E90Post
 


Alpine HID
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Trying to install an amp and sub



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-24-2010, 11:17 AM   #1
Ray_101
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Trying to install an amp and sub

Hello everyone

I tried to do a search on the forum but I didn't come across the diagram that I am looking for. Does anyone have a diagram or a list of the wires for the factory amp on an 08 328i? I need to know which wires are for the rear speakers and which wire is the remote wire so I can hook up my amp and sub. I believe that I have the basic system, not the logic 7. How can I be sure of this?

Here is what I'm looking at:



Sorry about the picture quality but my camera battery is dead so this is from my phone.
Ray_101 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2010, 11:50 AM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,783
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray_101 View Post
Hello everyone

I tried to do a search on the forum but I didn't come across the diagram that I am looking for. Does anyone have a diagram or a list of the wires for the factory amp on an 08 328i? I need to know which wires are for the rear speakers and which wire is the remote wire so I can hook up my amp and sub. I believe that I have the basic system, not the logic 7. How can I be sure of this?

Here is what I'm looking at:



Sorry about the picture quality but my camera battery is dead so this is from my phone.


Pin
1
2
3 Woofer Left -
4 Woofer Left +
5 12V
6
7
8 Rear Right Output +
9 Front Right Output +
10 Remote IN
11 Mid Front Right +
12 Mid Front Right -
13 Mid Rear Right +
14
15
16 Rear Right Output -
17 Front Right Output -
18
19
20
21 Mid Rear Right -
22 Woofer Right -
23 Woofer Right +
24
25
26 Ground
27
28
29 Rear Left Output -
30 Front Left Output -
31 Mid Rear Left +
32 Mid Rear Left -
33 Mid Front Left +
34 Mid Front Left -
35
36
37 Rear Left Output +
38 Front Left Output +
39
40
41
42

Outputs are balanced signals so you need to use a balance signal-compatible sub amp (i.e. JL Audio) if you want to connect these outputs directly to that sub amp. If not then you will need a balanced to non-balanced converter before that sub amp.
Attached Images
 
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2010, 12:31 PM   #3
Ray_101
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Thanks! I am using this: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Axxess+-...xess&cp=1&lp=3

Which speakers should I be tapping into? Rear woofers or regular rear output? What's the difference? I only have rear speakers above my seats, I don't think I have seperate subs. How do I check?

Thanks for the help.
Ray_101 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2010, 01:08 PM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,783
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray_101 View Post
Thanks! I am using this: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Axxess+-...xess&cp=1&lp=3

Which speakers should I be tapping into? Rear woofers or regular rear output? What's the difference? I only have rear speakers above my seats, I don't think I have seperate subs. How do I check?

Thanks for the help.
You could use either front or rear outputs (they are low level balanced). Do not use any of the high level ouputs (woofer/mids).

What amp are you using for this?
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2010, 01:35 PM   #5
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,981
iTrader: (0)

Look at this link.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52193
be sure to look at all 3 pages for block diagrams and pictures
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2010, 02:01 PM   #6
Ray_101
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
You could use either front or rear outputs (they are low level balanced). Do not use any of the high level ouputs (woofer/mids).

What amp are you using for this?
Got it, I'm using an older Kenwood KAC-8104D. I didn't want to get a new one because I built a custom plexi case. With the case I built, it is just thin enough to fit where I want it. All the amps I've seen for sale locally are really thick.




Last edited by Ray_101; 07-24-2010 at 02:09 PM.
Ray_101 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2010, 07:26 PM   #7
Ray_101
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Ok, so I ended up buying a new amp online and I just got it today. I went to wire up everything using the diagram but my harness is different. I have no wire going into pin 16 and no wire in 37 so I couldn't use my rear outputs. I didn't try using different outputs because I'm not sure if my oem system has completely different wiring. I don't want to end up tapping into the wrong wires.
Ray_101 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2010, 07:45 PM   #8
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,783
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray_101 View Post
Ok, so I ended up buying a new amp online and I just got it today. I went to wire up everything using the diagram but my harness is different. I have no wire going into pin 16 and no wire in 37 so I couldn't use my rear outputs. I didn't try using different outputs because I'm not sure if my oem system has completely different wiring. I don't want to end up tapping into the wrong wires.
Those pin numbers are molded in the OEM connector. There should be wires on those pins...

Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2010, 08:18 PM   #9
Ray_101
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

I have the same connector. The pin numbers are correct however there are no wires in those pins. Also, for pin 8, I just have a small solid black wire instead of a speaker wire. I'm really confused now. How do I know what sound sysem my car has?
Ray_101 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2010, 08:48 PM   #10
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,783
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray_101 View Post
I have the same connector. The pin numbers are correct however there are no wires in those pins. Also, for pin 8, I just have a small solid black wire instead of a speaker wire. I'm really confused now. How do I know what sound sysem my car has?
This should be the schematic of your HiFi system: http://www.fdebrus.be/car/hifi.jpg

You should be able to even see the metal female pins thru holes 16 and 37 like in that photo. I did several weeks ago a full system in a MY2010 E93 M3 with the HiFi and both the pin assignments and the schematic are correct for this connector. There's no way that you are missing those wires.

Is this an used car?
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2010, 01:25 PM   #11
Ray_101
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

I bought the car used but it is fully oem. The harness still had the factory wrapping and everything. I will take a pic of the harness later today when I'm home and post it. The wires are definately not there. I double checked this morning before I left.
Ray_101 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2010, 01:48 PM   #12
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,783
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray_101 View Post
I bought the car used but it is fully oem. The harness still had the factory wrapping and everything. I will take a pic of the harness later today when I'm home and post it. The wires are definately not there. I double checked this morning before I left.
A better way to see what's going on with that main connector and its wires is removing its sub connectors (pin numbers are clearly molded in). You should be able to see clearly what is the problem:



Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2010, 07:20 PM   #13
Ray_101
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FL

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Here is a pic of the backs of the connectors:



My wiring is completely different. If the color code is the same for all e90's, maybe you can tell me the colors for the rear outputs and the remote wire.

Thanks for the help
Ray_101 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2010, 07:54 PM   #14
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,783
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray_101 View Post
Here is a pic of the backs of the connectors:



My wiring is completely different. If the color code is the same for all e90's, maybe you can tell me the colors for the rear outputs and the remote wire.

Thanks for the help
Your own photo is showing wires at slots 16 (I'm color blind red/green, so I don't know the color of the wire that I'm seeing in that slot, but it is the first wire from right to left in the second row of the grey connector) and 37 (yellow/black in black connector; first wire, right to left, second row), dude.

Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-08-2012, 01:26 AM   #15
bondo
I tint tail lights and paint!
 
Drives: 97 540I and 2007 328I
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: bay area

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

What wire do you use to turn on the amp? I have the same car and want to add a sub, thanks
bondo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST