E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-18-2010, 08:40 PM   #221
JonLerd
Lieutenant
7
Rep
543
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 335i coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orange County / Los Angeles

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenkirby21 View Post
would this work on a 1 series?
yes!
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2010, 02:06 AM   #222
Robben@ltbmw
United_States
40
Rep
2,215
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Space Grey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ROSEMEAD, CA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Robben@ltbmw
If anyone wants to get their car coded. Hit up LTBMW, he can definitely work out a group pricing. and instead of paying the $100+ on cord itself, just pay LT and he can do it for you for the same price.
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2010, 07:42 PM   #223
Avery
Second Lieutenant
Avery's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
271
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335i, 2010 X5
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US

iTrader: (5)

Your missing the point. With this I can code my car myself and also my wifes X5. I can also turn them off or back on as I wish and never have to pay again. Plus when I get a new car I am set.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2010, 08:12 PM   #224
misterba
Milan
misterba's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
158
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E90 328i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oceanside, California

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to misterba
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avery View Post
Your missing the point. With this I can code my car myself and also my wifes X5. I can also turn them off or back on as I wish and never have to pay again. Plus when I get a new car I am set.
Guys, can we do something like this here in SoCal?

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...43#post8316643
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2010, 09:15 PM   #225
Robben@ltbmw
United_States
40
Rep
2,215
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Space Grey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ROSEMEAD, CA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Robben@ltbmw
^ Yes, we can set that up in socal. However, prices might be a little more expensive depending on the numbers of people who are interested. If you guys are interested, please PM me and let me know, coding will be done @ LTBMW. I'll start a GB thread once there are enough people who PM me.
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2010, 09:36 PM   #226
tofu-
Banned
43
Rep
2,858
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Jet Black/Coral Red
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: nyc

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avery View Post
Your missing the point. With this I can code my car myself and also my wifes X5. I can also turn them off or back on as I wish and never have to pay again. Plus when I get a new car I am set.
you can also do diagnostics
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 12:04 AM   #227
E90PAT
SOFLO CODING
Slovenia
57
Rep
3,236
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoFla

iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to E90PAT
.
__________________

Coding services in Broward/Miami/Gainesville and surrounding areas! Ask me!

Last edited by E90PAT; 07-19-2011 at 11:11 AM.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 01:16 AM   #228
Robben@ltbmw
United_States
40
Rep
2,215
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Space Grey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ROSEMEAD, CA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Robben@ltbmw
Quote:
Originally Posted by E92PAT View Post
Yeah im still in the purchasing part of the phase.. do it right or do it twice.

what do you guys think of this cable?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-I...ht_6895wt_1167
I think that's the most common one people buy right now. I will test that cable out on Monday/ Tuesday on both 07 and 08 e92. It should be able to work. But if you want to wait, I'll confirm it next week to see if it works or not.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 01:55 AM   #229
Nqwjx30
Captain
Nqwjx30's Avatar
11
Rep
677
Posts

 
Drives: 15' F10 M5
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (2)

any successful coding done on e90 corner delete? is it just possible to be done in europe? or we can do it on our US cars?
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 08:18 AM   #230
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92PAT View Post
Yeah im still in the purchasing part of the phase.. do it right or do it twice.

what do you guys think of this cable?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-I...ht_6895wt_1167
It's hit-or-miss with these Chinese cables. There's no real way to say if it is going to work, work partially, or work not at all. In theory, this should work, but in practice, shoddy quality control and little or not testing means it's a crap-shoot. I have 3 now (and one on the way from Patryk). All have exhibited some quirkiness which is not something you want to deal with if you are reprogramming a critical module.

If you just want to turn off your side lights, or some such, it's probably fine; you can always retry until it goes through, but consider that you're dealing with a pretty high-priced automobile with very complicated computer control, I'd put my money on something better.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 12:06 PM   #231
matrix76
Major
matrix76's Avatar
Canada
21
Rep
1,300
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92PAT View Post
Yeah im still in the purchasing part of the phase.. do it right or do it twice.

what do you guys think of this cable?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-I...ht_6895wt_1167
This is the same one I ordered, offered $90 as others did, and it's on its way. As far as it being a cable from China, what concerns should I have, I say none. This seller offers a 6 months warranty and you have PayPal protection. To me this is a no brainer, you will only save $50-$60 going this route. I am sure this cable will work just fine.
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 12:51 PM   #232
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix76 View Post
This is the same one I ordered, offered $90 as others did, and it's on its way. As far as it being a cable from China, what concerns should I have, I say none. This seller offers a 6 months warranty and you have PayPal protection. To me this is a no brainer, you will only save $50-$60 going this route. I am sure this cable will work just fine.
Suit yourself, but I've dealt with cheap Chinese electronics before, and even with warranties, protection, etc. it's just not worth the hassle (shipping back and forth alone took three months--way past PayPal's deadline for dispute resolution). Get one from a reputable company like DoIt Auto in Germany and your heart doctor will thank you.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 01:05 PM   #233
matrix76
Major
matrix76's Avatar
Canada
21
Rep
1,300
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
Suit yourself, but I've dealt with cheap Chinese electronics before, and even with warranties, protection, etc. it's just not worth the hassle (shipping back and forth alone took three months--way past PayPal's deadline for dispute resolution). Get one from a reputable company like DoIt Auto in Germany and your heart doctor will thank you.
My hearts fine, I'll even program his car when I finish mine. Thanks for your concern.
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 01:57 PM   #234
Robben@ltbmw
United_States
40
Rep
2,215
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Space Grey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ROSEMEAD, CA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Robben@ltbmw
^ I have to agree with matrix. The chinese cables work fine because that's what i used to code everything on my car from lights to idrive to central module. Maybe I'm just lucky but it never threw any error.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 02:03 PM   #235
scanboy
Lieutenant
United_States
7
Rep
440
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue+Black Int.
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Torrance

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nqxjx View Post
any successful coding done on e90 corner delete? is it just possible to be done in europe? or we can do it on our US cars?
Look for SIDEMARKER_US in FRM or NFRM and make it nicht_aktiv, it might not be just SIDEMARKER_US, for example, mine is SIDEMARKER_US_NFRM, but if you look for it, you'll know which one.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 02:14 PM   #236
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbbplanet View Post
^ I have to agree with matrix. The chinese cables work fine because that's what i used to code everything on my car from lights to idrive to central module. Maybe I'm just lucky but it never threw any error.
As I said in an earlier post, these are probably be fine when used for simple coding, but I'd sure not trust one of these running several hours doing a firmware upgrade.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 02:14 PM   #237
franzzz
Lieutenant
franzzz's Avatar
Italy
5
Rep
445
Posts

 
Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ITALY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slade View Post
Buy a DCAN cable like this one:

http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/...&product_id=16

Download NCS Expert 3.1:

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...php?p=20144115

Follow this step by step guide for activating remote windows up:

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1517538

Once you activate remote windows up, it's easy to activate other options.
NCS work with bavarian Tachnic Cable ?
__________________
BMW F30 Hybrid 370cv JB&MPE - Liquid Blue - step8M Sport - NaviProf - USBDivX - DVD - Btooth - VoiceControl - Connect - App - Online - TrafficInfo - SpLimit Info - VenetoB Seat - PDC - RearCam - LedFog - Roof - Antitheft - Servotronic - AdaptiveM - K&N
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 02:16 PM   #238
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by franzzz View Post
NCS work with bavarian Tachnic Cable ?
No.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2010, 02:38 PM   #239
Robben@ltbmw
United_States
40
Rep
2,215
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Space Grey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ROSEMEAD, CA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Robben@ltbmw
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
As I said in an earlier post, these are probably be fine when used for simple coding, but I'd sure not trust one of these running several hours doing a firmware upgrade.
This is the coding thread.. i'm not sure how many people come in here wanting to do firmware upgrade on their car. On top of it, we have no [legal] access to download the firmware. I wouldn't even want to consider doing firmware upgrades myself even if I have the best cables in the world... i prob will destroy my car haha.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2010, 01:06 AM   #240
Neutrino45
Major
Neutrino45's Avatar
25
Rep
1,446
Posts

 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avery View Post
Your missing the point. With this I can code my car myself and also my wifes X5. I can also turn them off or back on as I wish and never have to pay again. Plus when I get a new car I am set.
+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
Suit yourself, but I've dealt with cheap Chinese electronics before, and even with warranties, protection, etc. it's just not worth the hassle (shipping back and forth alone took three months--way past PayPal's deadline for dispute resolution). Get one from a reputable company like DoIt Auto in Germany and your heart doctor will thank you.
The link you've posted looks just like the one on eBay, but with a higher price. All of these cables are probably all made in China!
__________________

Last edited by Neutrino45; 11-23-2010 at 01:12 AM.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2010, 02:51 AM   #241
DimSum
Banned
Canada
60
Rep
2,743
Posts

 
Drives: SLOW
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LITTLEBIMMER.COM

iTrader: (10)

You guys have no clue. doitauto.de is also made by the same company as one-stop-electronics. Also that is a double K-line D-can cable, which is higher quality than the cable an e90post vendor is trying to sell people. If you have communication issues with it, then you are doing something wrong or do some research

Last edited by DimSum; 11-23-2010 at 03:03 AM.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2010, 06:47 AM   #242
heartpumper
Private
2
Rep
76
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i.. STI GONE :]
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville

iTrader: (1)

Just got my cable in the mail..
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST