E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > procede n55 map1 to map2



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-01-2011, 11:43 AM   #1
Keik E92 M3
Banned
United_States
49
Rep
1,346
Posts

 
Drives: BMW M3 DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2009 BMW  [4.50]
2011 BMW 335i  [3.40]
procede n55 map1 to map2

When i go from stock (map0) to map 1 i can feel the difference in performance.
but when i go from map 1 to map 2 it feels exactly the same as map 1.... Any other n55 owners feel the same way?
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2011, 11:46 AM   #2
Brey335i
Brigadier General
Brey335i's Avatar
52
Rep
4,737
Posts

 
Drives: e46 ///M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (11)

Because from map 0 - map 1 you're gaining much more boost than from map 1 - map 2
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2011, 01:13 PM   #3
grandmoff
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
144
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 e92 335i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (1)

Somewhat related question, are there any prerequisites to using Map2? I haven't seen any offhand but figured I would ask before I played with it.

@keikdasneak are you modded aside from the PROcede?
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2011, 01:43 PM   #4
Slops
Major General
Slops's Avatar
South Africa
61
Rep
5,368
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

iTrader: (2)

The difference between map 1 and 2 is 1psi of boost more, and auto-tuning the car for that change. As far as i know there are no pre-req for map2 but i'd run 93 octane if your not running it normally ... which I do even at stock.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2011, 02:17 PM   #5
Keik E92 M3
Banned
United_States
49
Rep
1,346
Posts

 
Drives: BMW M3 DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2009 BMW  [4.50]
2011 BMW 335i  [3.40]
Quote:
Originally Posted by grandmoff View Post
Somewhat related question, are there any prerequisites to using Map2? I haven't seen any offhand but figured I would ask before I played with it.

@keikdasneak are you modded aside from the PROcede?

I only have the procede and a drop in air filter...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sloppy View Post
The difference between map 1 and 2 is 1psi of boost more, and auto-tuning the car for that change. As far as i know there are no pre-req for map2 but i'd run 93 octane if your not running it normally ... which I do even at stock.
I run 91 octane only... "California"


So map 2 really isn't much if i am basically stock with procede and drop in filter running 91octane? Should i just stay at map 1?
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2011, 02:23 PM   #6
Jalndrs
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

From what I am hearing most people go to map 2 when they also add a down pipe. I am running map 1 now and going to map 2 this weekend when I install my downpipe.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2011, 02:25 PM   #7
Slops
Major General
Slops's Avatar
South Africa
61
Rep
5,368
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

iTrader: (2)

i'm not even going to touch my intake until it actually becomes a bottleneck. I bought the Procede v5 and their downpipe and i plan on going straight to map2 on 93 octane when i get both
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2011, 01:00 AM   #8
shockin330i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,201
Posts

 
Drives: blue
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: f y'all, I'm from Texas (RGV)

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by keikdasneak View Post
I only have the procede and a drop in air filter...



I run 91 octane only... "California"


So map 2 really isn't much if i am basically stock with procede and drop in filter running 91octane? Should i just stay at map 1?
You need to let the engine autotune itself. You need to do 2 or 3 3rd gear pulls in map 2 to get it going.

With that said, if you limp on 1 you sure as hell will limp on 2.
__________________
ERnie 2011 AW/e90/n55 12.9@107.53mph
*N55 Moderator*
I'm crawling similar to a ant cuz I'm low to the earth
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2011, 08:54 AM   #9
Slops
Major General
Slops's Avatar
South Africa
61
Rep
5,368
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shockin330i View Post
You need to let the engine autotune itself. You need to do 2 or 3 3rd gear pulls in map 2 to get it going.

With that said, if you limp on 1 you sure as hell will limp on 2.
+1 , no reason to even attempt map 2 if your not flying high on map 1 without issues
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST