E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > who to use for re-mapping? 335d and 335i



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-10-2007, 02:03 PM   #23
peppernick
First Lieutenant
12
Rep
350
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D, Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
also a warranty on the re-map? or a full warranty on the engine and turbos?
A very grey area, for all tuners and not just Superchips. Make sure you get them to put it down in writing for you what they warranty. AFAIK, they won't replace the turbos and engine. Who is going to do the job if deemed neccesary? I can't see Superchips paying a dealer to sort it out. They will try to put things right if the car don't run properly. That's about it.

However, given the safety margin BMW build into their cars these days, it is very unlikely things will go wrong under 'normal' driving circumstances. Most turbo failures are cause by extensive track usage and oil starvation. To date, I haven't heard of an engine failure on non-M cars that have not received some serious tuning.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2007, 02:53 PM   #24
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
yes its certainly not for cruizing lol, for giving beans, when up to operating temperature but not for boy racer burnouts lol



PEPPERNICK, yes mate i totally agree with you, not much should go wrong but the old age prob of a dealer not payick out for a broken seat due to an 'engine tune'
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2007, 02:58 PM   #25
peppernick
First Lieutenant
12
Rep
350
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D, Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
but the old age prob of a dealer not payick out for a broken seat due to an 'engine tune'
Dude, they cannot do that. Consumer rights is too powerful in this country, use it to your advantage
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2007, 03:23 PM   #26
vivekk
THE Viv
vivekk's Avatar
England
68
Rep
4,740
Posts

 
Drives: 330i SE
Join Date: May 2005
Location: the North, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by peppernick View Post
I am getting my 335D remapped by www.ca-automotive.co.uk . They have mappers who have successfully cracked the encryption in the Infinian processor. However, the ECU has to be taken out of the car and put in a freezer to cool down before work can be done to it...
The question on everyone's lips, if I really need to ask......is the freezer made by Bosch...or is it a 'chipped' Hotpoint?!

Viv
__________________
[TiAg ▪ Dakota Black ▪ Active steering ▪ Sports suspension ▪ 162s ▪ Sports seats ▪ Al trim ▪ Bi-Xenons ▪ F&R PDC NavPro ▪ Voice control ▪ Bluetooth ▪ 6CD Logic7]


Appreciate 0
      04-10-2007, 06:02 PM   #27
peppernick
First Lieutenant
12
Rep
350
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D, Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

^^^^^LOL^^^^^^ Actually we are comtemplating liquid nitrogen to squeeze the last bit of power from it
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2007, 11:02 AM   #28
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
peppernick, am i right in saying, 'superchips' just plug and play whereas other companies actually re-map properly?

carl
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2007, 01:29 PM   #29
peppernick
First Lieutenant
12
Rep
350
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D, Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Depending on how they do it. It's up to the individual. Some take the ECU out, some do it via the OBD port. However, only very recently that tuners were able to interogate the 335 ECU via the OBD port.
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2007, 02:01 PM   #30
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
where is the company based you are going to nick?
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2007, 02:36 PM   #31
peppernick
First Lieutenant
12
Rep
350
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D, Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxb335d View Post
where is the company based you are going to nick?
Speak to Roy at www.ca-automotive.co.uk His mapper comes to you, and re-map your car at your house.
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2007, 02:58 PM   #32
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
is he coming to your house to do this?

when are you having it done nick?
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2007, 10:15 AM   #33
peppernick
First Lieutenant
12
Rep
350
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D, Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxb335d View Post
is he coming to your house to do this?

when are you having it done nick?
Monday 16 April, 12.30pm at my place.

NB. Just reminded myself to clear the freezer
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2007, 10:29 AM   #34
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
why clear the freezer?

shame its not at the place i would have popped down to have look and maybe get a before and after test drive LOL :rocks: before i take the plunge


carl
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2007, 02:42 AM   #35
Rochester BMW
Private First Class
4
Rep
178
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M Sport. On order E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, Kent, UK

iTrader: (0)

I spoke to Roy @ ca-automotive yesterday regarding having my 335 (petrol) re-mapped.

He said that no one in the industry (as far as he knows) has the correct equipment to correctly log into the cars ECU.... although he said that try again in a few months time, by which time hopefully they would have cracked it.

Figures.... He guessed at about a 40-50 bhp increase (350bhp ish) anymore than this and he would question if the brakes and other parts are up to the job (apparently 335D's have been braking parts in stock form).

Price... between £600 and £700 + vat. (not cheap)

I questioned him about DMS's claims (who are the the unit next door to them). DMS are quoting 385bhp (correct me if im wrong) but in order to achieve a 78bhp increase they just turn up the turbo boost and increase the amount of petrol injected throughout the entire rev range, I was told the correct way was to individually map the ECU at _300rpm intervals increasing the petrol intake and boost pressure accordingly to achieve maxing output without putting the engine at risk....

but as far as I know DMS offer a full warrantee with their work, so as long as that is bullet proof then a re-map to 385bhp shouldn't be a problem... also from what I've heard, DMS have a very good reputation for re-mapping high end performance cars and you don't build a reputation like that by just whacking up the boost pressure and charging £1000 for it...

As yet I haven't heard of anyone that's had their 335 petrol re-mapped this side of the pond, and im dammed if im going to be the first....

If anyone out there knows of a chipped 335 petrol please let me know....
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2007, 03:15 AM   #36
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
birds have a 380bhp one
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2007, 03:32 AM   #37
Rochester BMW
Private First Class
4
Rep
178
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M Sport. On order E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, Kent, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxb335d View Post
birds have a 380bhp one
is that the coupe thats in EVO this month?

If so, thats a 15k conversion.....?
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2007, 06:57 AM   #38
Raggie
Private First Class
2
Rep
110
Posts

 
Drives: E93 325I M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochester BMW View Post

If anyone out there knows of a chipped 335 petrol please let me know....
I am in uk.. and using Eurobhans Turbo Tuner on my 335i..

very impressive gains btw... (£270 ish delivered from usa) + 50 odd bhp..

Note that is based on their figure.. I have not put in on a dyno to check..
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2007, 07:56 AM   #39
Rochester BMW
Private First Class
4
Rep
178
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M Sport. On order E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, Kent, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raggie View Post
I am in uk.. and using Eurobhans Turbo Tuner on my 335i..

very impressive gains btw... (270 ish delivered from usa) + 50 odd bhp..

Note that is based on their figure.. I have not put in on a dyno to check..
Hi Raggie, thanks for the info, who installed the re-map? or is it one of these 'plug and play' jobbies?

Have you actually done this, or still awaiting delivery?

Thanks
Lee
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2007, 08:18 AM   #40
Raggie
Private First Class
2
Rep
110
Posts

 
Drives: E93 325I M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

hi Lee..

its plug and play.. been in the car for a while now... makes the car a different beast.

if you ever head essex way you are welcome to try it out on yours.

rags
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2007, 09:20 AM   #41
NathanJT
Techie Geek
NathanJT's Avatar
England
11
Rep
681
Posts

 
Drives: 330d M Sport Manual
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Derby, UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to NathanJT
Quote:
Originally Posted by dxb335d View Post
why clear the freezer?
There will be an EPROM of sorts in there. I've heard it before where by putting them in the freezer can cause chips such as this to reset. Never tried it myself though but friends have had success at unlocking car stereos (legally I might add) many moons ago.
__________________
330d M-Sport | Sapphire Black | Black Dakota | Nav Pro | iDrive | Bluetooth | PDC | Xenons | Hot Seats | Tracker | Blacklines
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2007, 12:34 PM   #42
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
dxb335d's Avatar
England
381
Rep
29,293
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raggie View Post
hi Lee..

its plug and play.. been in the car for a while now... makes the car a different beast.

if you ever head essex way you are welcome to try it out on yours.

rags
Hi i live in essex matey where in essex are you?

does she actually feel much quicker?

thanks

carl
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2007, 12:43 PM   #43
Raggie
Private First Class
2
Rep
110
Posts

 
Drives: E93 325I M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Carl, big differance in acceleration.. in DS using the paddles... I have seen the yellow light flicker when powering round a bend.. in 3rd...

I live near chelmsford..

This mod is only suitable for the petrol version though.. so not suitable for your machine..

Rags
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST