E90Post
 


E92 Lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Idrive firmware update ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-13-2011, 05:05 AM   #1
Nicomons
New Member
3
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 325 D 2007
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orleans France

iTrader: (0)

Idrive firmware update ?

Hi,
Does anyone Knows if it is possible to update the idrive software using the coding cable ?
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 09:58 AM   #2
NoQuarter
Second Lieutenant
United_States
2
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 530xi / 2008 535xi
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indiana

iTrader: (0)

I have done it on my E60 with the same cable I use for NCS.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 11:19 AM   #3
Nicomons
New Member
3
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 325 D 2007
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orleans France

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoQuarter View Post
I have done it on my E60 with the same cable I use for NCS.
Where Can I find the last firmware for a 2007 idrive ?
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 11:25 AM   #4
kickdown
Private
kickdown's Avatar
Bulgaria
0
Rep
72
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 320dA
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to kickdown
It should be included in the latest version of SSS Progman or BMW ISTA Software.
__________________
Diesel Power Europe
German forum: You ask a question and you get an answer.
US Forum: You ask a question, you get an answer and you are asked back another question.
Bulgarian Forum: You ask a question...5 people starts explaining you how dumb you are, for asking such a stupid question!!!
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 01:37 PM   #5
Nicomons
New Member
3
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 325 D 2007
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orleans France

iTrader: (0)

And where CAN i dwl it ?
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 01:59 PM   #6
kickdown
Private
kickdown's Avatar
Bulgaria
0
Rep
72
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 320dA
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to kickdown
Search torrents and russian bmw sites.
__________________
Diesel Power Europe
German forum: You ask a question and you get an answer.
US Forum: You ask a question, you get an answer and you are asked back another question.
Bulgarian Forum: You ask a question...5 people starts explaining you how dumb you are, for asking such a stupid question!!!
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2011, 06:14 AM   #7
Nicomons
New Member
3
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 325 D 2007
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orleans France

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickdown View Post
Search torrents and russian bmw sites.
Thanks for your answer...But I don't find any torrent about that firmware. I only find the one for MK IV GPS system, but I have a 2007 E90. If someone can post a DIY I will thank him ;-)
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2011, 10:23 AM   #8
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
30
Rep
1,075
Posts


 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (21)

It's not going to be a CD/DVD based update like the navigation maps. You'll need to connect your car to Progman or ISTA/P and update the firmware, just like updating the DME.

Over a OBDII link it'll take about 16+ hours to update all the iDrive component firmware (there's 5 different components), you'll need to make sure you have a stable power supply connected to the car (not a battery charger) otherwise you'll risk trashing the CCC computer.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2011, 11:57 AM   #9
Nicomons
New Member
3
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 325 D 2007
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orleans France

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
It's not going to be a CD/DVD based update like the navigation maps. You'll need to connect your car to Progman or ISTA/P and update the firmware, just like updating the DME.

Over a OBDII link it'll take about 16 hours to update all the iDrive component firmware (there's 5 different components), you'll need to make sure you have a stable power supply connected to the car (not a battery charger) otherwise you'll risk trashing the CCC computer.
Ouch !!! 16 hours !!! The problem Will be my car battery... Not my computer one. and do you have a link to dl the last ista program ? What is the risk to update the firmware himself? Can I loose some options ?
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2011, 12:35 PM   #10
outie
Lieutenant
5
Rep
519
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicomons View Post
Ouch !!! 16 hours !!! The problem Will be my car battery... Not my computer one. and do you have a link to dl the last ista program ? What is the risk to update the firmware himself? Can I loose some options ?
If you don't know what you are doing you really shouldn't be updating the firmware yourself. Getting ista to work alone is already challenging. It's not as simple as download a software and click run. It's very risky and you could potentially brick it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2011, 01:02 PM   #11
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
30
Rep
1,075
Posts


 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by outie View Post
If you don't know what you are doing you really shouldn't be updating the firmware yourself. Getting ista to work alone is already challenging. It's not as simple as download a software and click run. It's very risky and you could potentially brick it.
I have to agree with outie on this one. I would start with learning/playing with coding your own car first then move to programming after some time.

You should *never* update the programming on your car without a stable power supply connected to your car. Never attempt to update the firmware on the car's battery power alone, you will seriously harm your ECU's. I have a $400 power supply that supplies a stable 13.8 volts to the car at all times (selectable from 13v to 14.8v) and a cloned OPS head for programming things like the iDrive over the fibre optic MOST port in the car and even then I get a little nervous every time I hit the "update" button.

Being that you are in France, you probably have alot of independent shops around that carry Autologic units, I would get one of them to handle the software update on your car, it would probably be cheaper than buying most of the equipment you need to properly flash the car. Unless, of course, you are a hard core DIYer and spending a couple hundred dollars on equipment isn't a problem.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2011, 04:13 AM   #12
Nicomons
New Member
3
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 325 D 2007
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orleans France

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by outie View Post
If you don't know what you are doing you really shouldn't be updating the firmware yourself. Getting ista to work alone is already challenging. It's not as simple as download a software and click run. It's very risky and you could potentially brick it.
I have to agree with outie on this one. I would start with learning/playing with coding your own car first then move to programming after some time.

You should *never* update the programming on your car without a stable power supply connected to your car. Never attempt to update the firmware on the car's battery power alone, you will seriously harm your ECU's. I have a $400 power supply that supplies a stable 13.8 volts to the car at all times (selectable from 13v to 14.8v) and a cloned OPS head for programming things like the iDrive over the fibre optic MOST port in the car and even then I get a little nervous every time I hit the "update" button.

Being that you are in France, you probably have alot of independent shops around that carry Autologic units, I would get one of them to handle the software update on your car, it would probably be cheaper than buying most of the equipment you need to properly flash the car. Unless, of course, you are a hard core DIYer and spending a couple hundred dollars on equipment isn't a problem.
I agree with you...I did not think it should be so long and so risked...Thanks for your answers.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 10:16 AM   #13
herbie333
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

 
Drives: 530i 2005
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

Power Source

Hi Guys,

I have a BMW OPS and am looking to re-code my car too. I want to update the CCC so it includes sat nav and include a Dension 500 gateway.

I think I have everything but now that I need to update the car's control modules. My only concern is the power supply. I need to source one or go buy one.

At the moment I can get one which is a bench DC power supply. It can supply a regulated 13.8V up to 25A. My question is will this be enough or do I need more amps??

Also, what is the best way to connect this to the car when programming??

Thanks a million in advance,

Herbie
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 12:58 PM   #14
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
30
Rep
1,075
Posts


 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (21)

BMW requires one capable of up to 70amp.

I use a Schumacher INC-700. Runs you about $400 online.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2011, 04:29 PM   #15
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
30
Rep
1,075
Posts


 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (21)

Also, just as a word of warning coming from experience.

You mentioned that you have an OPS head. If it's a chinese clone OPS head, take special caution regarding MOST (fibre optic) programming. The chinese clone makers like to say that MOST functionality works perfectly and is stable, but I've found on several occasions that's not true, usually due to substandard electronics on the on fibre optic transceiver built into the unit.

Unfortunately, Progman/SSS's error recovery for failed flashes or recovery for a communications interuption between the software and the head isn't all that great usually resulting in an unresponsive module. ISTA/P's error recovery is much more advanced and recovers from 99.99% of all failures without bricking a module.

To your question about where to connect the power supply, connect it to the terminals under the hood, just like you would if jumpstarting the vehicle.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2011, 11:35 AM   #16
Stiga
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 325D E93 Sports Design
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orleans, France

iTrader: (0)

Hi Nicomons,

I've got a 325D E93 and a 320D E90 and was wondering about the idrive firmware update (maps are easy download). Did you make any progress?
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2012, 10:55 PM   #17
umermariner
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: E60
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoQuarter View Post
I have done it on my E60 with the same cable I use for NCS.
I have a 2006 E60, and I think the firmware was never updated (I just bought it).
I will really appreciate if you can answer the following questions. I am getting into coding, and will do it off course once I get comfortable... just want to prepare myself

1. What would be the benefit of firmware updates? Can I get the latest features?... like BMW apps etc?

2. When you say continuous supply required for 16 hours, I guess having the car start wont work (bcz its software is being updated), however; what about continuous jump from another car? Or I have heavy duty Duracell Jumper/ charger, what if I connect it with the car, and keep it connected to electricity? Risky??

Thanks again
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2012, 07:39 AM   #18
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by umermariner View Post
I have a 2006 E60, and I think the firmware was never updated (I just bought it).
I will really appreciate if you can answer the following questions. I am getting into coding, and will do it off course once I get comfortable... just want to prepare myself

1. What would be the benefit of firmware updates? Can I get the latest features?... like BMW apps etc?
No. About the only thing you'll gain on the CCC is some new color scheme for the iDrive screens and you'll lose your voice control (the newer firmware requires you have the FSC code for your VIN to activate voice control). If your current system won't play CDs burned with MP3s, then you have about the only legitimate reason I can think of to upgrade. I'm not sure on the E60, but E90s made before around October 2005 had the MP3 feature disabled because of a hardware problem. Later firmware (V32 I think) was able to work around this hardware bug.

Quote:
Originally Posted by umermariner View Post
2. When you say continuous supply required for 16 hours, I guess having the car start wont work (bcz its software is being updated), however; what about continuous jump from another car? Or I have heavy duty Duracell Jumper/ charger, what if I connect it with the car, and keep it connected to electricity? Risky??

Thanks again
That would be pretty dangerous as you'd have to leave the other car running the whole time to supply the proper voltage (13.8 V or more--an idle battery only give about 12.2 max). You really need a professional grade power supply, not a charger, capable of 13.8 V continuous at 20 amps with the ability to handle spikes of up to 40 amps.
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2012, 08:56 AM   #19
umermariner
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: E60
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
No. About the only thing you'll gain on the CCC is some new color scheme for the iDrive screens and you'll lose your voice control (the newer firmware requires you have the FSC code for your VIN to activate voice control). If your current system won't play CDs burned with MP3s, then you have about the only legitimate reason I can think of to upgrade. I'm not sure on the E60, but E90s made before around October 2005 had the MP3 feature disabled because of a hardware problem. Later firmware (V32 I think) was able to work around this hardware bug.



That would be pretty dangerous as you'd have to leave the other car running the whole time to supply the proper voltage (13.8 V or more--an idle battery only give about 12.2 max). You really need a professional grade power supply, not a charger, capable of 13.8 V continuous at 20 amps with the ability to handle spikes of up to 40 amps.
Hmmmmmmmm... thanks .. Actually, I have the mp3 functionality, and also the voice recognition. When you say I will loose Voice Recognition, and will need FSC code, can it be done as well? More colors would be nice , however; wouldnt want to loose functionality.
BTW, would updating firmware help me hook up iPod (I want to replace the current CDC (CD Changer) with OEM iPod hookup .
Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2012, 11:19 AM   #20
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

I really don't know. I assume you mean the 6FL retrofit and all the info I have seen on that is for non iDrive retrofits. Forum user Technic is the only one I can think of that might know more about this. At any rate, I don't think it requires any firmware updates (if you can play MP3s already), just coding changes to the VO and CAPPL.

I added a Dension 500 to my system and I only use a thumb drive with MP3s. It supposedly works with iPods but I've never hooked one up to it.
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2012, 11:24 AM   #21
umermariner
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: E60
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
I really don't know. I assume you mean the 6FL retrofit and all the info I have seen on that is for non iDrive retrofits. Forum user Technic is the only one I can think of that might know more about this. At any rate, I don't think it requires any firmware updates (if you can play MP3s already), just coding changes to the VO and CAPPL.

I added a Dension 500 to my system and I only use a thumb drive with MP3s. It supposedly works with iPods but I've never hooked one up to it.
How would you rate Dension in comparison with OEM iPod integration? Also, cost? OEM iPod is costing me around 350 in parts ... 250 online though
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2012, 12:57 PM   #22
GenePoole
Lieutenant
9
Rep
537
Posts

 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

I don't know anything about the OEM ipod integration. I've never even owned an ipod.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST