E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > New Stereo Upgrade!!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-26-2011, 02:46 AM   #23
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
 
07AWe92's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

Posts: 44
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skinrock View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07AWe92 View Post
HIFI
Ya, so I'm pretty sure I have Logic7, and from what I've read it's no easy task to replace the headunit, at least not without relocating the stock one.
Yeah that's a difficult one. Gotta replace all wiring since the stock stereo uses optical wires.
07AWe92 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 01:14 AM   #24
vidizzle
New Member
 
Drives: 3series
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL

Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)

isnt there a module that gives you optical out?
vidizzle is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 01:21 AM   #25
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by vidizzle View Post
isnt there a module that gives you optical out?
Link?
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 02:58 AM   #26
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,209
iTrader: (0)

Logic 7 is very hard to change the head unit

Why the Logic 7 system uses a proprietary fiber optic connection to the multi channel amp in the trunk . There are not any aftermarket head units that use this format as far as I know so it means replacing the Logic 7 Amp with another amp or multiple amps with enough channels to feed all the speaker locations. some people use a MS-8 and amps to modify this system

Its no picnic to change the head unit an e9x because of the side effects either.
also see the last statement

See the dynavin threads to see what the problems are.
Its the same reason other head units won't work with logic 7 because of the logic 7 amp

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780865

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780605

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1266451970

mobridge make some stuff but I don't think it tranlates to a bmw fiberoptic signal format

Relocating the Head Unit and leaving it hooked up is only to allow the BMW in house programmer to be able to run diagnostics and software updates and to retain door chimes and or BMW SoS and bluetooth

Last edited by ctuna; 04-27-2011 at 03:10 AM.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 11:44 AM   #27
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
So if you upgraded the headunit and got a JBL MS-8 at the same time, would that be the solution (ignoring the stock hu relocation and issues that arise from that).

I was under the impression that the MS-8 was a drop-in replacement, i.e. it used the fiber optic signal. Now it seems like it uses standard inputs.
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2011, 11:58 AM   #28
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,209
iTrader: (0)

correct no fiberoptics on ms-8

Its a big pinta to change anything in the logic 7 system because the amp pretty much has to go then your going to have to come up with a way to amp all your speakers . Look at the MS-8 thread it has the details.
You pretty much can only add taps of the speaker outs on the amp to add things like subs or additional amp and speakers. I guess you could do that with the ms-8 if you wanted to retain the stock head unit.

Mobridge and another(audison bit one) company were working with fiberoptic interfaces but I think its more to convert the output of the BMW Head unit to analog outputs and or process the sound.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=352586

Last edited by ctuna; 04-27-2011 at 12:54 PM.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 11:55 PM   #29
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
 
07AWe92's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

Posts: 44
iTrader: (1)

Update
07AWe92 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2011, 12:04 AM   #30
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07AWe92 View Post

This little part the the dash kit sticks out. Kinda bothers me, but doesn't drive me crazy. The bottom two screws does not align with the stock screws, so be prepare to drill into your dash.

That sucks. I don't get why companies can't get a simple thing like that right when they are making a custom product for a specific vehicle.

That must be the part that everyone else talks about. Other than that, it looks good. I still gotta figure out mine.
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2011, 07:59 AM   #31
The_Fixer
Registered
 
Drives: 328i 2008 Jet Black
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

WOW!

Looks Great. So far, this is the first post where no one is bashing why you upgraded the factory head unit... blah, blah, blah... In addition to posting pictures.

Now, to the bottom line... I have the same kit and harness. I also picked up a JVC-AVX830... I have installed stereos for years, just not with in the last couple of years. Do you have any pic of the installation process?

What I am looking for is the removing of the existing head unit part. Can you point me in the right direction here?

Once again. Good work!
The_Fixer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2011, 06:05 PM   #32
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
 
07AWe92's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

Posts: 44
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Fixer View Post
WOW!

Looks Great. So far, this is the first post where no one is bashing why you upgraded the factory head unit... blah, blah, blah... In addition to posting pictures.

Now, to the bottom line... I have the same kit and harness. I also picked up a JVC-AVX830... I have installed stereos for years, just not with in the last couple of years. Do you have any pic of the installation process?

What I am looking for is the removing of the existing head unit part. Can you point me in the right direction here?

Once again. Good work!

Yeah that was probably the hardest part of the installation...lol

I took an old credit card, stuck it in between the climate control to create enough space to use a small flat to pry it apart. This was the only way. I tried every other techniques, but none worked.
07AWe92 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2011, 04:15 PM   #33
rolo2285
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 07' e92 335i coupe
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Cal

Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skinrock View Post
Don't quote me on this, but you may have the wrong harness. Only reason I say that is because I googled that to find it for mine, and Amazon said it wouldn't fit. So I went to Metra, and they say we're supposed to use: http://www.metraonline.com/part/71-9003

Also you need another harness to retain steering wheel controls.
Do you have your steering wheel controls working? If so can you please explain what was needed. I've had mines in for 4 months now and still can't figure it out. Thanks
rolo2285 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2011, 11:13 AM   #34
parkerge
Registered
 
Drives: 2006 325i black sedan
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Peachtree City, GA

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Were you able to get the steering wheel controls to work?
parkerge is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2011, 05:24 PM   #35
bmwkev
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 bmw 325i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Diego

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Looks good, cant wait to get mines done
bmwkev is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2011, 04:58 PM   #36
07AWe92
Enlisted Member
 
07AWe92's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Alpine White 328i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton, CA

Posts: 44
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by parkerge View Post
Were you able to get the steering wheel controls to work?
I haven't had time to work on the car. So to answer your question, I didn't get it to work. Maybe after I finish moving then I will get to it. Until then I have no steering control which sucks....
07AWe92 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2011, 09:52 PM   #37
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,242
iTrader: (5)

I am waiting on funds to get a new head unit from the pictures the part of the dash kit that sticks out bothers me at the same time it looks alright I was thinking about getting a couple of these and breaking out the plastic welder and seeing what can be done.
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-06-2011, 11:18 AM   #38
mosx
The mod bug has bitten.
 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Texas

Posts: 565
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [0.00]
Does anyone know if the phone button on the steering wheel activates the Bluetooth function on the pioneer or if just the volume and track buttons work?
mosx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-06-2011, 05:40 PM   #39
Hunter51092
Major
 
Hunter51092's Avatar
 
Drives: Bmw
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami

Posts: 1,284
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW  [0.00]
i got the same amp pushing two 12's kicker..i drilled the amp to the rear of the passenger seats in the trunk its straight there..
Hunter51092 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 07:27 PM   #40
kjkaiser
New Member
 
Drives: 09 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

If anyone is interested, I have the following equipment for sale to do almost a complete stereo upgrade.

Blaupunkt THA-555 PnP 5 channel amplifier
2 Earthquake Sound SWS-8x Subwoofer
Blaupunkt Adapter cable THA/PnP (Part #: 7 607 622 016-001)
Blaupunkt Connection cable THA/PnP 5.5m (Part #: 7 607 622 011-001)

$500 + shipping for all items. All items are brand new and have never been installed or used. I bought them and decided to not do an upgrade in my e90.

Let me know if you are interested.
Attached Images
     

Last edited by kjkaiser; 09-25-2011 at 07:28 PM. Reason: added additional detail
kjkaiser is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2012, 04:11 AM   #41
DetectiveLoki
First Lieutenant
 
DetectiveLoki's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i Convertible
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orange County - SOCAL

Posts: 300
iTrader: (4)

Did u guys ever get the steering wheel controller to work?
DetectiveLoki is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2012, 12:59 PM   #42
nastynogales
Private
 
Drives: '08 M3 Convertible E93
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 74
iTrader: (0)

How about heated seats? How does the Metra kit handle these?
I have an E93 M3 - does the Metra kit work on mine? I'm not sure if the housing is different.



Last edited by nastynogales; 03-25-2012 at 01:08 PM.
nastynogales is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2012, 02:27 PM   #43
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,242
iTrader: (5)

If you have heated seats you can either get the newer climate control with heated seat buttons built in this is the best way to do it. Or you can relocate them to the ashtray. I think metra makes a kit for that and I think something similar is included with the Dynavin.
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2012, 09:50 PM   #44
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (3)

Relocating the stock one is just to keep you from getting error codes when certain services are performed. At this time if you pull the HU, you lose the L7 amp, and you need some way to power all the speakers. We have a kit with an MS-8 and a woofer amp that can do that for you, with an integration harness.

The Sony 7" nav kicks ass. It's more work to install, though.

That kit isn't in right. That's not how any head unit should look in the dash.

http://i1216.photobucket.com/albums/...9/IMG_9206.jpg
VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST