E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Movie Storage Setup



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-25-2011, 03:24 PM   #1
enron29
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 E90
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCAL

Posts: 498
iTrader: (12)

Movie Storage Setup

Alright home theater guys, I need some help. What I would like to do is create backup copies of my blu-rays without losing too much quality and store it somewhere and be able to stream to my tv so I can watch a movie without putting in the disc everytime. Here are my questions:

1. What external blu-ray drive is recommended to do this as I only have a standard DVD/DVD-RW drive in my PC?

2. What format should I copy my blu-rays too without losing too much quality? I was planning on using my PS3 to stream thru, but I guess that won't play ISO or mkv or anything like that.

3. Since my PS3 is somewhat limited, what should I use to store the movies and what should I use to stream them to my TV's?

Not sure if I'm missing any questions. If you can think of anything else I would need to know, I would appreciate it. I have been using DVDFab to make transfer my standard DVD's to .m4v format so I can put them on my iPad. Haven't had any issues so far. Thanks for the help.
enron29 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 03:29 PM   #2
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
 
CollinsE90's Avatar
 
Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

Posts: 1,927
iTrader: (0)

PS3 will play MKV, just rip into MK3 and save them that way
__________________
CollinsE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 03:29 PM   #3
Ochmonek
Nosy Neighbor
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Next Door in Riverside

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

DVDFab also rips Blu-Rays.
Ochmonek is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 03:31 PM   #4
tHegeRm
Got Turbs?
 
tHegeRm's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' Lemans Blue 135is
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: GG

Posts: 309
iTrader: (3)

Why spend all that time ripping your own?
Why not d/l them and keep em on an external drive?

Limitations of PS3 media serving: If host comp isn't running a quad core good luck streaming anything bigger than 720p.

I'm using this:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=570

^will stream the biggest BD files I have in .mkv @ 15gb each with surround audio.

MKV is the format you wanna use.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
Simply put, i dont want to end up on youtube because i like to deep throat a popsicle.
tHegeRm is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 03:37 PM   #5
KGB7
Crazy Russian Bastard
 
KGB7's Avatar
 
Drives: 01 740i sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Siberian Prison

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tHegeRm View Post
Why spend all that time ripping your own?
Why not d/l them and keep em on an external drive?

Limitations of PS3 media serving: If host comp isn't running a quad core good luck streaming anything bigger than 720p.

I'm using this:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=570

^will stream the biggest BD files I have in .mkv @ 15gb each with surround audio.

MKV is the format you wanna use.

Streaming server has nothing to do with how many cores a CPU has. Its the PC the plays the files needs to have a decent hardware.

A decent dual core and a cheap nvidia card will play any movie at 1080p. My 3 year old laptop will play any 1080p movie on a external 24" screen with no issues, while im converting another avi file with a 3rd party hardware.
__________________
B
M
W
KGB7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 03:42 PM   #6
enron29
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 E90
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCAL

Posts: 498
iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinsE90 View Post
PS3 will play MKV, just rip into MK3 and save them that way
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ochmonek View Post
DVDFab also rips Blu-Rays.
So I can use DVDFab to convert to MKV, right? And is this pretty good without too much loss in quality? Any ideas on an external blu-ray drive?
enron29 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 03:45 PM   #7
enron29
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 E90
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCAL

Posts: 498
iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tHegeRm View Post
Why spend all that time ripping your own?
Why not d/l them and keep em on an external drive?

Limitations of PS3 media serving: If host comp isn't running a quad core good luck streaming anything bigger than 720p.

I'm using this:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=570

^will stream the biggest BD files I have in .mkv @ 15gb each with surround audio.

MKV is the format you wanna use.
Pardon my non-intelligence with this. So this product will store and play movies from it? It's an all-in-one type deal? And 1TB is quite a bit of memory, right?
enron29 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 03:51 PM   #8
tHegeRm
Got Turbs?
 
tHegeRm's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' Lemans Blue 135is
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: GG

Posts: 309
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
Streaming server has nothing to do with how many cores a CPU has. Its the PC the plays the files needs to have a decent hardware.
Yes, serving pc (the comp with the MKV on it) should have quad core for best results as stated by the author of PS3 media server.

http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com/

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
A decent dual core and a cheap nvidia card will play any movie at 1080p. My 3 year old laptop will play any 1080p movie on a external 24" screen with no issues, while im converting another avi file with a 3rd party hardware.
add a large audio track to that (like the Star Wars films) and the files get bigger than 15gb using all of the available buffer strength. You will get choppyness or audio hiccups.

Just my experience with my PS3 as this is the only way I watch movies.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
Simply put, i dont want to end up on youtube because i like to deep throat a popsicle.
tHegeRm is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 03:52 PM   #9
tHegeRm
Got Turbs?
 
tHegeRm's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' Lemans Blue 135is
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: GG

Posts: 309
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enron29 View Post
Pardon my non-intelligence with this. So this product will store and play movies from it? It's an all-in-one type deal? And 1TB is quite a bit of memory, right?
Correct, add movies to it's internal drive or connect any external HD via USB and serve from that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
Simply put, i dont want to end up on youtube because i like to deep throat a popsicle.
tHegeRm is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 03:59 PM   #10
enron29
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 E90
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCAL

Posts: 498
iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tHegeRm View Post
Correct, add movies to it's internal drive or connect any external HD via USB and serve from that.
Awesome. It's not as expensive as I thought it might be. Now with the .mkv file, it's like if I was watching straight from the disc? I just don't want it to be pointless to do this if I'm losing quality. And isn't there something special I have to do for the surround sound to be converted? Thanks for your help.
enron29 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:00 PM   #11
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
 
CollinsE90's Avatar
 
Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

Posts: 1,927
iTrader: (0)

streaming anything wont be the same quality as the actual disc

hire a mexican to put your discs in
__________________
CollinsE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:03 PM   #12
enron29
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 E90
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCAL

Posts: 498
iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinsE90 View Post
streaming anything wont be the same quality as the actual disc

hire a mexican to put your discs in
But if I use the WD product described above, it's not really streaming, but rather storage for all the movies in one spot playing directly to the TV. No mexicans needed.
enron29 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:03 PM   #13
KGB7
Crazy Russian Bastard
 
KGB7's Avatar
 
Drives: 01 740i sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Siberian Prison

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tHegeRm View Post
Yes, serving pc (the comp with the MKV on it) should have quad core for best results as stated by the author of PS3 media server.

http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com/



add a large audio track to that (like the Star Wars films) and the files get bigger than 15gb using all of the available buffer strength. You will get choppyness or audio hiccups.

Just my experience with my PS3 as this is the only way I watch movies.

A media server, is no more or less then file server that stores any type files on a HDD/SSD.

The component that is connected to a Screen, is the component(PC or PS3) solely responsible for decoding video and audio.

If you use a HTPC/PC, all the decoding will be done by a video card, any Nvidia video card for $100 that supports Audio and Video decoding will take off all the stress off the CPU. Its called GPU Decoding. You will simply need a free software that supports this future.

http://wiki.videolan.org/VLC_GPU_Decoding




P.s.

There is nothing stated by the author in your link.
__________________
B
M
W
KGB7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:04 PM   #14
tHegeRm
Got Turbs?
 
tHegeRm's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' Lemans Blue 135is
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: GG

Posts: 309
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enron29 View Post
Awesome. It's not as expensive as I thought it might be. Now with the .mkv file, it's like if I was watching straight from the disc? I just don't want it to be pointless to do this if I'm losing quality. And isn't there something special I have to do for the surround sound to be converted? Thanks for your help.
I bought one instead of upgrading to a quad core in my PC.

The .mkv is the best you can get from a BD disk but a collins said it' not the same as the actual disk, you are viewing from a converted form, does that mean it's less than 1920X1080, no but it may do things like artifact or show cloudiness. It all depends on the quality of the rip.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
Simply put, i dont want to end up on youtube because i like to deep throat a popsicle.
tHegeRm is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:07 PM   #15
KGB7
Crazy Russian Bastard
 
KGB7's Avatar
 
Drives: 01 740i sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Siberian Prison

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enron29 View Post
But if I use the WD product described above, it's not really streaming, but rather storage for all the movies in one spot playing directly to the TV. No mexicans needed.

You still have to rip the BD to some type of file format to use the WD product.
__________________
B
M
W
KGB7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:08 PM   #16
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
 
CollinsE90's Avatar
 
Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

Posts: 1,927
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enron29 View Post
But if I use the WD product described above, it's not really streaming, but rather storage for all the movies in one spot playing directly to the TV. No mexicans needed.
That is how I do it, I download and put on a WD harddrive, but if I am not mistaken MKV cant be played that way, the streaming converts the MKV file over the air. MKV is a very compressed file almost like a .RAR.
__________________
CollinsE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:10 PM   #17
KGB7
Crazy Russian Bastard
 
KGB7's Avatar
 
Drives: 01 740i sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Siberian Prison

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tHegeRm View Post
I bought one instead of upgrading to a quad core in my PC.
Dude! Stop talking about Quad core CPU's. Your WD product doesnt have a quad CPU and it plays files that 1080p just fine. Why? Because it has nothing to do with Quad cores or Ghz.

Please get the facts right.
__________________
B
M
W
KGB7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:13 PM   #18
tHegeRm
Got Turbs?
 
tHegeRm's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' Lemans Blue 135is
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: GG

Posts: 309
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
A media server, is no more or less then file server that stores any type files on a HDD/SSD.

The component that is connected to a Screen, is the component(PC or PS3) solely responsible for decoding video and audio.

If you use a HTPC/PC, all the decoding will be done by a video card, any Nvidia video card for $100 that supports Audio and Video decoding will take off all the stress off the CPU. Its called GPU Decoding. You will simply need a free software that supports this future.

http://wiki.videolan.org/VLC_GPU_Decoding




P.s.

There is nothing stated by the author in your link.
^^ Cannot seem to find the info I was looking for...

Serving PC: Windows XP, dual core, 2.5gb
PS3 connected to Samsung 55" series 8

Some files will not even start when run on my PS3 but when run from WD unit they work without problem.

Try the same video on the computer it's stored on, works without problem??
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
Simply put, i dont want to end up on youtube because i like to deep throat a popsicle.
tHegeRm is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:13 PM   #19
KGB7
Crazy Russian Bastard
 
KGB7's Avatar
 
Drives: 01 740i sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Siberian Prison

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinsE90 View Post
That is how I do it, I download and put on a WD harddrive, but if I am not mistaken MKV cant be played that way, the streaming converts the MKV file over the air. MKV is a very compressed file almost like a .RAR.
MKV is just a file, just like avi file. It will play over the air or by wire or under water just fine.

And it doesnt get converted by anything to anything. Once video is converted from BD to MKV, it stays as MKV as you play it on your TV.
__________________
B
M
W
KGB7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:13 PM   #20
enron29
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 E90
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCAL

Posts: 498
iTrader: (12)

So I'm assuming that M2TS is worse than MKV?
enron29 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:15 PM   #21
KGB7
Crazy Russian Bastard
 
KGB7's Avatar
 
Drives: 01 740i sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Siberian Prison

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tHegeRm View Post
^^ Cannot seem to find the info I was looking for...

Serving PC: Windows XP, dual core, 2.5gb
PS3 connected to Samsung 55" series 8

Some files will not even start when run on my Comp but when run from WD unit they work without problem.

Try the same video on the computer it's stored on, works without problem??

Then the issue you have is between your PC and the PS3. Its either LAN or software compatibility issue. Not CPU issue.

The WD has far less horse power then your PC, yet it works fine. Why?
__________________
B
M
W
KGB7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2011, 04:16 PM   #22
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
 
CollinsE90's Avatar
 
Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

Posts: 1,927
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
MKV is just a file, just like avi file. It will play over the air or by wire or under water just fine.

And it doesnt get converted by anything to anything. Once video is converted from BD to MKV, it stays as MKV as you play it on your TV.
MKV is not widely recognized, AVI is the most typical file to play and those streaming programs convert MKV to AVI.
__________________
CollinsE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
blu ray, dvds, home theater, lol @ kgb7, omgkgb7issuchapro, streaming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST