auto | Monaco Blue | Cream Dakota | Premium | Sports | CIC retrofit | 6FL Retrofit | Logic 7 Retrofit
lesliew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 03:22 PM   #846
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesliew View Post
The video and USB cable for my CIC arrived a couple of hours ago so I plugged everything together and just took some picks of the menus. Nothing particularly special apart from the fact that all functions are enabled.

From what I have seen so far, this CIC was coded perfectly for my car. 6FL is working, Logic 7 works, Navigation & Voice control are currently working, I did a quick recording of the voice control with my iphone. I didn't even have to pair the iphone, all of my contacts were immediately available. Photo's are taken outside with an iphone so the contrast isn't too good.

Haven't tried any interactive/online stuff yet, have time for that later.

Yes I HAVE READ that quite often the navigation greys out after a few attempts but at the moment everything is working.



Nice!
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 03:45 PM   #847
lesliew
Private
 
Drives: E92 328i Sports+Premium
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Has anyone tried a CIC->Sirius antenna retrofit yet. I have only read of instances were people have had a dealer hookup. Does anyone know what the Sirius antenna actually connects up to.

Obviously there are no available ports on the back of the CIC and 2010 cars fitted with sirius at the factory have no pre-install cabling running to the trunk. so I kind of think the hookup will be via the diversity antenna but don't have access to a newer WDS that shows it.
__________________
2007 328i Coupe Auto | Monaco Blue | Cream Dakota | Premium | Sports | CIC retrofit | 6FL Retrofit | Logic 7 Retrofit

Last edited by lesliew; 06-09-2010 at 04:16 AM.
lesliew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 07:30 PM   #848
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,938
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Technic,

After you did your CIC and coding, do you still have the steering wheel diamond button settings in the Idrive to select its desired function, say next source or mute etc..?
If so how do you access that menu?
I'm still using the old controller.
It looks like the CIC eliminated the programmable button as I cannot find it as well in the menu. It retained the last program of my CCC (Source), though.

I'm looking into it.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 08:06 PM   #849
lesliew
Private
 
Drives: E92 328i Sports+Premium
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
OK - now you're asking direct questions which is a lot better. You will need a DCAN cable which you can get off ebay. Search "BMW DCAN" and you should be able to find what you need.

Patrys, on this board, offers the remote retrofit.

Beyond that, all the info is in this thread....good luck!
Thanks

Some might say it was posted as a roundabout question but since I hadn't seen a direct answer to how the FSC was loaded I still think it was posed appropriately.

I have a passthru +xs cable so when I saw the bit about programming the CIC over the internet my initial thought was that it was done online by linking directly to bmw via www.bmwtechinfo.com and hence my need for clarification.
__________________
2007 328i Coupe Auto | Monaco Blue | Cream Dakota | Premium | Sports | CIC retrofit | 6FL Retrofit | Logic 7 Retrofit

Last edited by lesliew; 06-04-2010 at 08:16 PM.
lesliew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2010, 11:17 PM   #850
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesliew View Post
Thanks

Some might say it was posted as a roundabout question but since I hadn't seen a direct answer to how the FSC was loaded I still think it was posed appropriately.

I have a passthru +xs cable so when I saw the bit about programming the CIC over the internet my initial thought was that it was done online by linking directly to bmw via www.bmwtechinfo.com and hence my need for clarification.
Sounds good. I'm really surprised that the navi is working - I assume you bought this CIC used? From where?

Good looks!
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2010, 12:09 AM   #851
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 417
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
It looks like the CIC eliminated the programmable button as I cannot find it as well in the menu. It retained the last program of my CCC (Source), though.

I'm looking into it.
Thanks,

It looks like with the new CIC this function wasnt available but worked with the old CCC after speaking to the Oracle
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2010, 12:10 AM   #852
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 417
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
How do you navigate dvd menu's to select a play icon on the dvd menu and press play,
I've tried my old Idrive controller with a new CIC Idrive and i cannot navigate the dvd menu at all
Now sorted after the CIC and NAV coding was complete
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2010, 01:20 AM   #853
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

Posts: 1,568
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Now sorted after the CIC and NAV coding was complete
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.


Patrys@BimmerTech is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2010, 02:12 AM   #854
lesliew
Private
 
Drives: E92 328i Sports+Premium
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
Sounds good. I'm really surprised that the navi is working - I assume you bought this CIC used? From where?

Good looks!
I do expect it to stop working but so far so good.

Yes I got it used, out of a 09/09 E92 335i, got the controller CID and CIC out of the same car from ebay.
__________________
2007 328i Coupe Auto | Monaco Blue | Cream Dakota | Premium | Sports | CIC retrofit | 6FL Retrofit | Logic 7 Retrofit

Last edited by lesliew; 06-05-2010 at 08:39 AM.
lesliew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2010, 02:27 AM   #855
lesliew
Private
 
Drives: E92 328i Sports+Premium
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

This maybe of interest

This circuit board is a similar concept to that described by nik49 back in post 740. It interrupts the CAN bus and makes the navigation option available.

http://www.codecard.lt/dash/bmw-cic-.../prod_432.html
Attached Images
File Type: pdf BMW CIC connection manual.pdf (888.3 KB, 2174 views)
__________________
2007 328i Coupe Auto | Monaco Blue | Cream Dakota | Premium | Sports | CIC retrofit | 6FL Retrofit | Logic 7 Retrofit

Last edited by lesliew; 06-05-2010 at 07:51 AM.
lesliew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2010, 11:56 AM   #856
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesliew View Post
This maybe of interest

This circuit board is a similar concept to that described by nik49 back in post 740. It interrupts the CAN bus and makes the navigation option available.

http://www.codecard.lt/dash/bmw-cic-.../prod_432.html
Good find! Looks interesting. I see the two CAN transceivers on there (black boxes on the left) - so I'm sure you're right - it's probably just modifying the VIN CAN packets to make the CIC happy. Although I wonder what the implications are of this - for things like Assist maybe? Although I think emergency calls identify the vehicle by the VIN stored in the TCU itself - hopefully.
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2010, 12:02 PM   #857
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
Now sorted after the CIC and NAV coding was complete
You are using the old idrive controller with the CIC? Hmm, didn't realize that worked - cool.

What exactly did you code to make that work?
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2010, 04:31 PM   #858
Steveo
Lieutenant
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Drives: M4
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 417
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
You are using the old idrive controller with the CIC? Hmm, didn't realize that worked - cool.

What exactly did you code to make that work?
As far as i'm aware nothing, but Patryk can chime in as he was the man who made it all possible for me fantastic

Just got to get the latest nav map and then voice control coded
Steveo is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST