E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Homelink Garage Door Opener Installation Guide



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-03-2010, 03:36 PM   #23
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
mJ335's Avatar
48
Rep
3,037
Posts

 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Wow.. my thread's still alive after 2 years?!lol I'm happy I can help u guys even until now
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2010, 10:18 PM   #24
LKNGOOD
Private
LKNGOOD's Avatar
0
Rep
91
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i w/6sp manual.
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wylie, TX

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mJ335 View Post
Wow.. my thread's still alive after 2 years?!lol I'm happy I can help u guys even until now
That's why I love these Forums. Whenever I get a new car - I sign up to these forums asap.

I learn so much about my e46 2003 330i on e46fanatics and bimmerfest - and now with my e90 2007 335i - e90post is my new best friend.

I'm also a member of cbrforum for my 2005 CBR F4i that I bought last year.

As the years go by - the good thing is the information doesn't change. Someone could have bought a 2007 335i Brand New 3 years ago and post a DYI and then someone like me who just bought a 2007 335i last week will want to do the same DIY but lucky for me - someone else was kind enough to take the time and show everyone else how it's done.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2010, 03:43 PM   #25
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
mJ335's Avatar
48
Rep
3,037
Posts

 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by LKNGOOD View Post
That's why I love these Forums. Whenever I get a new car - I sign up to these forums asap.

I learn so much about my e46 2003 330i on e46fanatics and bimmerfest - and now with my e90 2007 335i - e90post is my new best friend.

I'm also a member of cbrforum for my 2005 CBR F4i that I bought last year.

As the years go by - the good thing is the information doesn't change. Someone could have bought a 2007 335i Brand New 3 years ago and post a DYI and then someone like me who just bought a 2007 335i last week will want to do the same DIY but lucky for me - someone else was kind enough to take the time and show everyone else how it's done.
haha yeahh when I had my TL before the 335, I was hooked to acurainspired/acurazine the whole time I had the car.. now e90post.com e46 330 was my dream car!!! Wanted it so baddd
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2010, 10:21 PM   #26
aniv
Private First Class
aniv's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
106
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335d MSport
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Round Rock,TX

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to aniv Send a message via Skype™ to aniv
Thanks for the detailed steps, I did not know about the learn button works like a charm now.
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2010, 03:14 PM   #27
DTRJ
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
198
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 435 XI
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

GENIE OPENERS HOLD 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjames View Post
OK, to veer slightly off topic...

Does anyone know if there is a limit to the number of remotes some garage door openers will accept? I ask because we got a third car, programmed the Homelink, and the one in my car no longer worked. Reprogrammed mine, and the one in the new car no longer worked.

So right now, besides the remotes that came with the door, we have three other remotes programmed - two Homelink systems in cars, one keypad wireless remote outside. Is that the limit?

Richard
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2010, 09:32 PM   #28
danchee
Private
0
Rep
67
Posts

 
Drives: E92 328i xDrive
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Anyone figure out how to link the Homelink system with a Door King system? Haven't had any success and Googling turns up that DK systems don't play nice with 3rd party transmitter
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2010, 10:22 PM   #29
2kaccordocoupe
Colonel
2kaccordocoupe's Avatar
Canada
31
Rep
2,721
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i E92 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GTA

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 e92 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by danchee View Post
Anyone figure out how to link the Homelink system with a Door King system? Haven't had any success and Googling turns up that DK systems don't play nice with 3rd party transmitter
DKS will not work with homelink as they use different frequencies.
__________________
2009 335i E92 Coupe
Manual/Navigation/Executive/Audiophile/Sport/19s
Alpine White/Coral Red Dakota
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2010, 10:42 PM   #30
Yay-Z
Shifting to Top Gear
Yay-Z's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
481
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3/F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for this
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2010, 02:48 AM   #31
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
mJ335's Avatar
48
Rep
3,037
Posts

 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
You're welcome.
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2010, 10:45 PM   #32
normtrum
Colonel
normtrum's Avatar
27
Rep
2,227
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335i, e46 330i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PNW

iTrader: (1)

Mj335.....I have to tell you....I first read this thread about 1 1/2 years ago and saved it. I have never been able to link up with my garage door opener....after many...many attempts. I finally gave up and just kept my gate remote and garage remote in my car. So tonight for whatever reason I decide to pull up your instructions and give it one last shot. It worked perfectly! It literally took me 5 minutes. I think what I was doing wrong was I wasn't running through the cycle 3 or 4 times after the rapid lights on the last stage. I tried your method....and it worked perfectly.

I've had my car since Sept '06 and this is the first time I've been able to use my homelink.

Thanks!!
__________________
07 335i sedan | Steptronic | Black saphire | Terra | ZPP | ZSP | Cold Weather | CA | PDC | Nav | OEM Alarm
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2010, 03:11 PM   #33
rdub315
Captain
United_States
14
Rep
638
Posts

 
Drives: '07 E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 E90 335i  [5.00]
Homelink

I've been trying to program Homelink, but I can't even get past Step 1. I cannot get the LED to light up, even though I've held buttons 1 & 3 for up to 2 minutes. Does this mean that there are no codes to clear, or should it blink regardless?

Yes, I've had aux power on with car door closed. Help!
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2010, 08:42 PM   #34
BimmerDom
Second Lieutenant
BimmerDom's Avatar
Canada
7
Rep
226
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i Sport/Prem 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [0.00]
My light flashes amber, not red. Can't make step 4 work. I have a Genie
__________________


2008 BMW 335i Sport/Premium 6MT/JB3
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2010, 09:16 PM   #35
cds_obsessed
New Member
cds_obsessed's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
6
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328i coupe
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Clayton, NC

iTrader: (0)

I've tried several times using owner's manual instructions with no success. I will definitely try these instructions. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2010, 08:08 PM   #36
WWONG
Banned
United_States
38
Rep
1,833
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 BMW X5 xDrive35d
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (14)

Protip: for anyone who's programming more than 1 door-- skip step 1 where you have to hold both buttons for 20 secs

Last edited by WWONG; 08-12-2010 at 10:39 PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2010, 11:16 PM   #37
cds_obsessed
New Member
cds_obsessed's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
6
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328i coupe
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Clayton, NC

iTrader: (0)

It works!!!

Thanks for the help.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2010, 03:03 PM   #38
Tom (Atl)
BMW Fan
Tom (Atl)'s Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
147
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M235i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southeast, USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kaccordocoupe View Post
DKS will not work with homelink as they use different frequencies.
I have a doorking too.

I saw it is 318 mHz on the back of the transmitter.

is it incombatible, no matter what?
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2010, 08:25 PM   #39
Ben Mueller
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 328xi Coupe Loaded!
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Thank you!

Appreciate the instructions! Way more informative than the manual. Worked like a charm!
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2010, 02:53 PM   #40
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
1QuikWS6's Avatar
United_States
67
Rep
4,810
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage ->M6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

iTrader: (83)

Garage List
Many Thanx! This was super EZ and very detailed. Programmed my Genie on 1st try after my new Homelink/Compass/LED/EC mirror retrofit
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//DTEC V7 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//Vishnu OFT//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2010, 01:10 PM   #41
vartex
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
48
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

I have a Genie 82 and there is no button anywhere on the console. I couldn't even find a flap to open it up. Is there anything else I could try?
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2010, 02:26 PM   #42
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
1QuikWS6's Avatar
United_States
67
Rep
4,810
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage ->M6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

iTrader: (83)

Garage List
Idk what a Genie 82 is, but on my Genie I had to remove the plastic light cover - once you remove that cover the 'Learn' button is to the left side (looking at the lights) it doesn't say learn on it - but that's the only button under there. There is no flap to open or anything else - it's right out in the open.

I'd take a pic for you, but the T/A is under cover for the winter now and there is no way to get to the opener...
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//DTEC V7 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//Vishnu OFT//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2010, 03:16 PM   #43
vartex
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
48
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1QuikWS6 View Post
Idk what a Genie 82 is, but on my Genie I had to remove the plastic light cover - once you remove that cover the 'Learn' button is to the left side (looking at the lights) it doesn't say learn on it - but that's the only button under there. There is no flap to open or anything else - it's right out in the open.

I'd take a pic for you, but the T/A is under cover for the winter now and there is no way to get to the opener...
I wouldn't worry about it. I called up Genie and they told me my model doesn't have a learn button and that using the remote alone to link should suffice. I still can't get it to work though and have pretty much given up. Thanks though.
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2010, 03:37 PM   #44
vartex
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
48
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

OK, I just tried it again and it worked like a charm. I placed the remote between the windshield and the rear view mirror. I guess the people over at Genie knew what they were talking about.

Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST