E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > alarm?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-15-2010, 10:39 PM   #1
Franciebaby
Second Lieutenant
2

 
Franciebaby's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i AW prem,nav,sat,ca
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jackson, Ms


Posts: 296
iTrader: (1)

alarm?

I have a March 09 build and my rearview mirror has the clown nose. My dealer says there is no factory wiring for the alarm so I can't get an alarm installed. Why is there a clown nose?
I have an E90 with premium and idrive pkgs.
__________________
2009 AW 328i saddle,zpp, sat, nav, ca, ipod
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2010, 10:39 PM   #2
Express
Major General
Israel
129

 
Express's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Promise Land


Posts: 8,701
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [4.15]
you can install the alarm.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2010, 11:07 PM   #3
blazex4
Private First Class
1

 
blazex4's Avatar
 
Drives: SGM e90 325i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York


Posts: 112
iTrader: (2)

Most bmw's dont have alarms and just have that red bulb. If u want the alarm, I dont think it comes in any packages with BMW.
It is there to scare off thieves. If you do have the alarm, the red bulb will blink while the car is locked.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2010, 12:04 AM   #4
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
United_States
67

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon


Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (3)

The clown nose works in the EU cars that are prewired. There is a retrofit kit but the process is very painful to perform and the guy who did it didn't think he'd do it again.

You can get a widget from Tom at EAS that blinks the clown nose as if an alarm is installed.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2010, 10:03 AM   #5
Denny347
Lieutenant
7

 
Drives: SGM 2006 330i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN


Posts: 590
iTrader: (0)

I was sure that it was the US cars that are prewired for the alarm and the Euro cars that you have to run all the wiring. I plan on adding the alarm to mine soon. I like having that extra protection. Those who have done the upgrade said it was rather easy as long as you are prewired.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2010, 12:28 PM   #6
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
100

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC


Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
I beleive they stopped pre-wiring cars after 07 or 08....I have an '06 and my car was pre-wired. I installed my alarm myself but had to have it coded by the dealer....I was lucky and had it done for free.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2010, 02:25 PM   #7
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
United_States
67

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon


Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (3)

That alarm is EU spec. Thatcham approved!
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2010, 02:47 PM   #8
Denny347
Lieutenant
7

 
Drives: SGM 2006 330i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN


Posts: 590
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
I beleive they stopped pre-wiring cars after 07 or 08....I have an '06 and my car was pre-wired. I installed my alarm myself but had to have it coded by the dealer....I was lucky and had it done for free.
NICE. My dealer quoted me $180 or so to code it...1 hr labor. Glad I am able to install it myself.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2010, 05:41 PM   #9
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
100

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC


Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
You might even be able to find an autologic center to do the coding for you...might be cheaper.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2010, 07:54 PM   #10
Denny347
Lieutenant
7

 
Drives: SGM 2006 330i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN


Posts: 590
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
You might even be able to find an autologic center to do the coding for you...might be cheaper.
Yeah, I need to call around to a few shops that work pn BMW's exclusively. They would be cheaper if they have the right equipment.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST