E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > car audio information...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-05-2011, 03:41 PM   #1
itsy29
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: los angeles, CAlifornia

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

car audio information...

hi there! i wanted to ask information about my 2007 328i with idrive.. sorry i know this question been answered alot of times but i cant really understand or get what my looking for..

the thing is, i know i dont have fiber optics wiring, but when i went to the dealer i ask about my audio system the guy said i have hifi audio with no dsp or nonlogic 7 but i have fiber optics wiring cuz i have idrive..

now, my question is, is it true that even my audio is hifi system only with idrive i still have fiber optics wiring? or just the standard wiring?.. cuz i wanted to add some aftermarket amp and sub..

thanks alot! in advance!!
itsy29 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,152
iTrader: (0)

FYI

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=365866

There is no Fiiber optics between your Head Unit and Amp .(if you have Hi Fi)
There is fiberoptics between bluetooth , SOS, CD Changer, ipod if you
have it on something called the Most Bus(this exists idrive or standard) . If you go through the
links in the above link you will have a pretty good idea of whats
in the system , its specs and what you can do with it.

There are specs in the pdf and tis files that make things pretty clear.

Last edited by ctuna; 01-06-2011 at 01:01 AM.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2011, 04:47 PM   #3
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,152
iTrader: (0)

Some more stuff

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=368847

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=352586

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=276541&
highlight=amplifiers&page=3

http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?p=7994636

If you want to save yourself a lot of time I suggest you get in touch
with VP Electricity at Musicar of Portland he has kits of known configuration
that work with all the shims , machining and stuff you need. Also
he can give great technial support and direct you to a shop in your
area that can do the work and not a hack job if you can't self install.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2011, 09:45 AM   #4
itsy29
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: los angeles, CAlifornia

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

Thanks alot for quick reply! Wow! This is the best forum!

I'm just wondering, let say you have two amps, one for your subs and the other one for your speakers. Does it advisable to add a capacitor to your system? Does it require one?..

Thanks alot in advance!!
itsy29 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2011, 10:47 AM   #5
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,988
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsy29 View Post
hi there! i wanted to ask information about my 2007 328i with idrive.. sorry i know this question been answered alot of times but i cant really understand or get what my looking for..

the thing is, i know i dont have fiber optics wiring, but when i went to the dealer i ask about my audio system the guy said i have hifi audio with no dsp or nonlogic 7 but i have fiber optics wiring cuz i have idrive..

now, my question is, is it true that even my audio is hifi system only with idrive i still have fiber optics wiring? or just the standard wiring?.. cuz i wanted to add some aftermarket amp and sub..

thanks alot! in advance!!
The iDrive itself is no reason to have fiber optics, however if there is Assist/Bluetooth, USB, CD Changer, Sirius or HD Radio in your car then it will have fiber optics.

Regardless of having iDrive or not, fiber optics or not, adding a sub just involves finding the woofer wires in your car and tapping them as inputs to your sub amp. A LOC will be required.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2011, 11:55 AM   #6
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsy29 View Post
Thanks alot for quick reply! Wow! This is the best forum!

I'm just wondering, let say you have two amps, one for your subs and the other one for your speakers. Does it advisable to add a capacitor to your system? Does it require one?..

Thanks alot in advance!!
If you install it correctly, ie correct gauge wire, proper ground etc, ^no.

I have an M500 and a JL 500/1....it's fine without a cap but I have one wired in anyway because I had one laying around.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2011, 02:03 PM   #7
itsy29
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: los angeles, CAlifornia

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

Thanks alot! I really appreciate every reply..this is the best!!

Technic.. I have question about LOC, I found a LOC comes with sound processor, ... Here's a link...

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_18560_Hifonics-Maxxsonics-MX-1.html

.. It has a feature that turn off/on the aftermarket amp by means of signal from the sub wire, something like that.. Does this product is good that you can recommend to use for LOC? And the feature that turn off/on the aftermarket amp I don't have to buy a relay to protect the HU?... Or the best choice is having a relay and simple LOC that is compatible?


Thanks alot again in advance! Appreciate everything!
itsy29 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2011, 02:04 PM   #8
itsy29
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: los angeles, CAlifornia

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

Does anyone have an insight for this product? Pls.. Let me know!!

Thanks alot again...
itsy29 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST