E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Official Dynavin BMW E9X Review, Pics, Questions, etc.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-07-2011, 12:17 PM   #1
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

ANDROID!!!! Official Dynavin BMW E9X Review, Pics, Questions, etc.

Hey Guys,

EDIT 11/8/11 - Android units are released and on the way to the USA. See recent posts.

Long time overdue but here is my review of the unit with tons of pictures. The installation guide is located at the link at the bottom!

Main Screen:


Radio:
The radio screen is one of the best IMO. The actual function of the radio is very good, I notice about the same reception as OEM. The presets work great and even update with the song titles and such on the screen like stock radios do. The SWC also work with the radio volume, mute, preset changing, and source changing like normal.



CD/DVD:
The CD/DVD screen is different from the Radio screen as you can see below, that would be one of my only gripes and i believe they are working on getting it changed over. The actual performance is great, the loading of the CD takes about the same time as OEM. I havent been able to figure out how to get song titles to display instead of "Track 01" but i am sure it can be done. This screen also is what you see if you load the CD with MP3 as data files or pictures/videos. They play very well and all works well. Again SWC work well with this feature too! Clarity is awesome on CD/DVD, it will bang and you can get higher volume before distortion compared to stock.







Bluetooth:
The bluetooth is very good, pairs with my EVO 4G with no issues and automatically does it. You can pull open the phone book and such on the unit but i found it easier to either manually enter the number on the unit from memory or just to dial it from my phone itself. The internal mic is actually surprisingly good but it does come with an external that you can suction to the windshield behind the rear view mirror that will work well also. BT button on the steering wheel also works to bring open the BT screen to dial out or what not. When you get a call it will automatically switch to BT for you!



iPod:
The iPod screens are again different than the others, see pictures below. But the unit pairs and works with my iPod Touch flawlessly. It does charge it as well. You can navigate through the menus and such on the iPod screens easily from the SWC, the touchscreen for this function is a bit different. I heard its this way due to the unit using SWC, so when you touch the screen it comes up with a menu that you can use to navigate the screen. Playback again is great as far as sound quality and such.






Camera:
Dont have one to try...

Navigation:
Unit comes with an SD card loaded with IGO8 software which i actually grew to like very much. It is a very simple program with good screens and the routes are actually very good as well. You can change a ton of settings to customize it like you want it, and i found the maps to be pretty recent as well. Id say 09+.






Aux:
Didnt test but i am pretty sure its about the same as the CD/DVD screen and usage.

SD:
Same as CD/DVD usage.

TV:
Didnt buy a digital tuner box..

I know its not a super detailed review but let me know your questions and i can answer so we can make it more thorough!


Installation:
Installation is very easy and takes some time but thats just because it involves doing many things to get it all in. Its not that difficult!

DIY Link:
www.caraudiocraze.com/E90-Install-Guide1.0.pdf

Error:
The only errors that the unit causes is if you have BMW Assist, however Dynavin sent me a piece to try and remedy this error so I will post my findings. You can also do it by putting the OEM unit in your trunk.

Last edited by Alpine328i; 11-08-2011 at 08:13 PM.
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 01:23 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

What are the Navi features

No voice recognition or Input I take it.
What about routing options?(for the Navi)
Points of interest etc.
Hows the Fm reception relative to the factory unit . I don't think the factory
unit has very strong reception.
Can you play mp3's from a Dvd.
Do have to have a Navi DVD in at all times for Nav

What base system did you start out with and how did you interface it with the speakers
and is that an improvment over the base sound?
What is your amp and speaker setup if not stock?
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 02:26 PM   #3
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
No voice recognition or Input I take it.
What about routing options?(for the Navi)
Points of interest etc.
Hows the Fm reception relative to the factory unit . I don't think the factory
unit has very strong reception.
Can you play mp3's from a Dvd.
Do have to have a Navi DVD in at all times for Nav

What base system did you start out with and how did you interface it with the speakers
and is that an improvment over the base sound?
What is your amp and speaker setup if not stock?
No voice recognition
Nav has plenty of routing options, and tons of POI
FM reception is just as bad as OEM, i agree that OEM is not very good. Thus i usually just use CD or iPod.
Yes MP3's will work on DVD
Navi is on the SD and there are two slots, but you do need the navi SD in at all times for nav to work!
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 07:14 PM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

What about your sound system

Are you running stock speakers of the head amps or your Hi Fi amp.
Any other amps or aftermarket speakers?
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 07:55 PM   #5
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Are you running stock speakers of the head amps or your Hi Fi amp.
Any other amps or aftermarket speakers?
All stock HiFi system in my car!

Definitely noticing more power from the speakers and subwoofers!
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 08:36 PM   #6
LinxuS
First Lieutenant
 
LinxuS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 389
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i e90  [4.64]
Nice writeup, and thanks for the DIY! I see myself doing this in the next month or two!

Curious, does the headunit have RCA outs or only work with factory?
LinxuS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 08:42 PM   #7
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,341
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Dynavin...if you're listening

1) Fix the GUI's - make them consistent!
2) on a related note - fix the Text - the screen is high res...dont use blown up pixellated text
3) Add HD radio - I don't want to downgrade from OEM!


and I will buy it immediately.
__________________
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 08:54 PM   #8
Jred22
Meat Puppet
 
Jred22's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Jet Black 335i e92
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 1,127
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
too bad it doesn't work with logic 7 or i might have given this a try.
Jred22 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 09:25 PM   #9
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LinxuS View Post
Nice writeup, and thanks for the DIY! I see myself doing this in the next month or two!

Curious, does the headunit have RCA outs or only work with factory?
Yes the unit has 4 channels of RCA outputs.
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 09:26 PM   #10
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Dynavin...if you're listening

1) Fix the GUI's - make them consistent!
2) on a related note - fix the Text - the screen is high res...dont use blown up pixellated text
3) Add HD radio - I don't want to downgrade from OEM!


and I will buy it immediately.
1. Agreed but the difference in them really isnt a dealbreaker.
2. I think the text is good, i understand what you are saying but i think if it was any smaller it would hard to read and people would complain about that. So its a never ending battle.
3. That would be nice too.
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 09:41 PM   #11
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,341
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
2. I think the text is good, i understand what you are saying but i think if it was any smaller it would hard to read and people would complain about that. So its a never ending battle.
Not saying make it smaller...just use a larger font instead of a smaller, blown up/zoomed font. - its a telltale sign that the gui was designed for a lower resolution panel.

The mid-market pioneer products have the same issue.
__________________
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 09:47 PM   #12
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

You said that your running stock Hi Fi Amp and speakers

So you are running the output of the Head Unit into the Hi Fi Amp .
So that would mean for it to sound better the Inputs have to provide a better signal . I thought I read some where that the Head Unit had 50 watts per channel which is more that the High Fi has, on all but the underseats. It looks like you would have wanted to run some of the speakers of that.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 11:30 PM   #13
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
So you are running the output of the Head Unit into the Hi Fi Amp .
So that would mean for it to sound better the Inputs have to provide a better signal . I thought I read some where that the Head Unit had 50 watts per channel which is more that the High Fi has, on all but the underseats. It looks like you would have wanted to run some of the speakers of that.
Well yes this is correct, the OEM headunit runs the signal to the amplifier then the amp to the speakers. I replaced the headunit with Dynavin and didn't wire anything separately so it too is putting the signal to the stock amp via the stock wiring. But yes it does output 50W on each channel.
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2011, 11:31 PM   #14
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Not saying make it smaller...just use a larger font instead of a smaller, blown up/zoomed font. - its a telltale sign that the gui was designed for a lower resolution panel.

The mid-market pioneer products have the same issue.
I see what you mean, never really noticed!
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2011, 12:06 AM   #15
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,010
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
So you are running the output of the Head Unit into the Hi Fi Amp .
So that would mean for it to sound better the Inputs have to provide a better signal . I thought I read some where that the Head Unit had 50 watts per channel which is more that the High Fi has, on all but the underseats. It looks like you would have wanted to run some of the speakers of that.
I'm sure thats 50 watts max probably 10-15 watts RMS
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2011, 12:20 AM   #16
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

yeah but hi fi is 25 max for the doors

yeah but hi fi is 25 max for the doors

What about the balanced signals for feeding the stock amp issue
does it have selectable output signals for running amps is it a balanced output

50 should be about 23 to 25 rms at least versus about 13 rms from hifi
I suppose this gets into how much each manufacturer exaggerated there specs

Last edited by ctuna; 01-08-2011 at 12:26 AM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2011, 12:31 AM   #17
Alpine328i
Noob
 
Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

Posts: 288
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
yeah but hi fi is 25 max for the doors

What about the balanced signals for feeding the stock amp issue
does it have selectable output signals for running amps is it a balanced output

50 should be about 23 to 25 rms at least versus about 13 rms from hifi
I suppose this gets into how much each manufacturer exaggerated there specs
I guess i dont really understand what you are getting at? Are you saying you dont think it is good for the HiFi amp to get more input power from the Dynavin? This would be the same scenario for any aftermarket headunit in most cars.

I havent dug into the audio settings very deeply so i dont know about the selectability of the output signals but i will look into it.
Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2011, 02:51 AM   #18
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

If the dynavin has higher output per channel

Perhaps it would sound better than the stock amp if it was driving the speakers,

or some of the speakers

Then again would the head unit drive a 2 ohm load without problems?
Since all the speakers are 2 ohm except for the L7 underseats

Last edited by ctuna; 01-09-2011 at 12:33 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2011, 06:43 AM   #19
kamara1984
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bellevue, WA

Posts: 241
iTrader: (2)

A few questions:

1. How long goes this take to boot. I know it has a separate processor etc for the gps vs. audio/video functionality. When I start the car, how long does it take before the radio plays? How long does it take before GPS is ready to go?
2. Does this unit display iPod album/cover art if its available or does it show that musical note no matter what? If it does display album art can you post a picture showing how that looks?
3. How well does bluetooth a2dp work for playing music from your phone?
4. How fast is the GPS? in terms of getting it up and running, routing, etc? Are there options for the voice for spoken directions? Female or male voice?

I wonder if anyone in the Seattle/Northwest area has this yet? I am strongly leaning towards getting this unit but would really like to check if out first.
kamara1984 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2011, 10:19 AM   #20
pkirk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

Great information! I have a unit ordered through Caraudiocraze - can't wait to receive it!

Question for you -

I don't have heated seats :-(

The strip of buttons only has the downhill control function, which I don't ever use. I would rather not use the replacement ashtray piece and prefer to just omit the strip of buttons from the installation.

1. Do you think it would be possible to leave the button disconnected from the installation without vehicle error? If not,

2. Do you think there is enough room behind the climate control to leave the button strip connected but buried behind the HU?
pkirk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2011, 10:49 AM   #21
kickdown
Private
 
kickdown's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320dA
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to kickdown
Isn't it possible to switch off the BMW Assist Feature with coding it with NCS Expert??? Pretty sure I am it would switch off the error code!

pkirk
I think you can leave the switch centre with the buttons behind the HU so if you don't use the HDC feature leave it there...
__________________
Diesel Power Europe
German forum: You ask a question and you get an answer.
US Forum: You ask a question, you get an answer and you are asked back another question.
Bulgarian Forum: You ask a question...5 people starts explaining you how dumb you are, for asking such a stupid question!!!
kickdown is offline   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2011, 11:33 AM   #22
pkirk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
I guess i dont really understand what you are getting at? Are you saying you dont think it is good for the HiFi amp to get more input power from the Dynavin? This would be the same scenario for any aftermarket headunit in most cars.

I havent dug into the audio settings very deeply so i dont know about the selectability of the output signals but i will look into it.
What opportunities exist for any different amp upgrade considerations based on this difference?
pkirk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST