E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Best Carly Mods



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-12-2015, 08:02 AM   #23
W37V
[Oo=||=oO]
No_Country
564
Rep
1,636
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

He is talking about this
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1176695
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2015, 12:06 PM   #24
Vish8895
Captain
Vish8895's Avatar
United Kingdom
57
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: MY61 Audi S3 Black Edition DSG
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Solihull, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by W37V View Post
It will be in 2 modules CAS and FRM.
Changes you need to make in CAS:

You will need to change following options:
Comfort folding/unfolding for sideview mirrors
• active <-- This one
• not active
When holding the lock/unlock button on the remote the sideview mirrors automatically fold/unfold. To activate this function please activate ‘Comfort folding/unfolding for sideview mirrors’ in the ‘FRM’ module. Also activate ‘Comfort open using remote’ and ‘Comfort close using remote’ in this module. (CAS)

Comfort closing delay (mirrors)
• 0.0s
• 0.5s
• 1.5s <-- I selected this one
General delay for comfort closing. If ‘0.0s’ is set, mirrors fold immediately when car is locked. (CAS)

and
Do following changes in FRM:

Comfort folding/unfolding for sideview mirrors
• active <-- This one
• not active
This function requires an installed LIN-Bus (usually installed with mirror heating)nWhen holding the lock/unlock button on the remote the sideview mirrors automatically fold/unfold. May need additional coding of the ‘CAS’ module. (FRM)
Thanks for the detailed explanation.

Do you have to hold the lock button for them to fold or do they fold with a single click of the lock button? As holding the button just seems a bit long winded and would cause the windows to open on unlocking surely?

Cheers
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2015, 12:16 PM   #25
Wrecker335d
OEF Vet
Wrecker335d's Avatar
United_States
307
Rep
1,311
Posts

Drives: unfiltered diesel
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vish8895 View Post
Thanks for the detailed explanation.

Do you have to hold the lock button for them to fold or do they fold with a single click of the lock button? As holding the button just seems a bit long winded and would cause the windows to open on unlocking surely?

Cheers
The windows will roll up as soon as you hit the lock button if you coded it for 0seconds delay. The mirrors fold instant with the 0s delay as well.
__________________
Mods: BPC Stage 3, Meth Injection, BDP downpipe, Wagner intercooler, Koni Yellow/Swift Springs, M3 Control Arms/Strut Bar, MB Quartz Kit/Alpine Amp
Best 1/4mi: 12.24s @ 113.88Mi/h
Dyno: 350whp
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2015, 12:40 PM   #26
Vish8895
Captain
Vish8895's Avatar
United Kingdom
57
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: MY61 Audi S3 Black Edition DSG
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Solihull, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrecker335d View Post
The windows will roll up as soon as you hit the lock button if you coded it for 0seconds delay. The mirrors fold instant with the 0s delay as well.
I see, I only asked as the description copied from Carly says you have to hold the button :/

Will give it a try when I'm next plugged in!
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2015, 05:15 PM   #27
Debacle of Mass Eruption.
Trap Lord, Turf Gremlin, Thug Desciple
Debacle of Mass Eruption.'s Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
111
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 335i e90, Sports Pkg
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (1)

I had someone do the digital speedo and the folding mirrors. I want to do some on my own, but im not sure with cable to get. Any ideas for an android cable?
__________________
2007 BMW 335i, My commuter car
1984 Oldsmobile Cutlass Calais, My pride and joy
Driving Fast and Unsafe Around The Bay Area.
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2015, 08:04 PM   #28
90c4
Second Lieutenant
38
Rep
265
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i xdrive coupe
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kewill0360 View Post
Do they closed automatically or u have to hold the lock button?
It's automatic as soon as you lock the doors, which in the case of comfort access is when you touch the door handle.
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2015, 09:41 PM   #29
W37V
[Oo=||=oO]
No_Country
564
Rep
1,636
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Debacle of Mass Eruption. View Post
I had someone do the digital speedo and the folding mirrors. I want to do some on my own, but im not sure with cable to get. Any ideas for an android cable?
You can get their bluetooth dongle for about $35. With it, you can code digital speedo, and bunch of other things, as well as read codes.
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2015, 10:32 PM   #30
W37V
[Oo=||=oO]
No_Country
564
Rep
1,636
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vish8895 View Post
Thanks for the detailed explanation.

Do you have to hold the lock button for them to fold or do they fold with a single click of the lock button? As holding the button just seems a bit long winded and would cause the windows to open on unlocking surely?

Cheers
the numbers indicate how long you have to hold the lock button on your remote (or hold your hand on door handle ridges, if you have CA) for mirrors to fold.

If you select 0.00, mirror will fold as soon as you click on the lock button (you will not need to hold anything).
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2015, 07:21 AM   #31
Vish8895
Captain
Vish8895's Avatar
United Kingdom
57
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: MY61 Audi S3 Black Edition DSG
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Solihull, UK

iTrader: (0)

Ah thank you both for clarifying! I took a look the other day using my generic OBD adapter and some of the modules weren't there, I believe this is because of the basic communication they use. I must invest in the new Gen2 Carly Adapter me thinks!
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2015, 03:38 PM   #32
Vish8895
Captain
Vish8895's Avatar
United Kingdom
57
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: MY61 Audi S3 Black Edition DSG
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Solihull, UK

iTrader: (0)

Just realised I was being an idiot. My adapter is showing all menus available!

I have successfully coded the folding mirrors with 0.0s delay! Love it. I am wondering if it's worth lubricating the motors on these? I re-call in my FN3 civic that the mirrors were prone to failure so just worried mine are too
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2015, 06:39 PM   #33
W37V
[Oo=||=oO]
No_Country
564
Rep
1,636
Posts

Drives: Car
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Location

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vish8895 View Post
Just realised I was being an idiot. My adapter is showing all menus available!

I have successfully coded the folding mirrors with 0.0s delay! Love it. I am wondering if it's worth lubricating the motors on these? I re-call in my FN3 civic that the mirrors were prone to failure so just worried mine are too

Personally, I wouldn't 0.0s. Those motors will wear out and will fail. Then you are stuck with a big bill. Also, do you really need to your mirrors folded every time you lock your car?
Here is a situation that all us have been in at one point in time (or will be) You park. Get out the car. Lock it. Realize you forgot something. Unlock it. Get thing you forgot. Lock it. Realize you didn't need it after all. Unlock it. Leave the thing in the car. Lock it.

All that time, your mirrors, if set to 0.00, are going up and down. Fold/unfold. It's silly. If you want to show off, sure. But are you really in that much need of an attention? You are already driving a BMW.
Appreciate 1
      12-16-2015, 11:40 PM   #34
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
357
Rep
1,529
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Not to mention if you're in a cold/icy location and they are iced closed/open...
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2015, 04:35 AM   #35
Vish8895
Captain
Vish8895's Avatar
United Kingdom
57
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: MY61 Audi S3 Black Edition DSG
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Solihull, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by W37V View Post

Personally, I wouldn't 0.0s. Those motors will wear out and will fail. Then you are stuck with a big bill. Also, do you really need to your mirrors folded every time you lock your car?
Here is a situation that all us have been in at one point in time (or will be) You park. Get out the car. Lock it. Realize you forgot something. Unlock it. Get thing you forgot. Lock it. Realize you didn't need it after all. Unlock it. Leave the thing in the car. Lock it.

All that time, your mirrors, if set to 0.00, are going up and down. Fold/unfold. It's silly. If you want to show off, sure. But are you really in that much need of an attention? You are already driving a BMW.
That is my concern, they don't sound very reassuring if I'm honest. My neighbors 420d fold on every lock though, as does my grandfathers Merc, maybe they have stronger motors designed to fold every lock?

I'm going to un-code it i think and code an audible lock confirmation instead...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
Not to mention if you're in a cold/icy location and they are iced closed/open...
Yes this is something that was of concern but I'm still yet to find any ice on my car as it's parked in underground parking thankfully
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2015, 12:39 PM   #36
90c4
Second Lieutenant
38
Rep
265
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i xdrive coupe
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

Are folding mirrors really that problematic on BMWs? A lot of cars have that feature as a default and I assume they all source the same parts. I'll have to research it a bit, but I've personally never had any issues with mirror failure.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2015, 04:17 PM   #37
Dylanize
Captain Dutch Rudder
Dylanize's Avatar
162
Rep
2,291
Posts

Drives: 12' E82
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by W37V View Post

Personally, I wouldn't 0.0s. Those motors will wear out and will fail. Then you are stuck with a big bill. Also, do you really need to your mirrors folded every time you lock your car?
Here is a situation that all us have been in at one point in time (or will be) You park. Get out the car. Lock it. Realize you forgot something. Unlock it. Get thing you forgot. Lock it. Realize you didn't need it after all. Unlock it. Leave the thing in the car. Lock it.

All that time, your mirrors, if set to 0.00, are going up and down. Fold/unfold. It's silly. If you want to show off, sure. But are you really in that much need of an attention? You are already driving a BMW.
I manually press the fold button every time I park, been doing it for 3 years. It's habit if anything now.
__________________
No more E92
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2015, 10:55 PM   #38
Nitrousbird
Banned
317
Rep
1,605
Posts

Drives: '07 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Powell, OH

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vish8895 View Post
Possibly! I am a bit miffed however, as I have just bought the full paid version (40.00) and went to look at the DPF and service options only to find they want 5-10 for each feature! Bastards.
$30 coding cable and a laptop, then you can do far more than this Carly app could ever dream of...
Appreciate 1
Siuriu0.00

      12-18-2015, 08:53 PM   #39
Vish8895
Captain
Vish8895's Avatar
United Kingdom
57
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: MY61 Audi S3 Black Edition DSG
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Solihull, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitrousbird View Post
$30 coding cable and a laptop, then you can do far more than this Carly app could ever dream of...
The reason I chose Carly is because of it's simple and intuitive design. I currently don't have any free time to learn another system, but later next year I may do so may invest in a more thorough solution.

I also like how I can use Carly almost anytime and anywhere for well organised parameters and diags.
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2015, 10:12 AM   #40
Vish8895
Captain
Vish8895's Avatar
United Kingdom
57
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: MY61 Audi S3 Black Edition DSG
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Solihull, UK

iTrader: (0)

I seem to have got in a bit of a tangle :/.

Since activating light sensitivity 1/2 and 2/2 in the KOMBI, my welcome lights no longer work... I have restored the earliest backup of both FRM and KOMBI but neither have worked. I also restored the earliest backup of CAS but still no joy :/.

I have done a lot of searching and I don't think battery is to blame, as it was as soon as I actviated the above settings that it happened :/. Took the car for a 50 mile journey and still no good, so battery seems unlikely...

Any suggestions?
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2015, 12:02 PM   #41
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
357
Rep
1,529
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vish8895
I seem to have got in a bit of a tangle :/.

Since activating light sensitivity 1/2 and 2/2 in the KOMBI, my welcome lights no longer work... I have restored the earliest backup of both FRM and KOMBI but neither have worked. I also restored the earliest backup of CAS but still no joy :/.

I have done a lot of searching and I don't think battery is to blame, as it was as soon as I actviated the above settings that it happened :/. Took the car for a 50 mile journey and still no good, so battery seems unlikely...

Any suggestions?
Buy a KDCAN cable and use NCS Expert to default code your modules.
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2015, 12:12 PM   #42
Vish8895
Captain
Vish8895's Avatar
United Kingdom
57
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: MY61 Audi S3 Black Edition DSG
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Solihull, UK

iTrader: (0)

I though this would be the only option. Might see if I can find someone in this west mids who can do this for me
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2015, 02:28 PM   #43
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
727
Rep
1,940
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vish8895
I though this would be the only option. Might see if I can find someone in this west mids who can do this for me
If you buy a cable or source one, either wildcat or I can provide a simple to install complete coding setup if you'd like to try that route.
__________________

335is/DCT w/M3 GTS software and drivetrain/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 1
      12-27-2015, 02:55 PM   #44
Fundguy1
Major General
Fundguy1's Avatar
2048
Rep
8,332
Posts

Drives: 335 e93
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Orlando, fl

iTrader: (0)

Watching.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST