E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-10-2011, 04:55 PM   #2157
mark19uk
New Member
mark19uk's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 320
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to mark19uk
Help
Ive searched through here, sorry if ive missed the answer,
Having updated my KOMBI i now have a couple of service maintenance messages i cant get rid of.
1: is a red exhaust with a a fan, and service date of 01/2001
and 2: a yellow cruise control warning.

Cruise control works fine, and tried resetting the date on the first error (the old fashioned way) but no success.

Can these errors be cleared with INPALOAD? and if so, can someone point me in the right direction as to how?

cheers

mark
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 05:42 PM   #2158
Mike Benvo
www.bpmsport.com
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,813
Posts

 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark19uk View Post
Help
Ive searched through here, sorry if ive missed the answer,
Having updated my KOMBI i now have a couple of service maintenance messages i cant get rid of.
1: is a red exhaust with a a fan, and service date of 01/2001
and 2: a yellow cruise control warning.

Cruise control works fine, and tried resetting the date on the first error (the old fashioned way) but no success.

Can these errors be cleared with INPALOAD? and if so, can someone point me in the right direction as to how?

cheers

mark
What did you try to code that caused this? Do you have your .trc files before/after?
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 06:50 PM   #2159
spera23
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (3)

Is it possible to code the Navi screen to for DVDs? I know there was big progress made for the DVD IN MOTION, but as far as I know that was CIC models.

Is there anyway to get DVD on CCC models???
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 06:58 PM   #2160
Mike Benvo
www.bpmsport.com
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,813
Posts

 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by spera23 View Post
Is it possible to code the Navi screen to for DVDs? I know there was big progress made for the DVD IN MOTION, but as far as I know that was CIC models.

Is there anyway to get DVD on CCC models???
Unfortunately there is no way to natively play DVDs on CCC based models. The DVD drive is for music and the navigation DVD only.

You can enable it with external modules however. I was going to do that but instead I'm going to retrofit the CIC unit to my car. It's worth it at this point.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 07:01 PM   #2161
spera23
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Powerchip View Post
Unfortunately there is no way to natively play DVDs on CCC based models. The DVD drive is for music and the navigation DVD only.

You can enable it with external modules however. I was going to do that but instead I'm going to retrofit the CIC unit to my car. It's worth it at this point.

Hmm, I thought that might be the case.

Thanks for the reply.

I PM'ed you with an additional question, didn't want to get too off topic on here.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 07:04 PM   #2162
BrynDN
Private
1
Rep
89
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Powerchip View Post
Unfortunately there is no way to natively play DVDs on CCC based models. The DVD drive is for music and the navigation DVD only.

You can enable it with external modules however. I was going to do that but instead I'm going to retrofit the CIC unit to my car. It's worth it at this point.
Hey Mike - Noticed the Efficient Dynamics code in your sig PDF. What module and variable did you set to enable this? I realize you have an M3, but I'm wondering if my 6M 335i has the same function. It tells me to downshift if I set the cruise down to 20 in 6th, so it must have this function.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 07:20 PM   #2163
jpirelli
Power is nothing without control
jpirelli's Avatar
11
Rep
761
Posts

 
Drives: E90 + E92
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast/Southwest

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrynDN View Post
Hey Mike - Noticed the Efficient Dynamics code in your sig PDF. What module and variable did you set to enable this? I realize you have an M3, but I'm wondering if my 6M 335i has the same function. It tells me to downshift if I set the cruise down to 20 in 6th, so it must have this function.
It was posted on the other forum:

http://************/4vm7ruj
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 07:23 PM   #2164
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrynDN View Post
Hey Mike - Noticed the Efficient Dynamics code in your sig PDF. What module and variable did you set to enable this? I realize you have an M3, but I'm wondering if my 6M 335i has the same function. It tells me to downshift if I set the cruise down to 20 in 6th, so it must have this function.
I posted this elsewhere but here you are:

More info from BMW.

This feature is for 6MT cars only. It basically tells you when to upshift and downshift and to which gear for maximum fuel efficiency.

Here's a video:


I enabled it on my '08 335i with no issues. It normally tells me to upshift at very low RPMs (~2000). It works well.

Once coded, it can be enabled/disabled through the OBC by pressing the BC button the indicator stalk until the instrument cluster goes to the blank screen (not displaying anything such as mpg, range, etc.). Once there, holding down the BC button for around 5 seconds toggles the feature on or off.

Here's what to code...

Module: KOMBI
SP_ANZEIGE -> aktiv
SCHALT_PKT_BC -> aktiv
SCHALT_PKT_DAUERHAFT -> aktiv

Enjoy.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 07:42 PM   #2165
BrynDN
Private
1
Rep
89
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

thanks Nivedh and jpirrelli. Any risk when coding KOMBI of resetting the service meters? I read that on one of the codes and since I'm still under warranty and very near my rear brake service I wouldn't want anything to get reset. Earlier in the thread that was put to answered, but not really definitively. Seems like a scary risk to me...

Last edited by BrynDN; 03-10-2011 at 08:10 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 07:58 PM   #2166
mirbahabmw
New Member
mirbahabmw's Avatar
0
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

I am going to try this as soon as I get my 09 328xi M sport back from the shop
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 07:58 PM   #2167
mirbahabmw
New Member
mirbahabmw's Avatar
0
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

awesome thread
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:06 PM   #2168
chuzo
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
43
Posts

 
Drives: X5 3.0d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Republic of Panama

iTrader: (0)

has somebody been able to code a mulf2 high ?
I have tried but NCS won't code it telling me that there is no connecion
I'm using standard Dcan interface and I'm able to code other modules on my car (e70)
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:09 PM   #2169
ERIK335i
Private
ERIK335i's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
85
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i w/ M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
I recently installed an alarm retrofit kit for my 2010 E90 LCI and now can't seem to get the alarm activated. I updated CAS AND NFRM with +K302, didn't work. I removed +K302 and used $302, alarm still not working.

I went into DWAI and activated the lock/unlock chirps. They work fine. The clown nose blinked prior to me coding. Holding down the panic button (tried for 10 seconds) does not sound off the alarm. I even changed PANIK_ALARM in DWAI to aktiv.

By the way the chirps on my car sound great... no low volume like others have reported after activating theirs.

Also, no i-drive in my car, so I can't change the chirp settings like someone mentioned to me.

what else can I try? Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:19 PM   #2170
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERIK335i View Post
I recently installed an alarm retrofit kit for my 2010 E90 LCI and now can't seem to get the alarm activated. I updated CAS AND NFRM with +K302, didn't work. I removed +K302 and used $302, alarm still not working.

I went into DWAI and activated the lock/unlock chirps. They work fine. The clown nose blinked prior to me coding. Holding down the panic button (tried for 10 seconds) does not sound off the alarm. I even changed PANIK_ALARM in DWAI to aktiv.

By the way the chirps on my car sound great... no low volume like others have reported after activating theirs.

Also, no i-drive in my car, so I can't change the chirp settings like someone mentioned to me.

what else can I try? Thanks in advance.
After you write $302 to VO (which is stored in more than one module), you need to re-code all modules so they recognize the new VO.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:20 PM   #2171
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrynDN View Post
thanks Nivedh and jpirrelli. Any risk when coding KOMBI of resetting the service meters? I read that on one of the codes and since I'm still under warranty and very near my rear brake service I wouldn't want anything to get reset. Earlier in the thread that was put to answered, but not really definitively. Seems like a scary risk to me...
I've never had the service counters get reset in my 1.5 years of coding experience.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:23 PM   #2172
ERIK335i
Private
ERIK335i's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
85
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i w/ M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
After you write $302 to VO (which is stored in more than one module), you need to re-code all modules so they recognize the new VO.
Thanks... I'll try that now.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:26 PM   #2173
BrynDN
Private
1
Rep
89
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
I've never had the service counters get reset in my 1.5 years of coding experience.
That's pretty definitive, though turned the other way, has anyone ever actually heard of the service counters being reset by coding KOMBI?
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:28 PM   #2174
ERIK335i
Private
ERIK335i's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
85
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i w/ M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrynDN View Post
That's pretty definitive, though turned the other way, has anyone ever actually heard of the service counters being reset by coding KOMBI?
I just did some coding changes in KOMBI - service counters were not reset.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:39 PM   #2175
sd23
Private
4
Rep
56
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 435i x-drive M-sport EBII
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

access again please Neuro
__________________
2014 435i x-drive/ EBII /M-Sport/Premium/Dynamic/Driving assist Package.
2013 X3/ M-Sport/ Premium/ Technology/
Former Owner: 330i RIP.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:52 PM   #2176
AW128i
Major
AW128i's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,004
Posts

 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
OK, so made some changes tonight to the Welcome Lights on my car. I added the low beams and fog lights and they work great. I also disabled the front sidemarkers in the Welcome Lights. I didn't like that they didn't match what the car looks like with the lights actually on; i.e., I already had the front sidemarkers disabled when the lights are on. So, something curious happened. My tail lights no longer come on with the Welcome Lights. I compared my original FSW_PSW.TRC file to the one read from the NFRM module after I made the coding changes and I don't see any differences other than the purposeful changes mentioned previously. Does anyone know what controls the tail lights for the Welcome Lights??
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:54 PM   #2177
Mike Benvo
www.bpmsport.com
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,813
Posts

 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Some comments...

Never have seen the service counters reset. The only thing that resets is the time and the brightness that you have the cluster set at. Even the date is retained. I have heard instances of this happening but I wouldn't be concerned about it.

The BMW efficient dynamics is absolutely amazing. I tried tricking it in a number of different ways, but it's very precise. The 6 speed cars do not know what gear you are currently in. The only thing it knows is if the gear shifter is in neutral, or if it is in a gear (all gears give the same reading to the ECU), and obviously if the clutch/brake is engaged or not. So basically it calculates what gear you are in (and thus what gear you should go to) based on the driving speed and rpm compared with your throttle position (and whether the clutch or brake is engaged). It probably also takes into account yaw and some other factors. It does a very good job of determining what gear you should go to depending on the throttle input, and will even tell you to skip gears, or downshift if necessary. And it's instantaneous. I love it and it's made a big difference for me.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 08:56 PM   #2178
outie
Lieutenant
5
Rep
519
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AW128i View Post
OK, so made some changes tonight to the Welcome Lights on my car. I added the low beams and fog lights and they work great. I also disabled the front sidemarkers in the Welcome Lights. I didn't like that they didn't match what the car looks like with the lights actually on; i.e., I already had the front sidemarkers disabled when the lights are on. So, something curious happened. My tail lights no longer come on with the Welcome Lights. I compared my original FSW_PSW.TRC file to the one read from the NFRM module after I made the coding changes and I don't see any differences other than the purposeful changes mentioned previously. Does anyone know what controls the tail lights for the Welcome Lights??
Welcome Light Taillight should be WL_SL_2 or WL_SL_2_3R (aka rear parking lights)
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST