E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Connecting multiple amps to battery



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-14-2011, 09:41 PM   #1
Chuck.Ruiz
New Member
United_States
1
Rep
19
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E93 M3 -Metallic Graphite
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Question Connecting multiple amps to battery

I will be connecting 2 Alpine PDX-5s and a JBL MS-8 to my e93 battery this weekend. I recall someone saying that the red distro block on top of the battery is fused and the draw of this equipment may blow that fuse. Inspecting further, there are two bolt down terminals that are potential connection points. One is in line with the plug in connections and the other is closer to where the actual positive battery terminal is, with a squiggly clasp to hold the door shut.



Which of these should I use, or is there a location that I'm not seeing? And what's the cleanest way to make my connection to this battery? I'm used to the aftermarket audio bling that makes these connections easy and clean, however, this is a different animal.

Thanks!
-Chuck-
__________________
Feeling sluggish and need a boost? http://spark-energy.com
Summer is coming! http://advocareweightloss.com

Get your OWN ///M! http://AdvocareBusinessPlan.com

Last edited by Chuck.Ruiz; 04-14-2011 at 10:06 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2011, 11:37 PM   #2
liliceman13300
Private First Class
liliceman13300's Avatar
7
Rep
176
Posts

 
Drives: 00 cr-v
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: raleigh, nc

iTrader: (0)



The reason I say NO for the first one is that is what powers the entire car. If that fuse blows, everything will shut off all at once. If one of your connections shorts or something bad happens while you are driving, the last thing you want is the car to just shut off.

Technic sells a harness that includes an adapter all crimped/soldered with a 4 gauge wire and ready to go. It makes installing super clean and super safe. PM him for info on it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullowM3 View Post
what are u doing on these forums? you dont even drive a bmw or a respected car so i suggest you take your opinions to another forum. Thank you
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2011, 11:59 PM   #3
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
103
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by liliceman13300 View Post


The reason I say NO for the first one is that is what powers the entire car. If that fuse blows, everything will shut off all at once. If one of your connections shorts or something bad happens while you are driving, the last thing you want is the car to just shut off.

Technic sells a harness that includes an adapter all crimped/soldered with a 4 gauge wire and ready to go. It makes installing super clean and super safe. PM him for info on it.
There's no fuse on that wire you circled no. Only fused ones are the ones that accept plugs.

Op the top right nut is where the distribution block connects to the positive terminal and I think the BST.

I would mount it there. Not sure what the fuse rating is on those fused slots but I'm running 2 500w amps off one of them. Not all will be fused. It depends on what options you have and what your car is prewired for.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2011, 06:43 AM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by liliceman13300 View Post


The reason I say NO for the first one is that is what powers the entire car. If that fuse blows, everything will shut off all at once. If one of your connections shorts or something bad happens while you are driving, the last thing you want is the car to just shut off.

Technic sells a harness that includes an adapter all crimped/soldered with a 4 gauge wire and ready to go. It makes installing super clean and super safe. PM him for info on it.
Actually, both terminals can be used if another fuse is installed inline with the cables used.

When more than a single amp is plugged into the distribution block -I used to have a PDX-5, a PDX 4.150 and a MS-8 plugged into a single slot for two years without any issues- I strongly suggest to keep a spare OEM distribution block fuse line (the part with the metal blades inside the red assembly, not the whole red plastic assembly itself) just in case of a blown OEM fuse. The whole OEM fuse line has to be replaced if only a single fuse is blown.

The car may not start if certain fuses in that block are blown.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2011, 07:13 AM   #5
DieselDiner
Lieutenant Colonel
DieselDiner's Avatar
21
Rep
1,514
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Home

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
I strongly suggest to keep a spare OEM distribution block fuse line (the part with the metal blades inside the red assembly, not the whole red plastic assembly itself) just in case of a blown OEM fuse.
Do you have the part number for this? Sounds like something I need to order today!

Edit: Here's the diagram from RealOEM, I think it's part number 3:
03 Power distribution box w fuse 1 61146971370 $46.70


Last edited by DieselDiner; 04-15-2011 at 07:22 AM.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2011, 08:04 AM   #6
Chuck.Ruiz
New Member
United_States
1
Rep
19
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E93 M3 -Metallic Graphite
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

I'd rather not attempt to jam (2) 4 gauge and (1) 8 gauge cable into one of those plastic clippy things, that's why I want to use one of the screw down terminals.

So, if I have this right, I can use EITHER of the screw down terminals, as long (obviously for me, maybe not for others) as those runs are fused.

Now, does anyone know of, or has anyone used any sort of standoff to make connections to these points more elegant?

Thanks for all the replies,
-Chuck-
__________________
Feeling sluggish and need a boost? http://spark-energy.com
Summer is coming! http://advocareweightloss.com

Get your OWN ///M! http://AdvocareBusinessPlan.com
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2011, 08:40 AM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,206
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselDiner View Post
Do you have the part number for this? Sounds like something I need to order today!

Edit: Here's the diagram from RealOEM, I think it's part number 3:
03 Power distribution box w fuse 1 61146971370 $46.70

Yes, that's it... and I was mistaken, the whole part is sold as an assembly:

__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2011, 10:26 AM   #8
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
103
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck.Ruiz View Post
I'd rather not attempt to jam (2) 4 gauge and (1) 8 gauge cable into one of those plastic clippy things, that's why I want to use one of the screw down terminals.

So, if I have this right, I can use EITHER of the screw down terminals, as long (obviously for me, maybe not for others) as those runs are fused.

Now, does anyone know of, or has anyone used any sort of standoff to make connections to these points more elegant?

Thanks for all the replies,
-Chuck-
Buy a separate distribution block like this one:



Wire to the screw down terminal or buy the plug for the OEM distribution block. Just FYI, I had to solder a 4 gauge wire to the metal connector inside the plug. I couldn't get it to clamp down securely.

Then run wires to your individual amps.

I would wire it to the screw down terminal though. Then put the appropriate fuses on the wires going from the distribution block above, to the amps.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2011, 08:44 PM   #9
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
Buy a separate distribution block like this one:



Wire to the screw down terminal or buy the plug for the OEM distribution block. Just FYI, I had to solder a 4 gauge wire to the metal connector inside the plug. I couldn't get it to clamp down securely.

Then run wires to your individual amps.

I would wire it to the screw down terminal though. Then put the appropriate fuses on the wires going from the distribution block above, to the amps.
I prefer using this style

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...#ht_1705wt_922

Saves having to get the fuse holders, which leads to less cuts in the wire
So from 4 gauge through a fuse into 8 ohm to amp
I'm using one now
4 gauge into 2x 8 gauge
1 8 for the amp for the front speakers
And the other 8 gauge for the MS-8

I have another 4 gauge going to main amp (powers center, rear, and under seat subs)

Front amp soon to replaced by Old school Soundstream Class A amp
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2011, 11:43 PM   #10
liliceman13300
Private First Class
liliceman13300's Avatar
7
Rep
176
Posts

 
Drives: 00 cr-v
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: raleigh, nc

iTrader: (0)

I blew the main fuse (part I circled NO in the figure) and NOTHING in the car works. I mean...nothing at all...You have to replace the entire red block if you blow it and it's about $70. I run 2 Kicker amps (totaling about 300w) off 1 4-gauge wire out of a plastic clip (it's what Technic provided with his kit). I ran it to a fuse, then to a fused distribution block like Technic posted above. Each amp has 3 fuses between itself and the battery.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullowM3 View Post
what are u doing on these forums? you dont even drive a bmw or a respected car so i suggest you take your opinions to another forum. Thank you
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2011, 11:01 AM   #11
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
103
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
I prefer using this style

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...#ht_1705wt_922

Saves having to get the fuse holders, which leads to less cuts in the wire
So from 4 gauge through a fuse into 8 ohm to amp
I'm using one now
4 gauge into 2x 8 gauge
1 8 for the amp for the front speakers
And the other 8 gauge for the MS-8

I have another 4 gauge going to main amp (powers center, rear, and under seat subs)

Front amp soon to replaced by Old school Soundstream Class A amp
Yea that is probably better. I just posted a picture of the first distro block I found.

Quote:
Originally Posted by liliceman13300 View Post
I blew the main fuse (part I circled NO in the figure) and NOTHING in the car works. I mean...nothing at all...You have to replace the entire red block if you blow it and it's about $70. I run 2 Kicker amps (totaling about 300w) off 1 4-gauge wire out of a plastic clip (it's what Technic provided with his kit). I ran it to a fuse, then to a fused distribution block like Technic posted above. Each amp has 3 fuses between itself and the battery.
you probably blew the BST. Do you have interior lighting but no crank?
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2011, 11:17 AM   #12
Chuck.Ruiz
New Member
United_States
1
Rep
19
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E93 M3 -Metallic Graphite
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

I wound up mixing and matching some nuts, bolts and washers in order to connect to the unfused post (photo below). This is definitely rigged and won't stand the test of time nor my personal requirements of looking neat (even if it's hidden behind panels), so...

I found a machine shop in my neighborhood who will be making some standoffs for me. I'll be delivering the drawings this week and he'll be taking it from there. It will be short enough to clear the plastics in a convertible (one of my "problems"), brass core and bright nickel plated.

I've traditionally used the distribution blocks you guys have mentioned, bit I'm really cramped for space. I've found that I can move these around, so that the stock plastics fit back easily.

__________________
Feeling sluggish and need a boost? http://spark-energy.com
Summer is coming! http://advocareweightloss.com

Get your OWN ///M! http://AdvocareBusinessPlan.com
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2011, 09:41 AM   #13
The_Fixer
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

 
Drives: 328i 2008 Jet Black
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX

iTrader: (0)

Technic... some one mentioned you sell parts for installs.

Do you have a site to order from?

(I am working on my first 5 post so I could not PM you )
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2011, 05:44 AM   #14
gadg8man
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

 
Drives: 330XI
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newfoundland

iTrader: (0)

Anyone know what the diameter of that post is?
Trying to order my wiring now and I want to be sure I get the right sized
connector.

Thanks

Chris
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2011, 12:46 PM   #15
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
3,090
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gadg8man View Post
Anyone know what the diameter of that post is?
Trying to order my wiring now and I want to be sure I get the right sized
connector.

Thanks

Chris
Get a 4 gauge ring connector, it should fit fine. Just make sure it is flexible and lets you bend the cable upwards, since all the "periphery" on top of the battery won't allow you to connect it flat.
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2011, 07:48 PM   #16
northX3
Private
Canada
6
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 X3 35i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck.Ruiz View Post
I wound up mixing and matching some nuts, bolts and washers in order to connect to the unfused post (photo below). This is definitely rigged and won't stand the test of time nor my personal requirements of looking neat (even if it's hidden behind panels), so...

I found a machine shop in my neighborhood who will be making some standoffs for me. I'll be delivering the drawings this week and he'll be taking it from there. It will be short enough to clear the plastics in a convertible (one of my "problems"), brass core and bright nickel plated.

I've traditionally used the distribution blocks you guys have mentioned, bit I'm really cramped for space. I've found that I can move these around, so that the stock plastics fit back easily.

I don't understand... which of the 2 battery post is OK if you use an external, in-line, fuse ? And why is the "other" post not OK, even though you have an external fuse on your amp wire ?

I understand that there's an internal fuse for one of those 2 posts, but if you plug a "weaker" fuse, isn't the weak fuse going to blow, thus preserving the internal, battery fuse ?

Kinda confused... and I need to plug my MS-8 and my amp shortly
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2011, 12:59 AM   #17
itsy29
New Member
0
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: los angeles, CAlifornia

iTrader: (0)

So how to make or what kind of connection u will use to connect to the yes part
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amplifier, battery, connection

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST