E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > 2007 BMW 335i BETA AccessPORT Available Now!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-22-2011, 11:32 PM   #287
COBB Tuning
Major
COBB Tuning's Avatar
112
Rep
1,044
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawwailok View Post
no kidding??? so im pretty screw now... since it is already married... and getting it un-install is gonna be a lottery chances... FML
No worries mate, you can do a firmware update while the AP is installed

Best regards-
Lance
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2011, 11:38 PM   #288
Tuner1984
1 Stock M
Tuner1984's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
1,651
Posts

 
Drives: Something Slow
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2003 E46 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to Tuner1984
Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawwailok View Post
no kidding??? so im pretty screw now... since it is already married... and getting it un-install is gonna be a lottery chances... FML
No worries mate, you can do a firmware update while the AP is installed

Best regards-
Lance
I didn't know you could do that. Thanks for the info. Also with the new firmware update for the handful of people having issues is it worth trying to install or is there an official word coming out? Thanks for all your help Lance.
__________________
Veteran USMC/Iraqi Freedom

Current: E46 M3
Retired: 2009 E90 AW M3
Retired: 2007 E90 AW 335i.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 12:13 AM   #289
lawwailok
Lieutenant Colonel
lawwailok's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
1,923
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i, E70 X5
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
No worries mate, you can do a firmware update while the AP is installed

Best regards-
Lance
you are the best life-saver Lance!!!!!!!!!

so is that a confirmed fix for the 07 problem car?
__________________
-eric
E90 335i TiAg *STOCK* see my garage for mod list..
E70 X5 SGM *try to stay stock* :/
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 12:41 AM   #290
lawwailok
Lieutenant Colonel
lawwailok's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
1,923
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i, E70 X5
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
just did the firmware update. weird that i was on 93 map and changed (a few tries and success) to 91 map, but now with the new firmware, i checked the map setting on my car, it shows 93 map again. any thought?
__________________
-eric
E90 335i TiAg *STOCK* see my garage for mod list..
E70 X5 SGM *try to stay stock* :/
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 10:11 AM   #291
jzepeda
Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
552
Posts

 
Drives: 07 e92 Dinan Stage 2
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Covina

iTrader: (12)

was anybody able to install and uninstall? any issues? if so please describe.

Thanks,
Jorge
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 12:29 PM   #292
lawwailok
Lieutenant Colonel
lawwailok's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
1,923
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i, E70 X5
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzepeda View Post
was anybody able to install and uninstall? any issues? if so please describe.

Thanks,
Jorge

i was able to change map without any problem and it was smoother and a little faster than the "problem firmware" and it went smooth without any "ecu comm error" no more. haven't tried to uninstall yet. but i have the eager to do so early next week since i have to bring my car in for overdue service.
__________________
-eric
E90 335i TiAg *STOCK* see my garage for mod list..
E70 X5 SGM *try to stay stock* :/
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 02:25 PM   #293
jzepeda
Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
552
Posts

 
Drives: 07 e92 Dinan Stage 2
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Covina

iTrader: (12)

thanks. I guess i'll be trying this out today. I'll post what happens.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 03:01 PM   #294
lawwailok
Lieutenant Colonel
lawwailok's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
1,923
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i, E70 X5
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzepeda View Post
thanks. I guess i'll be trying this out today. I'll post what happens.
one thing i noticed when i changed map, with the error firmware, my wiper would went off. now with the new firmware, wipers do not act up no more.
__________________
-eric
E90 335i TiAg *STOCK* see my garage for mod list..
E70 X5 SGM *try to stay stock* :/
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 03:23 PM   #295
Tuner1984
1 Stock M
Tuner1984's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
1,651
Posts

 
Drives: Something Slow
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2003 E46 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to Tuner1984
Downloaded the new firmware. Went through with no problems. I'm running the 93 map with dci and awe forged divers with bov and all I have to say is wow!!
__________________
Veteran USMC/Iraqi Freedom

Current: E46 M3
Retired: 2009 E90 AW M3
Retired: 2007 E90 AW 335i.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 08:02 PM   #296
lawwailok
Lieutenant Colonel
lawwailok's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
1,923
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i, E70 X5
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzepeda View Post
thanks. I guess i'll be trying this out today. I'll post what happens.
any update?
__________________
-eric
E90 335i TiAg *STOCK* see my garage for mod list..
E70 X5 SGM *try to stay stock* :/
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 09:52 PM   #297
blisstik
Major
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
21
Rep
1,335
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
So AP shows your on 93 map instead of 91 map? I would just completely unmarry and reflash when they officially release the updated firmware.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 09:54 PM   #298
lawwailok
Lieutenant Colonel
lawwailok's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
1,923
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i, E70 X5
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by blisstik View Post
So AP shows your on 93 map instead of 91 map? I would just completely unmarry and reflash when they officially release the updated firmware.
i guess the "error firmware" didn't really flash it to 91 map at the first place since it got me errors too. so with the new firmware, it is flashed to 91 oct and i confirmed last night and reconfirmed this morning, im on 91 map finally
__________________
-eric
E90 335i TiAg *STOCK* see my garage for mod list..
E70 X5 SGM *try to stay stock* :/
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 10:14 PM   #299
Tuner1984
1 Stock M
Tuner1984's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
1,651
Posts

 
Drives: Something Slow
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2003 E46 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to Tuner1984
I'm running the 93 map and I love it!!
__________________
Veteran USMC/Iraqi Freedom

Current: E46 M3
Retired: 2009 E90 AW M3
Retired: 2007 E90 AW 335i.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 10:34 PM   #300
E90Vader
Banned
E90Vader's Avatar
Canada
14
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

All of the gas stations in Calgary Alberta have " premium " which is basically 91 octane ish.. Do I have no choice but to run 91 octane map?
Any dyno numbers on 91 octane guys?
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2011, 10:35 PM   #301
E90Vader
Banned
E90Vader's Avatar
Canada
14
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

Just to clarify everything is back in order, I should have my COBB sometime next week then I will install the program. Anything I need to look for?
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 06:10 PM   #302
zobr
Private
3
Rep
98
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
No worries mate, you can do a firmware update while the AP is installed

Best regards-
Lance
How long does the update generally take? The full 18 mins?

thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 07:48 PM   #303
Tuner1984
1 Stock M
Tuner1984's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
1,651
Posts

 
Drives: Something Slow
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2003 E46 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to Tuner1984
Doing an update to your firmware probably takes about 10 minutes or so unless your referring to updating the maps or what not on your car?
__________________
Veteran USMC/Iraqi Freedom

Current: E46 M3
Retired: 2009 E90 AW M3
Retired: 2007 E90 AW 335i.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 10:42 PM   #304
zobr
Private
3
Rep
98
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuner1984 View Post
Doing an update to your firmware probably takes about 10 minutes or so unless your referring to updating the maps or what not on your car?
Lets say I already have the car flashed with version 2.0 and 2.1 software is out...Do I have to uninstall the flash and then load it again for the whole 20 mins or is it just a simple update?

thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 11:35 PM   #305
E90Vader
Banned
E90Vader's Avatar
Canada
14
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90Vader View Post
All of the gas stations in Calgary Alberta have " premium " which is basically 91 octane ish.. Do I have no choice but to run 91 octane map?
Any dyno numbers on 91 octane guys?
?
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 11:35 PM   #306
E90Vader
Banned
E90Vader's Avatar
Canada
14
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90Vader View Post
Just to clarify everything is back in order, I should have my COBB sometime next week then I will install the program. Anything I need to look for?
?
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 06:19 AM   #307
Tuner1984
1 Stock M
Tuner1984's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
1,651
Posts

 
Drives: Something Slow
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2003 E46 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to Tuner1984
Quote:
Originally Posted by E90Vader View Post
?
Just make sure if it isn't already that the latest firmware is on your device. You shouldn't have any problems installing it because it seems like everything has been fixed. It should take about 5-10 minutes to download the firmware to the device, and about 20 minutes or so to reflash the ECU. The only thing to look for is if while your loading the Cobb if you have to dump the rom. If this happens you have to keep trying to install else the car won't start. The device should automatically dump the ROM if you run into the ROM issue. Other then that is very easy to install and the power band is great.
__________________
Veteran USMC/Iraqi Freedom

Current: E46 M3
Retired: 2009 E90 AW M3
Retired: 2007 E90 AW 335i.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 10:34 AM   #308
335timb
New Member no longer
United_States
1
Rep
42
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Topeka, KS

iTrader: (0)

Did I miss the transition?

Is the flash for '07 models still a beta test-version? Or is it now a full-fledged, ready for mass marketing, official release? Not that it REALLY matters, but I'd like to make sure all (or at least as many as possible) the bugs are worked out before I buy.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST