E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BC_DIGITAL_V_KORREKTUR - fuel gauge acting weird...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-02-2011, 04:51 PM   #1
toni8284
Lieutenant
 
toni8284's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
BC_DIGITAL_V_KORREKTUR - fuel gauge acting weird...

Hi,

my car is 2011 135.

I changed the V_DIGITAL_KORRECTOR/BC_DIGITAL_V_KORREKTUR to show actually speed.

But after driving for a week, the gauge seems funny.

I filled up my car with a full tank, and I droved 35 miles, but the gauge shows I have 3/4 left.

I remembered I can at least drive 70 miles before the needle hits 3/4 mark.

Do anyone experience something like mine?

what is the default setting for that?
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray

Last edited by toni8284; 06-02-2011 at 05:05 PM.
toni8284 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 04:53 PM   #2
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

More than likely the problem is not at all related to the coding of your speedo but is probably a defective fuel tank sensor. My car has been coded for sometime and no issues at all.
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 05:05 PM   #3
toni8284
Lieutenant
 
toni8284's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
But I don't have this problem before my coding....
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray
toni8284 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 05:11 PM   #4
Express
Major General
 
Express's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Promise Land

Posts: 8,701
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [4.15]
its a problem with the coding i think. i have heard of this issue before, but with other items on the cluster.

check the fuel sending unit just for shits.
Express is offline   Israel
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 05:12 PM   #5
toni8284
Lieutenant
 
toni8284's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by express705 View Post
its a problem with the coding i think. i have heard of this issue before, but with other items on the cluster.

check the fuel sending unit just for shits.
how to check the fuel sending unit?
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray
toni8284 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 06:03 PM   #6
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

If the only two things he changed were V_DIGITAL_KORRECTOR/BC_DIGITAL_V_KORREKTUR then this is NOT a problem with coding, stop misinforming him.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 06:27 PM   #7
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
If the only two things he changed were V_DIGITAL_KORRECTOR/BC_DIGITAL_V_KORREKTUR then this is NOT a problem with coding, stop misinforming him.
Agreed. This is why waivers are signed when we code for others. Coincidental parts going on the fritz tend to get blamed on coding.

However if you're convinced it is coding try to code back to defaults and retry using the most recent Daten files.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 06:29 PM   #8
Express
Major General
 
Express's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Promise Land

Posts: 8,701
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [4.15]
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
If the only two things he changed were V_DIGITAL_KORRECTOR/BC_DIGITAL_V_KORREKTUR then this is NOT a problem with coding, stop misinforming him.
and who are you? the king of coding?
Express is offline   Israel
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 08:15 PM   #9
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Yes, bow down before Me you peasant
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 08:49 PM   #10
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,349
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Yes, bow down before Me you peasant
. Hilarious
__________________
taibanl is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 08:50 PM   #11
Express
Major General
 
Express's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Promise Land

Posts: 8,701
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [4.15]
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Yes, bow down before Me you peasant
hmm... well the first time i coded my speedometer, i had issues with items on my cluster. when i re-coded the car, the problem was solved.

cheeeaaaaaa boiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
Express is offline   Israel
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 09:18 PM   #12
toni8284
Lieutenant
 
toni8284's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
In the kombi, I changed the show digital at cluster, show real speed and 6mt shift ind...

I'm thinking to restore the kombi to the default setting.

How can I do it?
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray
toni8284 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 09:22 PM   #13
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Yes, bow down before Me you peasant
And I'm heir to the Throne! lmao


Quote:
Originally Posted by toni8284 View Post
In the kombi, I changed the show digital at cluster, show real speed and 6mt shift ind...

I'm thinking to restore the kombi to the default setting.

How can I do it?
Code the Kombi with a blank/empty MAN file.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 09:31 PM   #14
toni8284
Lieutenant
 
toni8284's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
Thx.

I'll try it tomorrow.

But what else can cause this problem?

The reason why I think this is the reason because I'm guessing when calculate the milage, it's using the real speed, that's why I see a smaller number of milage.

We all know when BMW say 60 mph, we are actually doing 56mph. So maybe now the computer is using the real mph to calculate the milage.

All my imagination in my head.... Haha

Let's see what happen tomorrow...

But want to thank everyones input
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray
toni8284 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 09:33 PM   #15
toni8284
Lieutenant
 
toni8284's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
Btw... I'm using the latest version daten 41...
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray
toni8284 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2011, 10:07 PM   #16
toni8284
Lieutenant
 
toni8284's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
How do I know my car software is up to date?

The dealer told me my car had a recall for reprogramming.

But I would like to know what version I'm at and what version they have.

How can I find it out
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray
toni8284 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-03-2011, 06:56 AM   #17
Jose_JN
Private First Class
 
Jose_JN's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

Posts: 173
iTrader: (0)

Why dont you read REAL values from fuel tank?

You can check it at hidden menu of KOMBI by holding the odometer reset button about 15 secconds.

Then, you have to unlock it at 19th option (you have to introduce a number result of add the last 5 digits of your serial number)

Then there is a option (when you unlock it) that shows you both fuel tanks meassures...

Regards from Spain!
Jose_JN is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      06-03-2011, 08:25 AM   #18
toni8284
Lieutenant
 
toni8284's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
thanks for ur advise.

I will try later
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray

Last edited by toni8284; 06-03-2011 at 09:22 AM.
toni8284 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST