E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > JBL MS-8 Processor Integration Thread



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-05-2011, 11:25 PM   #353
kdarcia007
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 530i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
I have no trouble with my unit. I thought I had some issues with the first one, and returned it, but it turns out I am an idiot and I mistook the RCA inputs as outputs...
Hey Kalgoss,

Everything installed and running, it was done using your advise, we add the tweeter to the center channel, amazing results.

First impressions:

- clear sounding, beautiful soundstage

- I have the settings for driver side, but For some reason, I always seem to hear it a bit louder on my right ear

-Either the screen or remote freeze after a while, sound stays the same, but the remote or display stop working, until I reset the ignition.

-on mute, I can hear a hiss on the amplification (my new installer told me this could be an issue because the audio cables are near the electricity wires)

any suggestion?
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2011, 12:07 AM   #354
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

As far as the hiss goes, lower the Tru gains and recalibrate - they are up too high. It is NOT your cable location - wrong kind of noise.

I don't know the L/R thing off the top - the MS8 should have corrected that. Try bumping MS8 balance a click?
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2011, 12:08 AM   #355
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

Oh, screen freezing is either incompletely plugged in display, or ANOTHER broken display jack.
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2011, 12:54 AM   #356
kdarcia007
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 530i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
Oh, screen freezing is either incompletely plugged in display, or ANOTHER broken display jack.
the jack broke the first time we tried to plug it in, it just cave in... fixed it, but since I'm in Costa Rica, shipping would be expensive, is this a common problem?

It starts working fine, but after a while, if I try to use the remote... it freezes again, then I have to restart the unit.

Last edited by kdarcia007; 06-06-2011 at 01:02 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2011, 01:00 AM   #357
kdarcia007
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 530i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
As far as the hiss goes, lower the Tru gains and recalibrate - they are up too high. It is NOT your cable location - wrong kind of noise.

I don't know the L/R thing off the top - the MS8 should have corrected that. Try bumping MS8 balance a click?
Ok, I will lower the gains and recalibrate everything.

I thought the MS-8 would correct that too, I can see the difference when I turn OFF/ON the Logic 7, but I can still hear it a bit louder on my right ear, I get the feeling as if the left side is off, I hate it.
actually...
I prefer to ride with the right side off, because I like the sound of the left side alone. I have an E60 btw.


Anybody with this L/R issue too?
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2011, 01:54 AM   #358
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

I wonder if the headphones are out of whack with less signal on the R or something?

Pretty common issue, yes. Was supposed to be early units only. If you can get through the process and unplug, it should work OK after, though.
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2011, 02:45 AM   #359
kdarcia007
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 530i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
I wonder if the headphones are out of whack with less signal on the R or something?

Pretty common issue, yes. Was supposed to be early units only. If you can get through the process and unplug, it should work OK after, though.
You know... my installer did the acoustics test with the headphones, I am much taller than he is.

Does the fact that the acoustics test were NOT done with the headphones on my head could affect the end result for me?
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2011, 09:00 AM   #360
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

Of course. Seat position and head height would be different.
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2011, 10:15 AM   #361
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
63
Rep
3,084
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Assuming your installer matched levels, make sure you turn down ALL amp gains by the same amount, except the sub.
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 12:08 AM   #362
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
63
Rep
3,084
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

I just replaced the front stage with (3) Hybrid Audio L3SE's (no tweeters) and I will post pictures and first impressions in a new thread. I am too tired right now...
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 03:01 AM   #363
kdarcia007
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 530i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
Assuming your installer matched levels, make sure you turn down ALL amp gains by the same amount, except the sub.
He did, the one making the slight hiss is the center channel, which is connected directly to the MS-8...

BTW, my MS-8 is at -0db volume, and the amp gains are at about 1/4... should I lower the MS-8 to something lower than -20db and increase the amp gains to half?


I did a test, with my wife's Ipod it sounds perfect, clear, balanced, beautiful, now, wheh I plug my ipod, the sound is much "sweeter" ( a lot more treble), and it annoys my ears, I think it coud be because my ipod songs have been EQ'd on itunes to ROCK EQ, any opinions on this?

The sound is much better than before when I had the Audiocontrol LC6i and lacked center speakers.... but, how can I REALLY TELL if the effect is noticeable?, by switching off the Logic 7?
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 12:48 PM   #364
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

I avoid iTunes EQ for that exact reason - I'm sure that's the problem.

There is an A/B option in the menu. The default center channel output level is far, far too loud for me and I cut it by 50% - have you done that yet? Might solve the hiss?

Was the tweeter installed on the center channel when you calibrated it? If not, and you added later, EQ for the center channel would be all wrong up at the top end...
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 01:09 PM   #365
kdarcia007
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 530i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
I avoid iTunes EQ for that exact reason - I'm sure that's the problem.

There is an A/B option in the menu. The default center channel output level is far, far too loud for me and I cut it by 50% - have you done that yet? Might solve the hiss?

Was the tweeter installed on the center channel when you calibrated it? If not, and you added later, EQ for the center channel would be all wrong up at the top end...
A/B option?, what's that?
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 01:14 PM   #366
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

Where you can turn on and off the processing to hear the difference. Term comes from A/B comparison testing.
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 01:21 PM   #367
kdarcia007
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 530i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
Where you can turn on and off the processing to hear the difference. Term comes from A/B comparison testing.
OH, yes you're right, actually, I did something else this morning, when it was quiet and my ears were relaxed, went in the car, turned on the ignition... heard the hiss and as soon as I got the MS-8 volume to -20db, the hiss was gone.
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2011, 01:34 PM   #368
emoon3
Private
emoon3's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
I just replaced the front stage with (3) Hybrid Audio L3SE's (no tweeters) and I will post pictures and first impressions in a new thread. I am too tired right now...
Cowboy up, Kai. We want to know....
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2011, 02:07 AM   #369
Sirrus
Private First Class
Sirrus's Avatar
3
Rep
158
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

MS-8 volume at -0 db is too high. They recommend -9 db max if you are using the stereo's volume control. I'm currently running mine at -12 db.

It does sound like your amp gains are too high as well, though.
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2011, 12:09 PM   #370
neusaab
Private
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NH

iTrader: (0)

replacement ms-8, still trouble with RCA's

Got a warranty replacement as the first unit read no voltage at the RCA outs. Setup again, same problem.

My setup (07 e90 335):

Inputs 1/2: front doors
inputs 7/8: underseats

Outputs:
sub: none
subsonic at 35
front: 2-way, crossed over at 150
1/2: front high
3/4: front low,
5 center, high pass 150
6/7 sides in series, high pass 150

Channels 3/4 externally amped

The issue: signal to all but channels 3/4. Measures about 2.5V AC at the speaker outs.
No signal at any RCA out, including 3/4.
During setup, no pink noise from the underseats.

Is this a problem with my setup? Shouldn't all RCA outs show some voltage? Or do they get bypassed if speaker-level outs are being used?

What voltage should read out from the RCA's?

Aargh. Stuck again.

Last edited by neusaab; 06-17-2011 at 09:01 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2011, 06:14 PM   #371
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
63
Rep
3,084
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Alright, just measured my RCA #3 (underseat woofer left). Test tone (sine wave) playing 63Hz. HU volume around 45 clicks. MS-8 volume -10dB. Digital VM in AC mode, reading 0.02V.

Do this on your end, then report back.
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2011, 08:08 AM   #372
neusaab
Private
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NH

iTrader: (0)

Done. 63 Hz test tone at 40+ clicks. 2.5V at the speaker out pins but 0 at RCA's 3 and 4.

300 Hz with similar voltage at speaker outs 1 and 2; 0 @ RCA's 1 and 2.

My first MS-8 seemed to suffer the same problem. There's no switch/manual control for RCA vs. speaker outputs, right? Is it possible that I have two duds in a row?
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2011, 08:36 AM   #373
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
63
Rep
3,084
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

That would be very unlikely. Not sure what test you have done already, but I would do this next:

1. Make sure you are using the RCA outputs, not inputs.

2. Check to make sure the VM has enough resolution to show the relatively small voltage from the RCAs. Perhaps get another VM, I use the red one from Walmart.

3. Disconnect the RCA cables going to your amp and connect a home CD player or a portable player with RCA outs, and see if you get any music from the speakers, to make sure the problem is not downstream from the MS-8.

Once you have positively identified the problem to be the RCA outs, I would get in touch with JBL and have them ship you another unit. I would insist that they send it to you and that you return the old one only after receipt of the new one. In the meantime, assuming your amp can take speaker level inputs, connect the speaker outs to your amp's input by cutting up a cheap pair of RCAs. The wire in the center of the RCA (with the insulation around it) is the positive one. I actually ran mine like that while I was waiting on my replacement unit and it worked great. In fact, JBL recommends using speaker level inputs to your amps (if they can handle them) to minimize noise.
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2011, 11:01 AM   #374
emoon3
Private
emoon3's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Kai, I tried the trick you posted over at DIYMA (configuring the MS-8 with no sub and using the amp's crossovers to filter output to the sub.)

Well, let's just say that the next time you're up this way, drinks are on me!

Mid bass is better than I have ever been able to get it with just a calibration.

I still had to boost it just a bit with the EQ, but this definitely worked much better for me.


Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST