E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > New Stereo Upgrade!!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-24-2011, 09:50 PM   #1
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
07AWe92's Avatar
2
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

iTrader: (1)

New Stereo Upgrade!!

I'm gonna pull the trigger and start the upgrade on BMW stereo system!

This isn't a FULL upgrade, but a partial upgrade. Here's a sneak peak!





UPDATE 4/28

Finally got the system in. Everything went smooth except for taking out the climate control. Just like I predicted it was a BIATCH to take off. Spent almost an hour taking the damn thing out, I was close to calling it quits. Then I told myself "FUCK IT" I'll pry it out with brute force! To my surprise it, it finally budged and eventually came off.

Here are some quick pictures, sorry for the bad quality (ran out of sun light).

Spec. of the NEW system:
PIONEER AVIC-Z130BT
EARTHQUAKE SWS-8 4 ohm: Wired parallel to 2ohm
ALPINE MONO MRP M-500 Amplifier
MONSTER CABLES 650 watt AMP KIT
METRA DASH KIT
METRA HARNESSES

soon to be: FOCAL K2 powered by ALPINE F-250


Front looks great! Better than I expected.


Plays music video from my SD card. Thanks to you I bypassed the safety feature that prohibits it to play while driving.


This little part the the dash kit sticks out. Kinda bothers me, but doesn't drive me crazy. The bottom two screws does not align with the stock screws, so be prepare to drill into your dash.


Still dont know what to do with the amp. Attach it to the seat or place them under the trunk.



I'm only 95% done, ran out of time today because the GF came home.

Last edited by 07AWe92; 04-28-2011 at 11:38 PM. Reason: UPDATE
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 09:56 PM   #2
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Looks like it should be a good system! Congrats
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 10:05 PM   #3
JayKay335i
Banned
Egypt
77
Rep
5,047
Posts

 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

iTrader: (1)

What do you plan on doing with the stock head unit?
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 10:13 PM   #4
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
What dash kit are you using? I wanted to get a double din nav just like that, but couldn't find any consistent reviews on a good dash kit.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 10:14 PM   #5
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
07AWe92's Avatar
2
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine328i View Post
Looks like it should be a good system! Congrats
Thanks can't wait! Also looking around for some good mid speakers.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 10:17 PM   #6
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
07AWe92's Avatar
2
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKay335i View Post
What do you plan on doing with the stock head unit?
Don't know yet. I might will run wires to the trunk from my metra harness so that, if I need coding it will be a lot easy to access.

I will most likely live without the oem radio as of now.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 10:22 PM   #7
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
07AWe92's Avatar
2
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skinrock View Post
What dash kit are you using? I wanted to get a double din nav just like that, but couldn't find any consistent reviews on a good dash kit.
I ordered a Metra Dash Kit model 95-9306B,Metra Harness 70-9003, and a Metra Radio adpater 40-EU10. (Hopefully that's everything)

From what I've seen, this is the "better" looking dash kit around. (IMO of course)

I'll take pictures after I install it and tell you how it looks.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 10:25 PM   #8
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07AWe92 View Post
I ordered a Metra Dash Kit model 95-9306B,Metra Harness 70-9003, and a Metra Radio adpater 40-EU10. (Hopefully that's everything)

From what I've seen, this is the "better" looking dash kit around. (IMO of course)

I'll take pictures after I install it and tell you how it looks.
Ya that seems to be the official one. One guy here mentioned it wasn't perfect, and I waited a couple months for some pics but they never came. I'd like to just do it, but I'd be really upset if it's not flush.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 10:54 PM   #9
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Dammit you got me really itching to get this now, lol. I was actually looking at that exact model, but I decided I would actually go with the one below it: X930BT. Main reason is to retain the physical buttons. Are you doing the install yourself?
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 11:32 PM   #10
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
07AWe92's Avatar
2
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skinrock View Post
Dammit you got me really itching to get this now, lol. I was actually looking at that exact model, but I decided I would actually go with the one below it: X930BT. Main reason is to retain the physical buttons. Are you doing the install yourself?
Yep, I'm doing everything myself. Hopefully it's not too troubling....

I like how the z130bt looks with it's 7" screen. This unit does have several physical buttons such as volume, track, home, voice and mode.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 11:37 PM   #11
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
The 7" is definitely clean. I thought the buttons were touch sensitive, though?

Either way, that $400 would go towards everything else I'm trying to get wrapped up before bimmerfest (specifically a suspension install).
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 02:11 AM   #12
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07AWe92 View Post
Metra Harness 70-9003
Don't quote me on this, but you may have the wrong harness. Only reason I say that is because I googled that to find it for mine, and Amazon said it wouldn't fit. So I went to Metra, and they say we're supposed to use: http://www.metraonline.com/part/71-9003

Also you need another harness to retain steering wheel controls.

Last edited by skinrock; 04-25-2011 at 02:20 AM.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 02:38 AM   #13
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
07AWe92's Avatar
2
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

iTrader: (1)

@ shinrock the Metra 70-9003 harness connects the aftermarket headunit to the OEM harness

The Metra 71-9003 connects to the OEM radio. It's used to relocate the radio to the trunk or where ever you like.

I believe I'm right on this, I'll find out during the installation...lol
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 02:45 AM   #14
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Ah interesting. That sounds about right based on the product descriptions. When are you planning on doing the install?

edit: read another thread that seems to confirm what you said. I'm thinking about biting the bullet and tackling this as well. Maybe we can get together, lol.

Last edited by skinrock; 04-25-2011 at 02:58 AM.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 11:31 AM   #15
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
I'm leaning towards this one now:

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-XNV-770BT.../ref=de_a_smtd

For a little cheaper I can get a full 7" screen, but also it has a separate TomTom module, so it is removable and fully upgradable. I also like the idea of having the GPS handled by someone known for it.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 04:07 PM   #16
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
07AWe92's Avatar
2
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

iTrader: (1)

Shinrock Pull the Trigger! So we can help each other out. The one thing I'm worried about is taking out the climate control. Heard it's a nearly impossible to take off..lol

The Sony looks great. Seems like it has everything the pioneer has, but half the price...lol

I'm doing the install on my next day off, which is Wednesday.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 04:41 PM   #17
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Yea, I'm still debating, lol. I hear pros and cons of both, and I'm still debating going with a full 7" touch screen or not. Also, someone mentioned in a review that the Sony/TomTom nav doesn't give you relative direction when viewing POIs. So in other words you can't tell if something is 5 miles ahead of you or behind you. Still need to look into that, but that would be really annoying.

I'd be nearly sold on the Pioneer 7" if it wasn't for the bottom lip, I'm just not sure if I dig it.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 05:16 PM   #18
rollinstone157
Brotographer
rollinstone157's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,701
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328i xDrive Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ, USA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
While I'll come right out and say I do NOT have either the Sony head unit or the Pioneer head unit, my friend has a G35 coupe that he's done some work to, and he has the older version of that pioneer head unit, and he's fine with it. he does most of the control through his steering wheel anyway, but the bottom lip makes it easier to click the volume button. And I'd avoid the Sony head unit, I can't say I've ever heard good things about them...but everyone who has a Pioneer unit seems to love it.
__________________
Reviews -|- HPB "Ultimate" LED Interior Kit -|- Noyka Cornering Bulbs -|- HPB 20W AE [OLD] -|- LUX H8 V4 -|- New Reviews Pending Vendor Approval
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 05:33 PM   #19
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollinstone157 View Post
While I'll come right out and say I do NOT have either the Sony head unit or the Pioneer head unit, my friend has a G35 coupe that he's done some work to, and he has the older version of that pioneer head unit, and he's fine with it. he does most of the control through his steering wheel anyway, but the bottom lip makes it easier to click the volume button. And I'd avoid the Sony head unit, I can't say I've ever heard good things about them...but everyone who has a Pioneer unit seems to love it.
Yea I'm not one to normally recommend Sony stuff, but there aren't as many choices for double din nav units. I'll probably just go with one of the Pioneers.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 08:58 PM   #20
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Hey 07AWe92, which stock system do you have?
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 10:01 PM   #21
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
07AWe92's Avatar
2
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skinrock View Post
Hey 07AWe92, which stock system do you have?
HIFI
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2011, 10:22 PM   #22
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
46
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07AWe92 View Post
HIFI
Ya, so I'm pretty sure I have Logic7, and from what I've read it's no easy task to replace the headunit, at least not without relocating the stock one.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST