E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding Remotely?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-10-2011, 02:22 AM   #1
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Coding Remotely?

Hi I am in need of some coding but live nowhere near anyone skillful enough to do it so is it possible to code remotely through teamviewer or any other means what would I need obviously the cable. What I want done most importantly is an error cleared from when I disconnected a wire from my battery. Also I want the windows and sunroof to close when you hold the lock button and I'd like the foglights to turn on automatically if possible. Let me know if you can do any of this especially clearing the code. I am not expecting someone to do this for free so let me know how much you'd want for this job. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 02:54 PM   #2
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Hi is this possible let me know so I can order the cable. I am willing to pay to have the work done the main thing I need is the error cleared.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 03:00 PM   #3
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
54
Rep
2,394
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (14)

If you get a laptop with Windows XP and a compatible cable I don't mind remoting in and helping you out.

What's the error exactly?
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 04:09 PM   #4
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

I disconnected a wire on the battery and now the airbag and seat belt light came on I connected it but the error needs to be cleared. Does it have to be windows xp I have vista will that work.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 04:36 PM   #5
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Would this cable work with my 06 e90 http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/VAG-K...#ht_6221wt_948
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2011, 01:03 PM   #6
woodpecka
Major
woodpecka's Avatar
Canada
13
Rep
1,008
Posts

 
Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (2)

removing error is pretty easy and not risky.

you can learn how to do it yourself
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2011, 01:37 PM   #7
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Would you mind giving some detail on what I would have to do. Would the cable I linked to work and what program would I use?
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2011, 01:59 PM   #8
woodpecka
Major
woodpecka's Avatar
Canada
13
Rep
1,008
Posts

 
Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (2)

all is here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=451145

When installed, you have to run INPA, found the Airbag and removing the warning.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2011, 03:10 PM   #9
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Thanks I didn't know that would remove the error now I just need to find a cable all I need is kcan since I have an 06 right? Would the one I linked above work? Thanks again.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2011, 04:27 PM   #10
woodpecka
Major
woodpecka's Avatar
Canada
13
Rep
1,008
Posts

 
Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (2)

BMW is not mentioned so good question. Maybe not.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2011, 08:48 PM   #11
Neutrino45
Major
Neutrino45's Avatar
26
Rep
1,446
Posts

 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

iTrader: (2)

For me, I would just buy this one. http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/...&product_id=16

That's what everyone is using and majority of us don't have any issues with it. Start reading from post 277 if you want background info about the cable: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...451145&page=13
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 03:41 AM   #12
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Swell I don't see a point in spending 3 times as much when the cheaper cable will work just as good for me.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 09:46 AM   #13
woodpecka
Major
woodpecka's Avatar
Canada
13
Rep
1,008
Posts

 
Drives: E91
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (2)

Some serial cable are cheaper. (~30$)

FYI, you can offer 85$ and you will get the USB cable on ebay.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 05:21 PM   #14
Neutrino45
Major
Neutrino45's Avatar
26
Rep
1,446
Posts

 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

iTrader: (2)

Ok, if the cheaper cable will work for you then go buy it. Just hope you don't get any errors when you try to use it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 09:26 PM   #15
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
397
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

I'vew got an e90 build date 02/07 and the cheap k-line cable works just fine so far. Got a usb/serial cable from monoprice as well as my laptop doesn't have a serial port.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST