E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > Debating between these two

05-31-2011, 11:46 PM   #1
Ferruccio
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2010 335i

Debating between these two

I know I want to get some sort of variable speed random orbit sander for the polishing stage of detailing the paint. My car's black, so I figure it's a great opportunity to learn how to properly remove swirl marks and wax. However, there are a myriad of kits out there that I've seen. I'm just starting out, and don't want to start throwing tons of money into crazily specialized products before I even know what it's like. Most lists I've seen tend to list a hundred different possibilities, without any nice beginner's list.

I'm debating between one of these kits. What do you think? Is the included polisher worth it, or should I just get the 7424?

http://www.amazon.com/review/R4O27R0...#R4O27R081PW8N

http://www.amazon.com/Griots-Garage-...6707358&sr=8-1

Remember: I'm not trying to get a concours-level finish here. I just want to *greatly* reduce the amount of swirl marks on the car. If I can eliminate them all, that would be great, too!
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2011, 12:03 AM   #2
MKR_DmD
Lieutenant
Germany
Rep
Drives: 16 Jeep Cherokee

I feel you about the money. To buy everything I needed, it cost about $300, but i looked at it this way, a pro wanted $350-$400 to do the work, so I saved money. It takes a long time, you will be sore the next day, but the results are outstanding. I love the way my car looks.

Check out my thread, I have majority of the stuff that I bought. I personally wouldn't go cheap. Buy quality products and polisher. The results are only as good as the products you use.
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2011, 07:07 PM   #3
Ridonculous
1 Addict
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW 135i