E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > hookup of JL Audio XD600/6 with Technic's harness



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-27-2011, 06:42 PM   #1
digitaldav
Private
5

 
Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lansdale, Pa


Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

hookup of JL Audio XD600/6 with Technic's harness

I am using Technic's harness to connect xd/600/6 to my High fi. My question is there is only 2 RCA female jack inputs, front and rear from the harness to the amp. I understand these would be connected to channels 1,2 front and channels 3,4 rear. I would then select 4 channel on the amp. The sub left and right output would be connected to channels 5 and 6. Does that sound right?

Does this sound right or am I making no sense...

Another ? I have is why does Technics harness have female rca jacks and the amp also has female jacks. Shouldn't they have male ends so can plug right into amp inputs?

Last edited by digitaldav; 05-27-2011 at 06:58 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2011, 07:10 PM   #2
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
United_States
96

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon


Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (3)

1) the harness isn't just for that amp. other amps fit other places.

2) if you'd gotten the amp from us we would have included short RCA for you.

3) we also preconfigure the amp so that ch 5/6 are created by the internal summing of 1 3 and 2 4. If you read the manual, you will see how to do that...
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2011, 07:20 PM   #3
digitaldav
Private
5

 
Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lansdale, Pa


Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

I got the amp from a friend that gave up on his install. I see in manual were channels 5/6 out is created by summing of 1.3 and 2.4.
So would the underseat subs be connected to channel 5/6?
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2011, 07:46 PM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
United_States
197

 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida


Posts: 11,146
iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitaldav View Post
I am using Technic's harness to connect xd/600/6 to my High fi. My question is there is only 2 RCA female jack inputs, front and rear from the harness to the amp. I understand these would be connected to channels 1,2 front and channels 3,4 rear. I would then select 4 channel on the amp. The sub left and right output would be connected to channels 5 and 6. Does that sound right?

Does this sound right or am I making no sense...
Page 7 on the XD600/6 manual:



Set Input Mode Switch to 4 channel

Quote:
Another ? I have is why does Technics harness have female rca jacks and the amp also has female jacks. Shouldn't they have male ends so can plug right into amp inputs?
All my harnesses are compatible with all balanced-inputs aftermarket amps thus male RCA extension cables are required -exactly the same as all aftermarket HU female RCA outs are configured.

Therefore the OEM HU/iDrive in the HiFi is converted virtually into an aftermarket HU with female RCA outs when the HiFi harness is plugged in.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone

Last edited by Technic; 03-11-2013 at 06:43 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2011, 07:53 PM   #5
digitaldav
Private
5

 
Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lansdale, Pa


Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

Thanks Elias,
I PM'd you..
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2011, 08:52 PM   #6
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
United_States
96

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon


Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (3)

Technically, Technic's harnesses are NOT compatible with all aftermarket amps - ONLY amps with true balanced inputs on the RCAs. I know that's what he meant, but if someone misread it, poor results would ensue...
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2011, 06:30 AM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
United_States
197

 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida


Posts: 11,146
iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
Technically, Technic's harnesses are NOT compatible with all aftermarket amps - ONLY amps with true balanced inputs on the RCAs. I know that's what he meant, but if someone misread it, poor results would ensue...
Thanks...
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2012, 07:40 PM   #8
Volktronic
New Member
0

 
Drives: E93
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: LA


Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

How do I know?

How do I know if my amp has "true balanced inputs on the RCAs"?

What about a basic Alpine like these?

MRX-F35 or MRX-F65

?

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2012, 02:36 PM   #9
Josh5442
Enlisted Member
United_States
1

 
Josh5442's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F10 M5
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston


Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

Stay away from the MRX Alpine line, I have sent about a dozen of those amps back to Alpine.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 03:51 PM   #10
Chill13
Registered
0

 
Drives: 06 325i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bay Area


Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Would this setup work
XD600/6 Amp
http://www.amazon.com/XD600-Audio-6-.../dp/B004E9QK3E
Alpine Sps 410
Would these fit?
http://www.amazon.com/Alpine-Type-s-...=alpine+sps410
Alpine Sub
http://www.amazon.com/SWS-12D2-Alpin...pine+type+r+12
Alpine Amp
http://www.amazon.com/MRX-M50-Alpine...ref=pd_sim_e_3

And technic harness and adapters
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2013, 11:29 AM   #11
Indigo12
Registered
0

 
Drives: 2011 328i X -Drive
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Syracuse, New York


Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

I am posting this so I can pm and purchase the xd600/6 harness from technic
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2013, 08:08 PM   #12
sle39lvr
Lieutenant
40

 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States


Posts: 542
iTrader: (3)

I am also looking in to doing this amp with BSW speakers that I already have. Please let us know how it sounds when done..
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2014, 09:03 PM   #13
Chiumia335
New Member
0

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335XI
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Massachusetts


Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

I'm also posting this so I can pm technic. I'm new to the forum.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2014, 11:05 AM   #14
tase15
New Member
0

 
Drives: BMW 325Xi
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NYC


Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

I'm also in need of a technic harness for a base stereo. Please advice on how to get a hold of one. Thanx
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2014, 11:09 AM   #15
Technic
Lieutenant General
United_States
197

 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida


Posts: 11,146
iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Please use PM with the last 7-digits of your VIN and what you are planning to do...
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST