E90Post
 


Bimmertech
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > How-To: Procede v4 PnP harness update (optional)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-06-2010, 11:10 AM   #45
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
would not mind use those 2 channels with my AEM EGT and AFR probe.
Only 1 input is freed up. The other is an output. So you can certainly feed one of those sensors into the Procede. Just not both (at this time). There are some firmware changes that we an do that can free up another input and output. But that's not until later.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2010, 04:40 PM   #46
Glowin
Captain
 
Glowin's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle

Posts: 882
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Yes, give it a shot. If you have any persistent o2 sensor related issues, the first thing you should do is eliminate variables. In this case, the o2 modifier circuit. And since you don't need it, remove it. It can only help you.
I've not got any codes, if that's how one knows that one has O2 sensor issues, and I had logged both the sensors a couple of months back, and they both had identical values, so they were ok you concluded.

I'm the guy who keeps having really lean AFR's when on partial throttle, once the Procede is warmed up. You suggested I uninstall one of the 4 patches on the procede pnp harness that controls fueling (the subconnector patch with all the yellow wires) to see if we can narrow down the source of the problem. Unfortunately, I've been lazy and have not gotten around to doing it yet.

So I'm wondering if the above might be a fix to my issues, if I've not got any codes. Or if I should still just remove the whole subconnector first and see how that goes and report back.
Glowin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2010, 04:47 PM   #47
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowin View Post
I've not got any codes, if that's how one knows that one has O2 sensor issues, and I had logged both the sensors a couple of months back, and they both had identical values, so they were ok you concluded.

I'm the guy who keeps having really lean AFR's when on partial throttle, once the Procede is warmed up. You suggested I uninstall one of the 4 patches on the procede pnp harness that controls fueling (the subconnector patch with all the yellow wires) to see if we can narrow down the source of the problem. Unfortunately, I've been lazy and have not gotten around to doing it yet.

So I'm wondering if the above might be a fix to my issues, if I've not got any codes. Or if I should still just remove the whole subconnector first and see how that goes and report back.
Removing the whole subconnector patch temporarily will have the same effect as this harness update. Except that you will also lose some aspects of fuel control. So just doing this documented updated is a better approach. Especially if you don't need CANclear or the o2 modifier to handle catalyst codes.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2010, 05:48 PM   #48
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
would not mind use those 2 channels with my AEM EGT and AFR probe.
Only 1 input is freed up. The other is an output. So you can certainly feed one of those sensors into the Procede. Just not both (at this time). There are some firmware changes that we an do that can free up another input and output. But that's not until later.
Ok so i could just connect that EGT signal to the procede and read it?
Basically there is nothing to do on the firmware side?
Since i will put high flow cats in 2 weeks i could weld the bung than.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2010, 05:51 PM   #49
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
Ok so i could just connect that EGT signal to the procede and read it?
Basically there is nothing to do on the firmware side?
Since i will put high flow cats in 2 weeks i could weld the bung than.
There's really not any update required in the firmware if you want to feed a standard 0-5 volt signal in the Procede. Just a couple small changes to the logging setup which I can describe via email.

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2010, 06:04 PM   #50
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
There's really not any update required in the firmware if you want to feed a standard 0-5 volt signal in the Procede. Just a couple small changes to the logging setup which I can describe via email.

shiv
thanks Shiv!
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 03:06 PM   #51
kentgbr
Member
 
kentgbr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 262
iTrader: (0)

Just did this harness update without any issues. The wires of interest were purple v's yellow for all the others on the sub-connector, making them easy to identify. I have an earlier rev 2 harness that also required the canbus wire update way back when. Looks like the colors have changed since then.
__________________
2008 E90 335i, Titanium Silver, Dakota Grey, ZSP, Steptronic, 6FL, Wagner FMIC, Bilstein B12 Pro-kit, M3 control arms
kentgbr is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 04:18 PM   #52
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,266
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Why do I always get ignored is beyond me
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2010, 06:34 PM   #53
BrianMN
Colonel
 
Drives: 4 Door Family Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 2,429
iTrader: (7)

Question for the tuning experts out here: Is it pretty worthless to mount an EGT sensor in the downpipes (post-turbo) and add 200* from there, or do I REALLY need to take off the turbo/manifold and make a bung pre-turbo?
BrianMN is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2010, 09:36 AM   #54
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,710
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianMN View Post
Question for the tuning experts out here: Is it pretty worthless to mount an EGT sensor in the downpipes (post-turbo) and add 200* from there, or do I REALLY need to take off the turbo/manifold and make a bung pre-turbo?
It is not consistent. Depending on load and duration, the delta in temperature will vary.
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2010, 09:37 AM   #55
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,710
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Why do I always get ignored is beyond me
???
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2010, 09:48 AM   #56
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianMN View Post
Question for the tuning experts out here: Is it pretty worthless to mount an EGT sensor in the downpipes (post-turbo) and add 200* from there, or do I REALLY need to take off the turbo/manifold and make a bung pre-turbo?
I am going to put 1 EGT and 1 AFR sensors in the same spot as the back lambda sensors and move them at the back of new middle mouted 100 Cell High flow cats.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 01:01 PM   #57
forza1976
Brigadier General
 
forza1976's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 A6
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver CO

Posts: 4,526
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2014 Audi A6  [5.00]
Performed this harness update today, was particularly easy on my v4 as the wires being removed were purple so very easy to identify. I borrowed two red unused wires from the other harness.

Pretty simple, no codes or issues on my test drive.
forza1976 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 01:36 PM   #58
themyst
Major General
 
themyst's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,601
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
Since the tune is coming out in a few days, I'll have plenty of time to perform this harness DIY for when my 6AT come in.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
themyst is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 02:40 PM   #59
Panoz
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Panoz's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 Space Grey 335i ,Aero Kit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: EU

Posts: 1,576
iTrader: (0)

I'm still using a good old pre-29.2 firmware on my ECU and i dont want to change it (by any means). Shouldn't I do the harness update?

What could go wrong , given I have anyway the O2 setting at 100% , allowing the auto-canclear to do the job ???
__________________

Procede V4 , Catless DPs, Forge FMIC, Injen Intake, VK Oilcooler, Hartge Quads Exhaust, Modded CDV, Synapse BOV Kit, BMW Performance 335i SSK Kit, P3 vent boost gauge

Space Grey 335i -> See more pics HERE
Panoz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 03:31 PM   #60
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panoz View Post
I'm still using a good old pre-29.2 firmware on my ECU and i dont want to change it (by any means). Shouldn't I do the harness update?

What could go wrong , given I have anyway the O2 setting at 100% , allowing the auto-canclear to do the job ???
If you are not running the o2 modifier, I recommend updating the harness. You will probably get better fuel economy.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 03:47 PM   #61
Panoz
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Panoz's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 Space Grey 335i ,Aero Kit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: EU

Posts: 1,576
iTrader: (0)

would it make motor running (a bit) leaner then?
__________________

Procede V4 , Catless DPs, Forge FMIC, Injen Intake, VK Oilcooler, Hartge Quads Exhaust, Modded CDV, Synapse BOV Kit, BMW Performance 335i SSK Kit, P3 vent boost gauge

Space Grey 335i -> See more pics HERE
Panoz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 03:50 PM   #62
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panoz View Post
would it make motor running (a bit) leaner then?
At low load/cruise, perhaps. It seems as if it just reduces the amount of rich/lean swing that occurs with the closed loop fuel control system.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 06:05 AM   #63
**335i**
Colonel
 
**335i**'s Avatar
 
Drives: TOYOTA & 2008 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Swiss-Lithuania

Posts: 2,264
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 335i  [4.50]
if i have 29.1 version and msd81 dme does this affects me do i need to do this?
__________________
E92 335i Black Saphire 6MT PROcede V5, BMS DCI, Big Tom IC, AR CL-DP's 3", AR Design OC, Forge DV's, OEM M3 side skirts, BMW Performance Wheels 19 inch 269 Black Gloss+Continental ContiSportContact 5P (400hp and 550nm) Next: QUAIFE LSD
**335i** is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2010, 01:01 PM   #64
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by **335i** View Post
if i have 29.1 version and msd81 dme does this affects me do i need to do this?
Not many people *need* to do this. But I think it's a good update to do for anyone who doesn't use the o2 modifier feature.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2010, 08:52 PM   #65
kenneth
Major General
 
kenneth's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal

Posts: 8,622
iTrader: (13)

just curious, does it matter if you tape the unused female and male ends so they touch each other or can you tape them individually?
__________________
SB, Terra, 6MT. Only a few mods here and there.....nothing extreme!
kenneth is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2010, 08:57 PM   #66
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenneth View Post
just curious, does it matter if you tape the unused female and male ends so they touch each other or can you tape them individually?
Doesn't really matter. Although I tend to keep them separate because it busts feels better
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST