E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > New turbos, adaptations?

02-20-2013, 06:52 PM   #1
335i E92
Captain
Rep
Drives: M22

New turbos, adaptations?

I've been running for around 8 months with failing wastegates, I'm talking rattle on / off boost and idle. Tbh they were completely f@"ked!!

So essentially the car had been running for some time with a continuous boost leak as the wastegates were almost never closed so I'd expect that the DME would have adjusted over time to compensate unusual levels of air fuel to try to trim things out?

Problem I have it that I've had new OEM turbos fitted today and whilst the rattle has gone the car just doesn't seem to be running right, just feels like the DME still thinks its dealing with a boost leak that isn't there anymore so the fuel / air mix is possibly off kilter.

I have a BT cable and would appreciate some advice of which specific adaptations to reset apart from the obvious air / fuel?

Maybe worth doing a full ECU reset?
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 07:05 PM   #2
quasitime
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2007 335i 6MT

Are you sure it's the turbos? I've had to replace numerous vacuum lines over the past couple of weeks hunting down boost leaks.

But yeah, subscribed. I have new turbos also and didn't know adaptations need to be reset....
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 07:30 PM   #3
BMWM.D.
Stupid Idiot
Rep
Drives: E90 335i & 6th Gen ZL1

I like to reset DME adaptations whenever I do a major engine repair, but I don't think it's necessarily required when installing new turbos. If you have the means, I'd do it.