E90Post
 


Mtrack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Someone please tell me what this error code is



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-03-2011, 07:11 PM   #1
tldoxmf87
Captain
 
tldoxmf87's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 TiAg
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bellevue

Posts: 712
iTrader: (14)

Someone please tell me what this error code is



Read errors with INPA and I have no idea what they are..
The CEL comes on with the first error, dealer said it just needs software update but wanted to see if anybody had any idea.
__________________
E92 TiAg
tldoxmf87 is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2011, 09:17 PM   #2
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Is this the F1 description? Why not hit F2 and see?
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2011, 01:10 PM   #3
tldoxmf87
Captain
 
tldoxmf87's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 TiAg
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bellevue

Posts: 712
iTrader: (14)



Here's the F2 'detailed' but it doesn't really tell much...
__________________
E92 TiAg
tldoxmf87 is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2011, 04:47 PM   #4
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Yes, it does. The 1st entry tells you that you have a thermostat or temperature issue. The 2nd code tells you that you have a voltage problem.

Look up the P160D code and see what you find. You'll need to do some research on your own. It's not going to tell you how to fix it if that's what you're looking for.
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2011, 05:47 PM   #5
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

Posts: 689
iTrader: (9)

You'd need to setup DIS on a VM and get it working with EDIABAS if you want to pull error codes AND have instructions on the most likely cause of the fault and how to fix it.
Dracon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2011, 06:09 PM   #6
Mike Benvo
MWhisperer
 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,310
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
I would address the low voltage issue first. 11.44V is WAY too low. It may be causing the first fault to appear.

What version of INPA are you using?
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2011, 08:59 PM   #7
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
You'd need to setup DIS on a VM and get it working with EDIABAS if you want to pull error codes AND have instructions on the most likely cause of the fault and how to fix it.
Is there a step by step instruction on how to setup DIS on a VM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Powerchip View Post
I would address the low voltage issue first. 11.44V is WAY too low. It may be causing the first fault to appear.

What version of INPA are you using?
Is he using 1.32?
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-06-2011, 05:21 AM   #8
tldoxmf87
Captain
 
tldoxmf87's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 TiAg
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bellevue

Posts: 712
iTrader: (14)

I'm not sure what version it is.. but it's the version I downloaded from the link at the coding section here.
What does low voltage mean? Does it mean my battery is dying?
I've been doing some coding recently and I'm thinking that might been when it threw the code because I was on battery for too long.
I cleared the error and the second error does not come back anymore so it might not be a real problem.
__________________
E92 TiAg
tldoxmf87 is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      04-06-2011, 05:25 AM   #9
tldoxmf87
Captain
 
tldoxmf87's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 TiAg
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bellevue

Posts: 712
iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
You'd need to setup DIS on a VM and get it working with EDIABAS if you want to pull error codes AND have instructions on the most likely cause of the fault and how to fix it.
Any idea how would I do this?
Anywhere you could point me to?
Thanks in advance
__________________
E92 TiAg
tldoxmf87 is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST