E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY Non CCC monitor+navi



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-10-2011, 03:54 AM   #1
Jety
New Member
3
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 3er E90
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Caucasus

iTrader: (0)

DIY Non CCC monitor+navi

Hi !

I had BMW 3ser E90 without BMW on-board monitor.
I installed a mini flip-up monitor in the dashboard with the universal video input and connected it to the rear-view cam.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=372704

But the monitor's size (3.6") was too small to watch TV or movies....
and I started a new project ))))

I use the Volvo multimedia monitor INTRO chr-7005
http://img855.imageshack.us/i/chr7005volvoxc90.jpg/

... make a hole in the dashboard

http://img823.imageshack.us/i/img1680c.jpg/
http://img191.imageshack.us/i/img1681ef.jpg/
http://img232.imageshack.us/i/img1682n.jpg/

... installed the monitor

http://img714.imageshack.us/i/img1964pb.jpg/
http://img835.imageshack.us/i/img1966a.jpg/
http://img845.imageshack.us/i/img1972.jpg/

... fixed monitor with such brackets

http://img508.imageshack.us/i/img1970k.jpg/
http://img851.imageshack.us/i/img1974.jpg/

i didn't finished yet but what I have now

http://img29.imageshack.us/i/img1976x.jpg/
http://img232.imageshack.us/i/img1978u.jpg/
http://img695.imageshack.us/i/img1979s.jpg/
http://img855.imageshack.us/i/img1980.jpg/
http://img801.imageshack.us/i/img1981z.jpg/
http://img109.imageshack.us/i/img1982rm.jpg/

.... and some motion pictures )))

[url]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JeZ9emluH0w&context=C3ef7aa6ADOEgsToPDskL1 99bgEcZkzwRMluKvEO1P[url]

Last edited by Jety; 01-24-2012 at 05:08 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 05:06 PM   #2
giovane
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
138
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i, 2008 e70 3.0si
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (3)

Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 06:45 PM   #3
dziqsek
Banned
Poland
19
Rep
111
Posts

Drives: 2008 E91 320d
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: JG, Poland

iTrader: (0)

Yeah great idea man!! Looks perfect but works kinda slow TBO , is it possible to put there some modern handy-navi ?
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:07 PM   #4
lpphreakx06
Professional Moose Racer
lpphreakx06's Avatar
Vietnam
200
Rep
7,572
Posts

Drives: SG 335i E92 RIP + 2015 SS M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bellevue, Wa

iTrader: (25)

That's sick.
__________________
Visit my blog anytime: http://www.sfpayments.com

BMW Dream Team PNW Chapter, member #1
|HP Autowerks | AR DESIGN | BMW PERFORMANCE | STOP TECH | Volk Racing| AMS | ARKYM
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 01:38 AM   #5
Jety
New Member
3
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 3er E90
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Caucasus

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******* View Post
Yeah great idea man!! Looks perfect but works kinda slow TBO , is it possible to put there some modern handy-navi ?
You're right, it works a bit slow, but there are a lot of different modification of this kind of Volvo multimedia devices so you can find faster one. This device includes navi software (also has an external GPS antenna, USB interface to watch video, 3 audio-video-in interfaces for DVD and different cams etc.)
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 02:49 AM   #6
335iFab
Black Guy
3
Rep
166
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SF

iTrader: (0)

Thumbs up

its a little laggy but that is sick
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 09:56 AM   #7
txusa03
Major General
212
Rep
6,567
Posts

Drives: TS330iPPSP6MT
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (3)

That is wicked dude, but I cannot get over the fact that it say Volvo on the startup screen.
__________________
under construction!
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2011, 09:30 AM   #8
killakill
Captain
9
Rep
612
Posts

Drives: e92328xi (SOLD), e93 328i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: toronto

iTrader: (2)

navi

thats amazing, i have the oem, but i much rather have a screen that comes out like that great work
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2011, 03:13 PM   #9
RaymondNguyen
Private First Class
2
Rep
100
Posts

Drives: 335xi 2008
Join Date: May 2010
Location: philadelphia

iTrader: (6)

i think u should get the Screen from Z4 is better look more and it will show bmw on the startup screen..aniway it's very good idea i ever see
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2011, 01:09 PM   #10
rollinstone157
Brotographer
rollinstone157's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
1,738
Posts

Drives: F30 335xi
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Does this screen motor up like the old one did? That's very slick I must say.

EDIT: Gah, stupid question. Sorry, my school's network was wonky today, and embedded youtube videos weren't showing up properly. I see that the display does move on its own.

Last edited by rollinstone157; 04-06-2011 at 04:49 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2012, 09:45 AM   #11
kavadarci
Lieutenant
21
Rep
568
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

how much was the unit, where did you buy from?
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2015, 11:16 PM   #12
carter_gl
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: lci e90 328i
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Nice install

Saw the youtube vids
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2015, 06:30 AM   #13
Jety
New Member
3
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 3er E90
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Caucasus

iTrader: (0)

ThanX a lot)
More pics at
http://www.drive2.ru/l/288230376152754865/
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST