E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding possible on Mac?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-23-2011, 11:47 PM   #1
aretardedorange
Banned
40

 
Drives: E60
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Empire State


Posts: 609
iTrader: (6)

Coding possible on Mac?

If you run bootcamp and run Windows XP in bootcamp mode will all the programs work fine? I am planning on buying a cable soon so I just wanted to make sure.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2011, 08:59 AM   #2
BigBambu
Private
0

 
Drives: E90 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CT


Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)

Limited tutorials I've read say no. I haven't actually put this knowledge in practice though.

Last edited by BigBambu; 06-03-2011 at 11:18 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2011, 01:20 PM   #3
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
78

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA


Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

It sure is (Sorry BigBambu )
Before my netbook, I used Parallels (more stable than bootcamp) with Windows XP 32bit (HAS TO BE 32 BIT!)
Works perfectly.
PM me if you need help setting any of that up aretardedorange!
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2011, 03:57 PM   #4
sandman0615
obsessed....
21

 
sandman0615's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 325xi 6sp
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ffld, ct


Posts: 523
iTrader: (2)

i use boot camp every day it doesnt get any more stable. parallels was awful, with boot camp the machine dedicates itself to the os as it should, parallels was a mess
__________________
|6SP|BILSTEIN/H&R SPORTS|INJEN CAI|BMS PBX|DEPO P90 6000K|x244 LED AE|BLACKLINES|20% TINT|MATTE KIDNEYS|BLACKOUT EMBLEMS|10" BAZOOKA|

||DIY: DEPO P90||
RIP E46 330xi
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2011, 04:03 PM   #5
Stangorang
Major
United_States
19

 
Stangorang's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal


Posts: 1,207
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandman0615 View Post
i use boot camp every day it doesnt get any more stable. parallels was awful, with boot camp the machine dedicates itself to the os as it should, parallels was a mess
I tried and didn't like the way it was running with VMware Fusion. The Dell Laptop is much smoother.
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 05:22 PM   #6
bazookajoe
Private First Class
United_States
3

 
Drives: 2007 530xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denver


Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

i use vmware on a macbook pro. works just like an xp machine. no problems at all
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 05:31 PM   #7
rollinstone157
Brotographer
United_States
24

 
rollinstone157's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 328i xDrive Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ, USA


Posts: 1,701
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I have no reason to believe it wouldn't work 100% perfectly in Boot Camp. It partions the HDD, and creates a windows section, there is no component of Mac OS X running when you boot camp into windows. I plan to get in to coding, and that's what I plan to do until I get rid of this stupid Mac...
__________________
Reviews -|- HPB "Ultimate" LED Interior Kit -|- Noyka Cornering Bulbs -|- HPB 20W AE [OLD] -|- LUX H8 V4 -|- New Reviews Pending Vendor Approval
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 06:52 PM   #8
allerena
Private First Class
Canada
2

 
Drives: e90 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal


Posts: 131
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328xi  [0.00]
Works perfect, I have coded my car using parallels but it is a little laggy, bootcamp is better. I hate PC so I am working on a full mac version... it's been tough though. (One step forward three backwards).
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2011, 09:40 AM   #9
profanitypete
Second Lieutenant
4

 
profanitypete's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rochester, NY


Posts: 270
iTrader: (4)

Works great, I code all the time with a Macbook Air with VMWare running XP.
__________________
'08 335xi | Black Sapphire Metallic | Terra | Nav | Sport
JB4 | BMS DCI | Rixter Vent Gauge
[/center]
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2011, 10:53 AM   #10
txusa03
Major General
118

 
Drives: TS330iPPSP6MT
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Planet Earth


Posts: 6,567
iTrader: (2)

If you purchased an old cable that does not have USB, you need to buy the serial to usb adapter to use on Mac, is that correct and will that work? or do you have to buy a new cable with the USB connector?
__________________
under construction!
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2011, 09:00 AM   #11
giovane
Private First Class
United_States
1

 
Drives: 2007 e92 335i, 2008 e70 3.0si
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston, TX


Posts: 138
iTrader: (3)

I was able to code my car with a MacBook where I installed oracle virtualbox (free) hosting windows xp. Works perfectly.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2011, 01:34 AM   #12
Nice
cmds_Programming=life..!
0

 
Nice's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: los angeles


Posts: 45
iTrader: (1)

Yup i code on my mac running bootcamp, runs excellent i prefer running windows on mac btw mac for the most part kills windows build pc when it comes to hardware..
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2012, 02:45 PM   #13
NavZ
Private First Class
South Africa
1

 
Drives: '09 E86 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cape Town, South Africa


Posts: 150
iTrader: (0)

It works on my mac, running bootcamp and windows 7. I was told xp was the only os that works but 7 runs fine?
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2012, 06:22 PM   #14
M3coupe
Private
0

 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: GA


Posts: 62
iTrader: (2)

Just chiming in with another,"Works perfect in Boot Camp"
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2012, 09:38 PM   #15
e92oholic
Banned
United_States
14

 
Drives: 2013 MINI JCW GP
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Buffalo NY


Posts: 854
iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bazookajoe View Post
i use vmware on a macbook pro. works just like an xp machine. no problems at all
+1
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 04:32 PM   #16
e90sexion
E 9 0 S E X I O N
Canada
80

 
e90sexion's Avatar
 
Drives: M3, Z4MC
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver/WA


Posts: 6,361
iTrader: (16)

it works fine, i did
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 10:43 AM   #17
spec1234
Private
0

 
spec1234's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e90 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greenville, SC


Posts: 61
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by allerena View Post
Works perfect, I have coded my car using parallels but it is a little laggy, bootcamp is better. I hate PC so I am working on a full mac version... it's been tough though. (One step forward three backwards).
Sorry to resurrect an older thread, but I'm looking into doing some coding but I only have a Mac. I was wondering if you had made any progress for a mac version, or if anyone has any other advice. I don't have parallels or bootcamp at the moment. Thanks for any info!
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 01:28 PM   #18
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
241


 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York


Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by spec1234 View Post
Sorry to resurrect an older thread, but I'm looking into doing some coding but I only have a Mac. I was wondering if you had made any progress for a mac version, or if anyone has any other advice. I don't have parallels or bootcamp at the moment. Thanks for any info!
Well you answered your own question. In order for Mac to work with coding you need parallels or bootcamp. There is no way around it.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 02:24 PM   #19
spec1234
Private
0

 
spec1234's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e90 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greenville, SC


Posts: 61
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335i  [5.00]
Yeah, I figured as much. I was just hoping that someone had figured a workaround by now. I'm not even remotely tech savvy so I'm hoping for the most straightforward way to do this. I should probably just look into having someone do it for me, lest I screw something up. Oh well, learning is half the fun right?
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 04:02 PM   #20
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
241


 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York


Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
I would just ask one of your friends to help you get parallels bootcamp working on your laptop and then worry About coding once you get pass the first hurdle. First things first. Either that or buy a new laptop running 32 bits. If not a 64 bits OS can also work but that requires you to run a VM machine. Although I have heard NCSexpert new update will now be able to run in 64 bits. I have the new update but can't seem to get it to work though
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      12-12-2012, 02:24 AM   #21
mikefromMA
First Lieutenant
United_States
4

 
Drives: 2013 e92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MA


Posts: 305
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2013 M3  [4.50]
2013 BMW x3  [0.00]
Just my 2 cents. I had an awful time with apple products and coding, as that's the source of all my computing technology. I went on eBay and got a used Dell for $70. I know it's a bit more expensive, but if you're going to continue to code, play it safe. Good luck, if you need help, pm me and I'll provide the all of the limited knowledge I have...as I've recently achieved almost all features I had wanted through trial and error and the help of another superb member.
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2012, 11:37 PM   #22
knight-rider
Private
4

 
knight-rider's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i // Black // MT
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC


Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Okay so im new to this thing here... i installed everything and now setting up the computer... I got everything set except for one thing

"9. This will open device manager.
a. Go to PORTS> double click on com1 > port settings tab > advanced
b. Ensure “use fifo uffers” option is marked and receive buffers and transmit buffers are both set to 8. Once that is finished press ok and exit all windows."

Now heres the problem, THERE'S NO "PORTS" :S
I'm on a macbook pro, mountain lion running on Parallels Desktop 7 with a Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3
Any help?
__________________
BMW 335i // Black // MT with Short Gear Shifter

Last edited by knight-rider; 12-15-2012 at 11:40 PM. Reason: Updated my post with a picture
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST