E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Speaker Wire to RCA adapter question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-25-2009, 05:40 PM   #1
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
175
Rep
3,844
Posts

Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (6)

Speaker Wire to RCA adapter question

I just got a JL Audio HD600/4 amp which accepts high-level speaker level signals through its RCA inputs. I am planning not to use a line level converter and feed the speaker outputs of the L7 amp directly into the JL. I will use channels 1 & 2 for the front door speakers (Focal 100 KP) and channels 3 & 4 for the underseat SWS-8's.

I did some searching on the web but all I found were some cheapo Radio Shack RCA cables like this: http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...LAID=107595248

Anyone else know a better product of higher quality, or is this good enough???

Edit: How about this one?
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_136CLR2...W.html?tp=2610
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2009, 06:38 PM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
610
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

You cannot use the HD600/4 (11V max input sensitivity in the high level setting) with the OEM Top HiFi amp woofer outputs (16V peak) directly as you will saturate that amp sooner or later...

Get a cheap Cleansweep/summing module with that HD600/4 and be real happy...
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2009, 08:58 PM   #3
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
175
Rep
3,844
Posts

Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
You cannot use the HD600/4 (11V max input sensitivity in the high level setting) with the OEM Top HiFi amp woofer outputs (16V peak) directly as you will saturate that amp sooner or later...
Well, I was thinking 11V is better than 8V, which is the max. sensitivity of the current Blaupunkt amp and it is working well. Makes me think though....when I start getting distortion with my current set-up, is it from the subs being overdriven, the amp being clipped in the output stage, or because of the input stage being clipped due to the voltage exceeding 8V... hmmmmmmmm (damn you Technic ).

What I will do is I will measure the voltage coming from the L7 amp's speaker outputs with a multimeter using some 0dB test tones to see where the voltage is at the max. volume level I would normally listen to (I will probably also zero out all the equalizer settings below 150 hz). My guess is that the reading will be much below 11V but we'll see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Get a cheap Cleansweep/summing module with that HD600/4 and be real happy...
I am planning to stay with the L7 processing for now to see how well (or not) some good aftermarket speakers will do with it. Therefore I do not want/need the cleansweep. I guess if I decide I need to have a summing module, I will probably get a LC6i, but I hate the idea of introducing further audio components in the signal path, in an effort to keep it as "clean" and simple as possible.
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2009, 12:19 AM   #4
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
138
Rep
3,200
Posts

Drives: F34 xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

I don't think you need a summing module, because I think the xover points are usable.

But I still think that most of the EQ applied to the L7 system is speaker-related. So, I predict you will find that as far as EQ goes, better speakers sound worse in that system.

From what I've read, I suspect that there are time delays in the L7 system which no CURRENTLY-available interface restores.
__________________
Musicar Certified Sound
Musicar Northwest in Portland, Oregon
musicarcertified.com
musicarnw.com
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2009, 07:43 AM   #5
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
610
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
Well, I was thinking 11V is better than 8V, which is the max. sensitivity of the current Blaupunkt amp and it is working well. Makes me think though....when I start getting distortion with my current set-up, is it from the subs being overdriven, the amp being clipped in the output stage, or because of the input stage being clipped due to the voltage exceeding 8V... hmmmmmmmm (damn you Technic ).
The issue here is the volume level of your system, as any aftermarket amp with high level inputs can be used with your system... as long as you do not confuse its max input sensitivity as the normal input level.

And something tells me that once you start listening to the SWS-8 pounding pretty tight you start cranking up that volume and thus exceeding that max input sensitivity for an extended and regular period of time. Then sooner or later that amp just start malfunctioning/distorting. There are a couple of cases posted in this forum -and now yours- of this issue.

If you are going to use an LC6i then do not use the summing feature and just use it as a straight thru active LOC, so in effect you will be only increasing the power output of the Logic7 system and not doing anything with its processing. The recommendation of the Cleansweep/summing device is because the Cleansweep alone cannot be used with crossovered signals.
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2009, 01:08 PM   #6
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
175
Rep
3,844
Posts

Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
I don't think you need a summing module, because I think the xover points are usable.

But I still think that most of the EQ applied to the L7 system is speaker-related. So, I predict you will find that as far as EQ goes, better speakers sound worse in that system.

From what I've read, I suspect that there are time delays in the L7 system which no CURRENTLY-available interface restores.
I understand the L7 EQ having been "optimized" for the stock speakers. I am hoping that I can manage any gross peaks or valleys with the on-board EQ. As far as the time-delay goes, would that not be optimized for the position (which remains the same) rather than for the speakers?
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2009, 01:54 PM   #7
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
138
Rep
3,200
Posts

Drives: F34 xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
I understand the L7 EQ having been "optimized" for the stock speakers. I am hoping that I can manage any gross peaks or valleys with the on-board EQ.
Hope that works out : ) You have any measurement tools to check it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
As far as the time-delay goes, would that not be optimized for the position (which remains the same) rather than for the speakers?
If the time effects are related only to speaker location, sure. But if they decided to do some sort of "effects", then you might be stuck with it.
__________________
Musicar Certified Sound
Musicar Northwest in Portland, Oregon
musicarcertified.com
musicarnw.com
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2009, 06:51 PM   #8
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
175
Rep
3,844
Posts

Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (6)

So I considered running a turn-on wire from the cig lighter but ended up buying an LOC anyway since it has that feature built-in, and also a few others...

http://www.audison.eu/index_main.php?Section=BITONE

Now I have a turn-on wire, an LOC AND I don't need to buy these stupid RCA adapters !!! LOL!

Appreciate 0
      10-27-2009, 09:04 PM   #9
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
138
Rep
3,200
Posts

Drives: F34 xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

Buy the V2 ".1" version?
__________________
Musicar Certified Sound
Musicar Northwest in Portland, Oregon
musicarcertified.com
musicarnw.com
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2009, 09:08 PM   #10
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
175
Rep
3,844
Posts

Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
Buy the V2 ".1" version?
Yep, made sure of that.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2009, 09:12 PM   #11
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
138
Rep
3,200
Posts

Drives: F34 xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

It is a nice piece. If you retain the DRC, you might want to run your iPod analog out directly into it and leave the USB connected. Could sound better that way.

You need SMALL speaker wire to fit into the inputs. Small screwdriver too... like that jeweler's set they sell at Home Depot.
__________________
Musicar Certified Sound
Musicar Northwest in Portland, Oregon
musicarcertified.com
musicarnw.com
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2009, 09:28 PM   #12
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
175
Rep
3,844
Posts

Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (6)

Thanks. For now I will try to retain the OE volume controls and run everything through the HU. Later, who knows?!

As for the speaker wire, I think I have 14 or 16 gauge and I'll probably just end up trimming some of the strands off of the ends unless you have a better suggestion?
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2009, 02:05 PM   #13
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
138
Rep
3,200
Posts

Drives: F34 xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

16 GA MIGHT fit. I went to RadShack and bought 20 for my bench testing.
__________________
Musicar Certified Sound
Musicar Northwest in Portland, Oregon
musicarcertified.com
musicarnw.com
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST