E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Extended BMW 335d PIDs for Torque



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-02-2017, 07:34 AM   #177
robnitro
Second Lieutenant
15
Rep
239
Posts

Drives: x5 35d e70 2011
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: NYC area

iTrader: (0)

I've recently started using the nox pre and post sensor pids and am confused why they show numbers like -97.2 pre, -98.8 post. Isn't that value supposed to be in ppm as ista Rheingold shows for scr?
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2017, 08:00 AM   #178
Mark M
Major
Mark M's Avatar
United_States
123
Rep
1,266
Posts

Drives: E30M3 E83X3 E90335D
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lancaster, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robnitro View Post
I've recently started using the nox pre and post sensor pids and am confused why they show numbers like -97.2 pre, -98.8 post. Isn't that value supposed to be in ppm as ista Rheingold shows for scr?
Agreed. I had the same issue with these two pids some time ago. My guess is that there is a slight calculation error taking place.

My car has since gone illiterate so I no longer use these.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2017, 09:20 AM   #179
DWR
Lieutenant Colonel
468
Rep
1,632
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robnitro View Post
I've recently started using the nox pre and post sensor pids and am confused why they show numbers like -97.2 pre, -98.8 post. Isn't that value supposed to be in ppm as ista Rheingold shows for scr?
You are probably right. Not sure what the correct reading should be, as I found no reference from BMW.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2017, 04:12 PM   #180
Len_Beach
Captain
55
Rep
886
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I have a 2009 330d with the N57. Would this PID work with that engine?

If not, how easy is it to tweak?
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2017, 08:56 PM   #181
JadeMonkeyStang
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335d M-Sport (e90)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Fort Collins, CO

iTrader: (0)

Just got Torque installed yesterday with the extended PIDs, thanks so much for posting this and for the work that's been done on it. Everything is working great for the most part except for the throttle % value is incorrect.

Also wanted to mention that you need Torque Pro to add the extended PIDs, the free version will not allow you to add them.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2017, 07:59 PM   #182
DWR
Lieutenant Colonel
468
Rep
1,632
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JadeMonkeyStang View Post
Just got Torque installed yesterday with the extended PIDs, thanks so much for posting this and for the work that's been done on it. Everything is working great for the most part except for the throttle % value is incorrect.

Also wanted to mention that you need Torque Pro to add the extended PIDs, the free version will not allow you to add them.
Since there is more than one % throttle value. how do you know it is not correct?
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2017, 12:42 AM   #183
robnitro
Second Lieutenant
15
Rep
239
Posts

Drives: x5 35d e70 2011
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: NYC area

iTrader: (0)

The throttle that is incorrect could be the one that says how much the valve in front of the egr is open/closed.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2017, 10:23 PM   #184
JadeMonkeyStang
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335d M-Sport (e90)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Fort Collins, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
Since there is more than one % throttle value. how do you know it is not correct?
The gauge always shows the same value, 94.9%, no matter what the actual throttle position is.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2017, 08:39 PM   #185
DWR
Lieutenant Colonel
468
Rep
1,632
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JadeMonkeyStang View Post
The gauge always shows the same value, 94.9%, no matter what the actual throttle position is.
LOL, I just realized, you were not talking about my stuff - I did not provide a throttle PID.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2017, 05:49 PM   #186
robnitro
Second Lieutenant
15
Rep
239
Posts

Drives: x5 35d e70 2011
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: NYC area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JadeMonkeyStang View Post
The gauge always shows the same value, 94.9%, no matter what the actual throttle position is.
It's the throttle Plate position, the one in front of the EGR which is unrelated to how much throttle you use on the pedal. This is used for dpf regen and shutdown (anti shudder)
Appreciate 1
      08-12-2017, 11:59 PM   #187
JadeMonkeyStang
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335d M-Sport (e90)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Fort Collins, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
LOL, I just realized, you were not talking about my stuff - I did not provide a throttle PID.
Nope, your stuff seems to be all good. Really appreciate it!

Appreciate 0
      08-13-2017, 12:01 AM   #188
JadeMonkeyStang
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335d M-Sport (e90)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Fort Collins, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robnitro View Post
It's the throttle Plate position, the one in front of the EGR which is unrelated to how much throttle you use on the pedal. This is used for dpf regen and shutdown (anti shudder)
Thanks Rob! So I should see that position change during a regen or when the throttle valve closes? What's a normal # to expect?
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2017, 04:11 PM   #189
robnitro
Second Lieutenant
15
Rep
239
Posts

Drives: x5 35d e70 2011
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: NYC area

iTrader: (0)

No clue, I haven't watched it during a regen. It depends on many factors, like engine temperature, outside temperature, dpf temperature, load, rpm and so on. Its the way that the dde can tweak the amount of fuel and oxygen to get what it wants to clean the dpf.
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2017, 07:14 PM   #190
ninja_zx11
Private First Class
Canada
36
Rep
171
Posts

Drives: X5 diesel 2009
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Langley BC,Canada

iTrader: (0)

I tried using the csv file that is posted in the first post but somehow it didn't work on my android phone.I think its a format issue.So i tested another csv file from VW and it worked.
Code:
"Name","ShortName","ModeAndPID","Equation","Min Value","Max Value","Units","Header"
"VW Charged Air Cooler Temperature","CACT","0177","B-40","-40","215","C","Auto"
"VW Engine Coolant Temperature","Coolant","0167","B-40","-40","215","C","Auto"
"VW Fuel Flow","Fuel Flow","015E","((A*256)+B)*0.05","0","15","l/hr","Auto"

But i noticed that BMW csv file looks different like this:
Code:
Name,ShortName,ModeAndPID,Equation,Min Value,Max Value,Units,Header
0-0 BMW 335d Ambient Air Temperature,AAT,146,((A-40)*1.8)+32,0,50,F,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Intake Air Temperature,IAT,10F,((A-40)*1.8)+32,0,100,F,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Charged Air Cooler Temperature,CACT,177,((B-40)*1.8)+32,0,100,F,Auto
Does anybody have a csv file with format like the VW file i showed?Thanks

Last edited by ninja_zx11; 08-24-2017 at 11:45 PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2017, 11:41 PM   #191
Yozh
Colonel
Yozh's Avatar
No_Country
416
Rep
2,151
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Wet Coast

iTrader: (4)

The one for BMW worked on my Torque in the format that you reference for BMW
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2017, 11:46 PM   #192
ninja_zx11
Private First Class
Canada
36
Rep
171
Posts

Drives: X5 diesel 2009
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Langley BC,Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yozh View Post
The one for BMW worked on my Torque in the format that you reference for BMW
Hi Yozh!! It could be android version.I tried even the latest torque version but same results.
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2017, 11:57 PM   #193
Yozh
Colonel
Yozh's Avatar
No_Country
416
Rep
2,151
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Wet Coast

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja_zx11 View Post
Hi Yozh!! It could be android version.I tried even the latest torque version but same results.
I'm an iphone guy and have an oil dedicated GalaxyS4 for some car apps. Android Version 5.0.1 right now and latest Torque update as well. Hope this will help.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2017, 12:29 PM   #194
ninja_zx11
Private First Class
Canada
36
Rep
171
Posts

Drives: X5 diesel 2009
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Langley BC,Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yozh View Post
I'm an iphone guy and have an oil dedicated GalaxyS4 for some car apps. Android Version 5.0.1 right now and latest Torque update as well. Hope this will help.
Thanks.I am at android 7.0 on HTC M9.It could well be the android version.I am going to hand edit that file when i get time.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2017, 08:57 AM   #195
JTC1
Private First Class
16
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Atl

iTrader: (0)

Finally got around to downloading Torque and loading these custom PIDs. Have to give DWR a big thanks! Even for this Android newb, I had no problems and everything worked great!
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2017, 01:54 PM   #196
Kasanova
Enlisted Member
United_States
0
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i xDrive
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hudson, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Hi DWR, I think I spoke to you on one of the Facebook 335d groups, just found this thread. Did you ever take a look at setting up a reading for the oil temperature?
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2017, 02:04 PM   #197
Torqu3
Captain
130
Rep
901
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 335D
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: College Station, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kasanova View Post
Hi DWR, I think I spoke to you on one of the Facebook 335d groups, just found this thread. Did you ever take a look at setting up a reading for the oil temperature?
DWR doesn't use Facebook, but I'm about 99% sure you talked to me. I never got around to poking around with my Scwaben tool to find oil reading. I'll try this afternoon.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2017, 02:21 PM   #198
Kasanova
Enlisted Member
United_States
0
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i xDrive
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hudson, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqu3 View Post
DWR doesn't use Facebook, but I'm about 99% sure you talked to me. I never got around to poking around with my Scwaben tool to find oil reading. I'll try this afternoon.
Yup, it was definitely you. Only reason why I now know, is because you just mentioned the Scwaben tool again. I know another member was trying to get you the PID's but that post just disappeared to the bottom somewhere and I cant find it in my notifications. Will keep an eye on this thread from now on. And thank you again.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:54 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST