E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > "OEM" Navigation



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-08-2010, 08:35 AM   #23
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazza View Post
Why do you say it will not work with L7?
The amplifier is digital, but the signal that arrives at the source is analog and is the same (Professional) is HIFI, is L7???
Will lose the DSP effects, but the rest??
Your own question and answer are absurd. What about searching to clarify your own misinformation?

Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 08:39 AM   #24
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by d33v00n3h View Post
The unit looks pretty good. I'm looking forward to your DIY install, I was really considering buying one of these but the thought of paying 1k+ for a shop to install it on top of the price of the unit really was deterring me. GL
I bet that the shop that quoted you $1000 for install thought that your 3-Series was an E46 and not an E90, and that the Nav that you will install was a double DIN.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 01:43 PM   #25
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazza View Post
Why do you say it will not work with L7?
The amplifier is digital, but the signal that arrives at the source is analog and is the same (Professional) is HIFI, is L7???
Will lose the DSP effects, but the rest??
There are many threads on this but L7 is optical and would require a lot of modification.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 01:44 PM   #26
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
I bet that the shop that quoted you $1000 for install thought that your 3-Series was an E46 and not an E90, and that the Nav that you will install was a double DIN.
I can see this since the e46 requires some hacking of the dash for a double din and the AC relocation.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 03:21 PM   #27
d33v00n3h
First Lieutenant
d33v00n3h's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
322
Posts

 
Drives: e90 330i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles 818

iTrader: (9)

Wait so this setup doesn't work with Logic7? What exactly does that mean? The sound quality won't be good as the OEM system?
__________________

E90 Jet Black 330i |Sport & Premium Pkg|19 VMR v710s|Carbon Fiber Roundels|Lux 5.1|Black Line Taillights|Euphoria 6k Lights|M Steering Wheel|JB Headlight Reflector Covers|Carbon Fiber Grill|Dos Daytime Angel Eyes|Hardwired V1|Euro Fog Switch|15% Tints|Carbon Fiber Pedals|Carbon Wrapped Interior
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 04:44 PM   #28
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by d33v00n3h View Post
Wait so this setup doesn't work with Logic7? What exactly does that mean? The sound quality won't be good as the OEM system?
It means that if you have a logic 7 system you cannot put this in without bypassing the logic 7 amplifier and either running all new speaker wires or a new external amplifier. Correct me if i am wrong Technic. Its the same as adding any other aftermarket headunit and there are a ton of threads on them and Logic7.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 04:48 PM   #29
d33v00n3h
First Lieutenant
d33v00n3h's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
322
Posts

 
Drives: e90 330i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles 818

iTrader: (9)

So could that possibly be the reason I was quoted 1k for this install?
__________________

E90 Jet Black 330i |Sport & Premium Pkg|19 VMR v710s|Carbon Fiber Roundels|Lux 5.1|Black Line Taillights|Euphoria 6k Lights|M Steering Wheel|JB Headlight Reflector Covers|Carbon Fiber Grill|Dos Daytime Angel Eyes|Hardwired V1|Euro Fog Switch|15% Tints|Carbon Fiber Pedals|Carbon Wrapped Interior
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 05:20 PM   #30
jazza
Lieutenant
jazza's Avatar
10
Rep
405
Posts

 
Drives: F32 428i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Basque Country

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Your own question and answer are absurd. What about searching to clarify your own misinformation?

Thank you for your kind response

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
There are many threads on this but L7 is optical and would require a lot of modification.
Yes, I know, but believed it wasn't so complicated

Thank you
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 05:30 PM   #31
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by d33v00n3h View Post
So could that possibly be the reason I was quoted 1k for this install?
That could be the reason, still seems pretty high though. Running wires shouldn't be more than a couple hundred.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 08:47 PM   #32
ryme
Enlisted Member
Brunei
0
Rep
46
Posts

 
Drives: 320i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: JP

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 320i  [5.00]
Can this be fitted on a 2010 320i, without i-Drive, and no climate control?
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 09:19 PM   #33
mattsten
Private First Class
2
Rep
195
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E90
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: TN

iTrader: (3)

Hmmm....looks nice. If someone with a base unit in a 2010 or pre 9/10 build 2011 installs this it appears as though they should get a better sounding system as well, at least it will be better suited to adding an amp. Maybe technic can chime in on this, but the signal this is putting out should be a flat curve and if the built in amp is 50x4 it would probably be an upgrade over the non external amped system. And if the curve is flat, it would be set up perfect for adding a four channel amp....
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 09:36 PM   #34
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattsten View Post
Hmmm....looks nice. If someone with a base unit in a 2010 or pre 9/10 build 2011 installs this it appears as though they should get a better sounding system as well, at least it will be better suited to adding an amp. Maybe technic can chime in on this, but the signal this is putting out should be a flat curve and if the built in amp is 50x4 it would probably be an upgrade over the non external amped system. And if the curve is flat, it would be set up perfect for adding a four channel amp....
Sounds about right, any headunit upgrade is usually better than OEM, especially with a vehicle that is standard audio as it will push more power to the stock speakers. Also the RCA's make it very easy for an amplifier like you stated, and includes easy remote wire tapping.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2010, 09:37 PM   #35
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryme View Post
Can this be fitted on a 2010 320i, without i-Drive, and no climate control?
How do you have a vehicle with no climate control? Surely it will work though.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2010, 02:00 AM   #36
ryme
Enlisted Member
Brunei
0
Rep
46
Posts

 
Drives: 320i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: JP

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 320i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
How do you have a vehicle with no climate control? Surely it will work though.
I meant instead of having the automatic air-conditioning,mine is fitted with only the basic air-conditioning,i.e 3 knobs instead of 2 knobs.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2010, 02:22 AM   #37
Tee212
Banned
United_States
59
Rep
4,545
Posts

 
Drives: yes
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Riverside

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2010 335  [4.00]
Send a message via AIM to Tee212 Send a message via MSN to Tee212
very cool solution
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2010, 10:26 AM   #38
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryme View Post
I meant instead of having the automatic air-conditioning,mine is fitted with only the basic air-conditioning,i.e 3 knobs instead of 2 knobs.
Okay, for this unit you would need to upgrade it to the auto AC.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2010, 02:03 PM   #39
Sergio-K
Enlisted Member
Sergio-K's Avatar
Greece
0
Rep
39
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Athens

iTrader: (0)

Dynavin E9X On 335i E92

I'm watching carefully your thread cause as of today i'm also the owner of a
Dynavin E9X which i'm planning to install it to my 335i.
I'm gonna go the DIY way so i'll post some pics on your thread if you don't mind in case you want to use them on your thread.

Here are a few of what i received today.

The Main Unit


The DVB-T Tuner in which i'd like to ask wether i should install both Antennas that it came with and what is the USB port for in the back of the tuner ??


Back Side


The Main Wires, the remote control and a USB Extension Cable.


And the Bluetooth Mic, the Steering wheel buttons IR box, the IPOD cable, the GPS Antenna and 2 more USB Extensions.


Any suggestions of where to place the GPS Antenna and the 2 TV Antennas are VERY Welcomed. (As also about the USB, AV, and IPOD cables)
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2010, 02:17 PM   #40
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
Okay, for this unit you would need to upgrade it to the auto AC.
That's quite radical.

It could be possible that this unit slot for the automatic climate control can be modified in a way that the manual A/C trim (#2) can be installed:


Last edited by Technic; 12-09-2010 at 02:26 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2010, 03:31 PM   #41
tmo24
Captain
tmo24's Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
911
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335i e90 Msport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (3)

sub'd
__________________
2010 335i AW e90 Msport
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2010, 09:17 PM   #42
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
That's quite radical.

It could be possible that this unit slot for the automatic climate control can be modified in a way that the manual A/C trim (#2) can be installed:

Well the unit is obviously molded for the Auto AC so im sure it can be done but not without a good amount of effort and skill. I would assume that the auto and manual are the same size? That could be a reason if they arent.

Also Sergio,
Feel free to keep posting, i will make a DIY and such and we can compare and make sure all bases are covered!
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2010, 09:58 PM   #43
ryme
Enlisted Member
Brunei
0
Rep
46
Posts

 
Drives: 320i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: JP

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 320i  [5.00]
The reason I was asking was exactly that, I doubt the manual a/c has the same size as the auto. I think the manual one is much more bigger.

Also, is it possible to change your A/C from manual to auto? I assume it would be costly if its even possible.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2010, 12:09 AM   #44
wholloway2
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
116
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 435i M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Subscribing
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST