E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Pics of Clean Aftermarket Navigation Instructions? {E90}



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-24-2009, 06:53 PM   #111
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,128
iTrader: (2)

It was around €500 delivered, however, it is a Europe only system, but the maps are just on a card and I never tried running different software.

I guess they could easily do one with US maps.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 07:08 PM   #112
mcflow
New Member
 
Drives: 3-door Hatch
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

Hey guys,

i just looked through this thread and I thought that maybe my version could help you too.

Have a look over here: Klick



cheers
Flo
mcflow is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2009, 02:46 AM   #113
and1bball919
It's not just about horsepower, but how powerful your horses are.
 
and1bball919's Avatar
 
Drives: MG Delivery truck
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California

Posts: 548
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to and1bball919
[QUOTE

Have a look over here: Klick

/QUOTE]

Looks very clean!! wonder how much tat setup is ?
and1bball919 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2009, 02:01 AM   #114
and1bball919
It's not just about horsepower, but how powerful your horses are.
 
and1bball919's Avatar
 
Drives: MG Delivery truck
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California

Posts: 548
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to and1bball919
bump
and1bball919 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2009, 09:15 AM   #115
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by italiano1980 View Post
Can someone tell me where the guy with the jvc unit found the VSS wire. How hard was it to find and was it installed?

Thanks
You need to use something like the Soundgate CANVSS

http://www.soundgate.com/index.php?r...97418eb565d176
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2009, 09:21 AM   #116
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpapapablo View Post
can anyone write up a DIY for installing an aftermarket headunit?


I would love to have that JVC in my car. small single single din headunit with navigation built in......

how would one go about replacing the headunit? is it just a matter of a wiring harness and getting the radio out?

thanks
Just get the wiring harness and dash kit from Scosche or metra and you need to pull the constant 12V from the battery. Just verify the pins on the wiring harness with this...

Radio Harness

Pin#
1 REAR RIGHT SPEAKER +
2 FRONT RIGHT SPEAKER +
3 FRONT LEFT SPEAKER +
4 REAR LEFT SPEAKER +
5 REAR RIGHT SPEAKER -
6 FRONT RIGHT SPEAKER -
7 FRONT LEFT SPEAKER -
8 REAR LEFT SPEAKER -
9 CAN Low
10 Empty
11 CAN high
12 GROUND
13 Antenna (remote turn on)
14 Illumination
15 +12V constant (not constant-get it from the battery)
16 Empty
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2009, 05:44 PM   #117
omelet1978
Private First Class
 
omelet1978's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 330i w/ Premium Package
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Las Vegas

Posts: 162
iTrader: (0)

Bought a Garmin Nuvi 255WT with lifetime traffic. Had it hard wired into my car today. Turns on and off when I turn the car off. The color of it matches the dash and I really like it.

Cost was $185 for the gps and about $45 to have it hard wired.

I decided to keep it simple and just use the windshield mount. Wost comes to worse I can remove both the gps and the mount. Anyway, here are the pics!

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]
omelet1978 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2009, 12:17 PM   #118
mcflow
New Member
 
Drives: 3-door Hatch
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by and1bball919 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcflow

Have a look over here: Klick
Looks very clean!! wonder how much tat setup is ?
Hey there

Thank you. I forgot to take a look in this thread - sorry

But did you have a look on that link? There are all information in there.

Round about 390,- Euros

cheers
mcflow is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2010, 03:30 AM   #119
Edge
E9X Padawan
 
Drives: E92 320d '10
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Playing Hide + Seek

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

I have a custom install in my 1er http://www.babybmw.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16056

I am looking to do the same in my upcoming E92, however I am trying to find out if there is an in-dash tray for the E92 as there is for the 1er??

I am hoping to exchange the dash vent for a tray, and move my AVIC from the 1er to the 3er. Does anyone know if it is possible to disconnect the vent and fit a tray for this purpose??

Finished Product.....





Enjoy

E
__________________
Awaiting - 2010 320d Coupe - Bluewater, Cruise, 313M's, Oyster/Black Leather
Current - 118d - Blacklines, Bluefin, AVIC F500bt, BKG
Edge is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2010, 03:47 AM   #120
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,128
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge View Post
.......I am trying to find out if there is an in-dash tray for the E92 as there is for the 1er??
There isn't mate.

Maybe best to sell it and get the double din version??

You can pic up an F700BT for peanuts these days.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2010, 03:50 AM   #121
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,128
iTrader: (2)

You could attach the bracket to the trim that is in the centre of the dash, hides the speaker on a logic7 car, you can then hardwire down under that.

I did that with our E91 touring...




Jump in and clip it on, no wires to attach.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-11-2010, 04:19 PM   #122
Edge
E9X Padawan
 
Drives: E92 320d '10
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Playing Hide + Seek

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
There isn't mate.

Maybe best to sell it and get the double din version??

You can pic up an F700BT for peanuts these days.
Bit gutted tbh, would like to keep the F500bt seeing as how I have updated the fw and made some custom changes etc

Going to take it out before trading it in anyway, taking the pro hu and tweeters as well, will sell them on the forums.

I like the F700bt idea, but there is quite a lot of faffing about required to fit a double din unit into the E92 is there not? Do you not have to move the hu to the boot and suchlike? Dunno how that affects the multi changer prep etc??

Looked at the F20 and F920 as well but too £££! there is an aftermarket nav solution due at end of month which I have seen on here which looks intriguing!

I will need to do a lot more reading and look at getting a custom fascia as well.

Nice setup on the touring, always a fan of your set-ups and still very grateful for all the help with fitting the F500.

U should make a trip up to the blue north and I will spot you a few scoops for all your help.


E
__________________
Awaiting - 2010 320d Coupe - Bluewater, Cruise, 313M's, Oyster/Black Leather
Current - 118d - Blacklines, Bluefin, AVIC F500bt, BKG
Edge is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2010, 03:22 AM   #123
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,128
iTrader: (2)

Double din is pretty easy.

You can buy adpaters for around £90 that do everything, like retain PDC and get the steering wheel controls to work etc. I wouldn't worry about relocating the head unit.

You can buy a fascia now for peanuts.

£500 all fitted I reckon.



Why not order a cover for the dash from BMW parts, the one you can see in my pic above, and have a try mounting the F500bt.
You should be able to get it looking really neat.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2010, 03:23 AM   #124
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,128
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge View Post
U should make a trip up to the blue north and I will spot you a few scoops for all your help.

Next time I'm up on business I will hold you to that!!
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2010, 04:22 AM   #125
E92Vancouver
First Lieutenant
 
E92Vancouver's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 328, 2011 Acura MDX
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 316
iTrader: (0)

This is sweet!!

E92Vancouver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2010, 04:31 PM   #126
dre_2ooo
...
 
dre_2ooo's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 135i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 359
iTrader: (0)

Ya but $250 for a trim kit !
dre_2ooo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-12-2010, 03:36 PM   #127
ice_nyne
Perpetual Kickdown Mode
 
ice_nyne's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 N51 M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: So Cal

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Vancouver View Post
This is sweet!!
Yeah, but how do you install that stereo? Aren't our connections fiber optic?
ice_nyne is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-18-2010, 03:23 PM   #128
dre_2ooo
...
 
dre_2ooo's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 135i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 359
iTrader: (0)

Anyone done this?

http://forum.androidcentral.com/evo-...cle-mount.html
dre_2ooo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2010, 01:57 AM   #129
Slwdrvr
Second Lieutenant
 
Slwdrvr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 e90 328i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 626, CA

Posts: 238
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Vancouver View Post
This is sweet!!

did you plug your ipod thru an aux port or usb port? if i used the aux port, would my ipod work with this double din?
Slwdrvr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-22-2010, 12:15 PM   #130
Lacrypta
New Member
 
Drives: e90 sedan
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arizona

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 e90 328i  [0.00]
How about this one

How about this its semi clean and in-dash.
Attached Images
   

Last edited by Lacrypta; 11-24-2010 at 04:42 AM.
Lacrypta is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-09-2011, 09:40 AM   #131
amullo
E91 Diesel abuser
 
amullo's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 LCI 320da Msport
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Posts: 202
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
You could attach the bracket to the trim that is in the centre of the dash, hides the speaker on a logic7 car, you can then hardwire down under that.

I did that with our E91 touring...


Jump in and clip it on, no wires to attach.
That is the exact same setup we have in our E91 with a Garmin Nüvi. Works well.

Has no one brought up The DYNAVIN unit? Granted.. Its 800 bucks, but it gives you f@cking everything from GPS, Bluetooth phone, CD, DVD, TV, IPOD, USB, memorycard to just normal radio and all the buttons on the wheel work just fine!
http://www.jlevistreetwerks.com/3-Se...duct_info.html
__________________
//amullo
-09 E91 LCI M-Sport 320d - Stage 1 (215hp/420nm/47MPG average)
-10 Ducati Multstrada 1200s
amullo is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      02-09-2011, 09:46 AM   #132
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,699
iTrader: (9)

hmm, that jlevi device is nice - I don't think it existed even a few months ago, far more so when the thread was started.

I wonder if it is compatible with Logic 7, though... probably not.
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST