E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > Paint scratch advice?

12-11-2014, 01:56 PM   #1
mrc9045
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2008 328i Convertible

Paint scratch advice?

Hello all:

New to the forums here. I scraped against a cement pole recently and did some ugly scratching to my passenger door. Images below.

I am a complete novice when it comes to repairs and I am looking for some advice on how to fix this.

Option A: I got a quote of $1400 from a BMW certified shop to repaint the entire door and rear panel

Option B: I got a quote of $800 from a local repair shop with no BMW specialization for the same work. I'm worried about the color not being right - but then again - even the BMW certified shop won't be able to get it exactly right due to sun fading on the rest of the car, am I right?

Option C: Is there any hope of fixing this myself with a repair kit of some sort?

Thanks so much for your help!

Appreciate 0
      12-11-2014, 02:06 PM   #2
AdamN52
First Lieutenant
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2007 328xi (E90)

Damn that sucks!

Some people will swear only a dealer/BMW specific shop can do it... but I got bodywork done at a local shop last winter when I was in an accident, and it turned out great. Couldn't be happier with it. I can't see any difference in the panel colors, and the rest of the car has 7yr old paint.

If you want to save a bit of money just go to a reputable local shop - check references/reviews first. It looks like it's down to the metal, so I'd be pretty weary of trying to fix it myself. Good luck!
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2014, 03:46 PM   #3
mrc9045
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2008 328i Convertible

Thanks Adam! That puts my mind at ease. It's a local shop my dad trusts, and they've worked on a lot of his classic cars.