E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > Drilled, Slotted, Both, or Blank Rotors

11-24-2015, 10:05 AM   #1
Camman
What am I doing here?
United_States
Rep
Drives: 07 328i 6MT

Drilled, Slotted, Both, or Blank Rotors

So I will be looking at purchasing some new rotors for front and rear soon. I don't know what rotors I currently have but I'm running akebono pads in the rear and brembo pads in the front.

I have ordered akebono pads for the front and rear because I love how the akebono pads have virtually eliminated the dust on the rear and I hate the amount of dust the brembo's create on the front. The brembo's stop well but I don't mind losing bite and performance if it means eliminating dust.

Now, I want to know what rotors would work best for me. I don't track the car but I am a spirited driver. I love the look of drilled and/or slotted rotors but I don't want to run into problems later down the road. Slotted rotors sounds like the safest option if I want the cool look but keep the reliability. But will drilled rotors still be reliable if I only do street driving?

Or should I just stick with blank vented rotors?

Also what are some brands I should look at. Is ECS an okay option or should I stay away from them? I've seen mixed reviews on them

Thanks
      11-24-2015, 10:45 AM   #2
dhanni848
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 06 330i

I have read some posts like this a few times, and I am no expert at all but will let you know what I have read.

Blank rotors - actually give the most stopping power since you have full contact with pad and rotor. Track cars, from what I have read, use these.

Drilled - says it releases the heat from the pads easier through the holes, but less surface area touching. I have drilled just for looks, that is all. When I moved from blanks to drilled my braking became a bit smoother, not so touchy as factory.