E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Where is the hard drive located?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-14-2010, 07:30 AM   #45
svtfast
Captain
svtfast's Avatar
Germany
15
Rep
826
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Space/Coral
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ft. Gordon, GA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 335i Coupe  [0.00]
I am asking for some help on another forum. It has lots of geeks there so maybe we can get somewhere.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2010, 07:31 AM   #46
Snootch
Meat popsicle
United Kingdom
1
Rep
86
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Any updates on this? Doing some research on this, found some information from the unlikeliness of sources, the Dodge Charger forums:

http://www.chargerforums.com/forums/...ad.php?t=82946

Apparently there is an optional multimedia interface called MyGig available for the Dodge Charger and Avenger and it is HDD based. it seems to use a PATA 30GB HDD, and a QNX4 filesystem. It is also interestingly enough made by Harmann-Becker (German Company) which I bet is the source for the iDrive system as well. It looks like in the first link I posted they are looking to do the same thing we are trying to do. Here's a link to the Mygig forums where they discuss lots of stuff regarding swapping drives: http://mofv.com/mygig/

It seems Acronis can clone a drive with QNX partitions, I wonder if it can extend them? I may see if I can get a hold of QNX4 and install it on a laptop, then try to extend a partition. still researching...

EDIT: Think I found the solution. Check out this post from www.nitroforumz.com:

Quote:
Originally Posted by syrinx
Thanks for all the info -- especially Chill! I installed a new HD in my car yestarday, and it's working great. I did it a bit differently, but got all the info from this thread.

I used a WD3200BEVE for the new drive, which is 320GB -- way too much, but the price wasn't much more. I put both the new and old drives in external cases, and connected to my desktop using USB. Then I cloned the original disk to the new one using CloneZilla. Then with both drives still attached, I booted into QNX using their live CD. I fdisk'd the new drive, and deleted the fourth partition, then created a new blank one using all remaining space. Then I formated it with initd -h /dev/hd10t80 (hd10 was the new drive). Then I copied all files from the old disk's fourth partition onto the new disk's fourth partition, except for the files in the root of the fourth partition starting with a dot -- I assume these are used by the OS. I found the qnx graphical tools useless, so just did everything from the command line to make sure I didn't mess up the original drive.

After reinstalling, I have 288 GB available for songs. That should be enough for 50 or 60 thousand songs!

Interestingly, I can mount the qnx4 partitions no problem in ubuntu. It supports qnx4 partition types out of the box using a live cd. The partition is mounted read only, but it's useful for poking around.
So it looks like it may be possible to delete the music partition once the drive has been cloned, and create a new replacement partition using the remaining space on the new HDD. Now here's the problem. I know nothing of Linux... Anyone familiar with the OS, and can help hammer out a process to delete and create partitions uning the Linux command line?

Oh, and I was able to find a few PATA HDD's:
320GB:
http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CF0Q8wIwAA#

160GB: http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CH0Q8wIwCA#
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by Snootch; 10-11-2010 at 07:54 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2010, 08:37 AM   #47
m_thompson
Major
m_thompson's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
1,146
Posts

 
Drives: M-Sport 128i, 328xi, 3.0CS
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New England, USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 128i  [0.00]
1972 3.0CS  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snootch View Post
Those WD drives are only rated down to 32F when operating. The original Toshiba drive is rated to -22F. I am not sure how to compare the WD power spectral density specification for vibration to the Toshiba shock values. I would not be surprised to find that the Toshiba can handle more shock and vibration than the WD.
__________________
'09 128i - Black Sapphire Metallic\Coral Red\Glacier Silver\N51 DISA\6MT\Navigation\Premium\M-Sport\Heated seats\Xenon Headlights\iPod\Smartphone\Euro Delivery

Appreciate 0
      10-11-2010, 10:10 AM   #48
Snootch
Meat popsicle
United Kingdom
1
Rep
86
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_thompson View Post
Those WD drives are only rated down to 32F when operating. The original Toshiba drive is rated to -22F. I am not sure how to compare the WD power spectral density specification for vibration to the Toshiba shock values. I would not be surprised to find that the Toshiba can handle more shock and vibration than the WD.
True, according to the published specs. I have had a carpc built into my previous car for 3-4 years, and never had a problem with the WD 160GB 2.5" SATA drive I had in it. Even on freezing mornings. I understand the original 80GB Toshiba is supposed to be "ruggedized" and able to handle a wider extreme of temps, but no one will make a automotive IDE drive, The interface is too old. However- I have not taken delivery of my 335 yet (2-1/2 more weeks!) I wil have a look to see if the interface of the 2011 is still IDE, or if they moved on to SATA.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2010, 03:55 AM   #49
Alpina_Matt
New Member
Alpina_Matt's Avatar
Germany
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: Alpina B5s
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Hi Snootch,

thanks for the posted results of the research you did.
I was looking for this piece of information some time.

I'm about to upgrade my E61 with the new CIC nav in the next weeks.
After that I will try to change the Toshiba HDD for a larger SSD.
To increase boot time, reliability and space for stored music files.

Did you have already the time to test upgrading of the HDD based on the step-by-step description you found?

Based on my research the following device is a very good choice:
- PhotoFast G-Monster 2,5" IDE V3 SSD 128 GB mit 64MB on-board cache
The fastest IDE SSD with already built-in garbage command.
Japanese manufacturer website http://www.photofast.co.jp/gmon25_v3.html
But I'm not 100% sure concerning compatibility - just have to test.

As soon as I have the CIC up and running I will order the SSD and give it a try.

br,
Matt
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2010, 06:29 AM   #50
pindour
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

 
Drives: x5
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: zahradcice

iTrader: (0)

Is possible, HDD from one CIC unit to insert another unit CIC?
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2010, 05:10 PM   #51
E92Carrera
First Lieutenant
E92Carrera's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
333
Posts

 
Drives: Black Sapphire E92
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: LA

iTrader: (1)

Let me know how things work out or if I can help (Software Engineer), definitely interested in trying this.
__________________
2014 F30 Estoril Blue 335i - M-Sport - Euro Delivery

2011 E92 Space Gray - M-Sport - Euro Delivery

2008 E92 Black Sapphire - Black Interior - Aluminum Trim
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2010, 07:47 PM   #52
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

With an 160gb external drive connected to the usb port, I have no reason to expand the internal hard drive.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2010, 08:06 AM   #53
jammyman9
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

In Computer we find Hard Drive in Cpu .The computer was for a customer. They wanted windows 98, a fresh install of XP while keeping their old Xp install. A new Hard drive was purchased for the new OS's along with a Sata controller as their computer did not have Sata. The Sata controller and 250GB HD was cheaper than the 250 ATA HD with shipping.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 01:58 AM   #54
pindour
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

 
Drives: x5
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: zahradcice

iTrader: (0)

I want to make a Czech language in CIC, can someone help me please?
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2011, 02:47 AM   #55
808MGuy
Colonel
808MGuy's Avatar
49
Rep
2,287
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotary Rasp View Post
well, according to the manual, the 6fl option can only read 16,000 mp3s. (I haven't confirmed this)

also, I have 145gb (35,000 mp3s) of music so a 64gb jump drive won't cut it.

lastly, the stock drive is most likely 4200 or 5400 rpm. upgrading to a 7200 rpm drive would increase the overall system speed.
I have a full 32GB flash drive and I have nowhere near 16,000 files. What compression are you using to put that many files in that little space? I use either 224kbps VBR or at least 256kbps CBR. I do have a couple of folder with uncompressed .wav files as well just for critical listening purposes.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

Appreciate 0
      03-02-2011, 03:06 AM   #56
ttam
Major
ttam's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
1,094
Posts

 
Drives: Chevrolet movie theater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (19)

Garage List
2009 328i  [3.17]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snootch View Post
Any updates on this? Doing some research on this, found some information from the unlikeliness of sources, the Dodge Charger forums:

http://www.chargerforums.com/forums/...ad.php?t=82946

Apparently there is an optional multimedia interface called MyGig available for the Dodge Charger and Avenger and it is HDD based. it seems to use a PATA 30GB HDD, and a QNX4 filesystem. It is also interestingly enough made by Harmann-Becker (German Company) which I bet is the source for the iDrive system as well. It looks like in the first link I posted they are looking to do the same thing we are trying to do. Here's a link to the Mygig forums where they discuss lots of stuff regarding swapping drives: http://mofv.com/mygig/

It seems Acronis can clone a drive with QNX partitions, I wonder if it can extend them? I may see if I can get a hold of QNX4 and install it on a laptop, then try to extend a partition. still researching...

EDIT: Think I found the solution. Check out this post from www.nitroforumz.com:



So it looks like it may be possible to delete the music partition once the drive has been cloned, and create a new replacement partition using the remaining space on the new HDD. Now here's the problem. I know nothing of Linux... Anyone familiar with the OS, and can help hammer out a process to delete and create partitions uning the Linux command line?

Oh, and I was able to find a few PATA HDD's:
320GB:
http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CF0Q8wIwAA#

160GB: http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CH0Q8wIwCA#
Any updates on this?
If you still need help with the linux stuff shoot me a PM.
Better yet, If you can dd the drive to a local file that would probably be best =D
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2011, 02:06 PM   #57
persian54
Lieutenant General
persian54's Avatar
United_States
283
Rep
15,810
Posts

 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pindour View Post
I want to make a Czech language in CIC, can someone help me please?
The only upgrade(s) I'd see useful would be language ones

Since more space for music can be fixed with a USB stick
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2011, 09:08 PM   #58
Losco
Second Lieutenant
Japan
4
Rep
231
Posts

 
Drives: F10 528i M-sport
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Japan

iTrader: (0)

a word of warning, automotive HDD differs so much from desktop HDD, in many aspect(mostly durability) I don't recommend doing swaps if you plan to use retail drives. how do I know this? I work in HDD business if you put in a retail drive I doubt it will survive more than a year depending on road condition, temp & humidity. although bigger challenge lies with modifying partition table to increase user data area imo.
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2011, 01:43 PM   #59
x3m75
Registered
1
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: X6
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Broken HDD

Hi Guys,

My hard drive went dead after buying a retrofit kit from the Canadians at the bimmerretrofit and they have taken forever to get an answer back to me regarding this issue, so finally they claim that I kind of messed up the drive so they are willing to go halfways with the new drive costs.

Anyway I could use the image of the QNX OS so I can put my own drive in there and give it a try.

Do you guys have an image of your HDD or could you make one and share the ISO?

Thank you,
Chris
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 08:09 PM   #60
Nightfly
Private
Nightfly's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
97
Posts

 
Drives: 09' E93
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Losco View Post
a word of warning, automotive HDD differs so much from desktop HDD, in many aspect(mostly durability) I don't recommend doing swaps if you plan to use retail drives. how do I know this? I work in HDD business if you put in a retail drive I doubt it will survive more than a year depending on road condition, temp & humidity. although bigger challenge lies with modifying partition table to increase user data area imo.
More to the point and just to throw a spanner in the works, if you're doing a replacement why not make the jump to a SSD?
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2011, 09:15 PM   #61
dryicerx
First Lieutenant
11
Rep
382
Posts

 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (1)

Any updates on this?

I'm interested in looking in to this as well. I saw a few earlier posts mentioning you guys dd'd the hard drive image, is there anyway you can share that with me? Please PM me.

I'm a software engineer and work with a quite a few low level folks itching for a fun side project... this seems like something fun to look in to.
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2011, 09:28 AM   #62
aaabbbyyy
Private First Class
3
Rep
107
Posts

 
Drives: E90-318
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CHINA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeFKnoL View Post
I have put this on the back burner. But my last status was that I attempted to mount the actual drive (not the mirrored one) and got the exact same results. I even put the mirrored drive into the car and it worked flawlessly so I am confident that using dd did indeed produce a perfect copy (as I expected).

I searched around for a driver for this filesystem with no luck. I even downloaded QNX and tried mounting it under tha and still got the same results. I tried all of the Wind River demos that I could with still no results.

My only assumption at this point is that BMW is using a proprietary format on these drives. Likely, the OS is in a chip in the CIC and it just knows how to read the data on the drives without even doing a conventional mount. I guess it would take some hardcore reverse engineering (beyond my current expertise) to read the data off this thing.
hlep!
how to mirrored one new HDD?
use DD in linux? or use GHOSt in dos?
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2012, 02:46 PM   #63
877
Enlisted Member
877's Avatar
6
Rep
38
Posts

 
Drives: E91 320d Sports+
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

To revive an old thread...

I am getting CIC model soon (4wks) and am happy to try and rip a 1:1 copy off the HDD and upload for everyone.

Not bothered with upgrading to larger HDD as I have iphone/memory stick etc.. I would just like to see if there is any structure to the POI and can they be added to the image file.

Any pointers on how to rip the HDD would be good, in the meantime I am looking up how to install Linux on my laptop (Win XP x86) or PC (Win 7 x64) and which version is best.
__________________
E91 Touring 320d Sports Plus automatic / Le Mans blue / black Dakota leather / 7KB Prof Media package / 494 heated seats / 488 lumbar support / 4B9 aluminium trim
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2012, 05:19 PM   #64
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 877 View Post
To revive an old thread...

I am getting CIC model soon (4wks) and am happy to try and rip a 1:1 copy off the HDD and upload for everyone.

Not bothered with upgrading to larger HDD as I have iphone/memory stick etc.. I would just like to see if there is any structure to the POI and can they be added to the image file.

Any pointers on how to rip the HDD would be good, in the meantime I am looking up how to install Linux on my laptop (Win XP x86) or PC (Win 7 x64) and which version is best.

Excellent, can't wait to hear your results. I've been meaning to make an image of the drive in my car just in case it crashes once I'm out of warranty.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2012, 06:02 PM   #65
877
Enlisted Member
877's Avatar
6
Rep
38
Posts

 
Drives: E91 320d Sports+
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

No probs - could do with some pointers on how to rip HDD though :-)
__________________
E91 Touring 320d Sports Plus automatic / Le Mans blue / black Dakota leather / 7KB Prof Media package / 494 heated seats / 488 lumbar support / 4B9 aluminium trim
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2012, 08:44 PM   #66
elbman
Private
United_States
0
Rep
50
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 X3 35i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Suwanee, Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Symantec Ghost or Acronis software, once the drive is connected via a USB enclosure to the PC you will use for create the image.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
hard drive, partition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST